WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Midnight "Watchmen" Showings Take in $4.6 Million

Posted: March 6th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Midnight "Watchmen" Showings Take in $4.6 MillionSubmit Comment
Warner Bros' "Watchmen" is currently playing in theaters and officially hit theaters on midnight on Thursday. Variety is now reporting that the film took in $4.6 million from its midnight runs, more than double the midnight gross for Zack Snyder's previous film "300."

Pic played in more than 1,595 theaters across the country.

All of the 124 IMAX midnight runs were sold out to the point that the theaters had to add 3am shows. IMAX says much of the weekend is sold out.

Today, "Watchmen" opens in a total 3,611 theaters. That's the widest theater count ever for an R-rated film.

"300" grossed $70.9 million in its opening weekend in early March 2007 and had a Thursday midnight gross of $2.5 million. Box observers believe "Watchmen" will beat that weekend number, despite its lengthy running time of 2:40. Especially after Fandango recently reported that 92% of its tickets sales were for "Watchmen."

But even with such impressive "Watchmen" numbers, they are nothing when compared to "The Dark Knight," which earned $18.5 million from its midnight showings.

Click here to read our "Watchmen" review.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pjmbdm writes:
on March 6th, 2009 at 10:20:57 PM

Uhhhh "300" opened in March 2007 WP, double check yo shiiiiiiiiit!!!
joe_6285 writes:
on March 6th, 2009 at 10:27:46 PM

it wont break dark knight's record because dark knight was pg 13 and watchmen is R rated so there is huge difference between audiences .Interesting will be will it break record for the march month box office of 300 which was 70 million and the record for the R rated highest box office weekend the movie which was held by matrix reloaded will it break record i think it should because the advance tickets sale on Fandango recently reported that 92% of its tickets sales were for Watchmen so it should do well untill something goes wrong. I saw reelchannel site and there was first reaction of the audiences coming out of the theater and saying it was a good movies
alexgi writes:
on March 6th, 2009 at 10:31:49 PM

Thanks pjmbdm, it has been corrected.
bacci40 writes:
on March 7th, 2009 at 12:24:10 AM

i wish to god people would stop comparing tdk to watchmen. tdk was a comic book film in name only. it was a very good cop/action film with batman and the joker shoved into it. take them away, you still have a very good movie. take away the characters from watchmen, and there is no film.
takai writes:
on March 7th, 2009 at 2:11:56 AM

You are exactly right, bacci40. TDK has no comic cred whatsoever. I mean yeah it's good, but as far as storyline goes, it's all Nolan. Which is fine, but when it is the comparison to every action movie ever from here on out, it makes me want to just say, "Well the TDK made NOTHING compared to Star Wars." I mean seriously, when you figure in inflation (which I did in the 'Dark Knight breaks billion' post) Star Wars made almost double that TDK did along with selling over 140 million more tickets. And as you said, it's a completely different target audience. Snyder made it for the fans, not everyone, which was who TDK was aimed at. Watchmen was amazing, and I can not wait for the ultimate cut dvd
kevo10183 writes:
on March 7th, 2009 at 2:22:31 AM

its only comparing the money it took in
joe_6285 writes:
on March 7th, 2009 at 4:13:30 AM

‘Watchmen’ Manages $25.2 Million in Early Friday Box-Office Estimates .I am disappointed that it did not break record but i am relieved that it at least it is getting good reviews on imdb and hope that watchmen dominates the box office and makes fan boys happy
MK ULTRA writes:
on March 7th, 2009 at 6:25:38 AM

'You are exactly right, bacci40. TDK has no comic cred whatsoever. I mean yeah it's good, but as far as storyline goes, it's all Nolan. '---- completely f*cking false, check out 'DC universe: the stories of Alan Moore' and you will see where they got the joker from. Nolan directed a very entertaining movie but lets not get TOO excited.
i am the anti-christ writes:
on March 7th, 2009 at 10:56:53 AM

i saw this movie the first thing friday morning and i gotta say...IT WAS HORRIBLE! waste of time and money.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 7th, 2009 at 11:43:28 AM

congratulation then, i am the anti-christ, thanks for your help at box office, now shut the f*ck up.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on March 7th, 2009 at 12:26:22 PM

I am the anti-christ is a troll....good movie by the way. I still think the graphic novel outshines it but it was a very worthy film to the novel.
i am the anti-christ writes:
on March 7th, 2009 at 12:45:40 PM

um..no. horrible film..period. yes i'm a troll
i am the anti-christ writes:
on March 7th, 2009 at 12:46:06 PM

coldplay..look at your name and then you shut the f*ck up. thank you
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on March 7th, 2009 at 3:46:31 PM

I would be willing to understand the comment of it being horrible if you explained why...cause yes the film was not perfect and did not meet my full expectations but i was pleased none the less
i am the anti-christ writes:
on March 7th, 2009 at 10:18:34 PM

Okay Cd_smith if you want your explanation on why this movie sucked..follow this link. http://www.worstpreviews.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13147
takai writes:
on March 7th, 2009 at 10:56:00 PM

MK ULTRA : i do hope you're not referring to 'the killing joke'. because that story and TDK are only similar due to there being a batman and a joker
MK ULTRA writes:
on March 7th, 2009 at 11:08:05 PM

'i do hope you're not referring to 'the killing joke'. because that story and TDK are only similar due to there being a batman and a joker'--- Dear dummy, yes i am refering to the 'killing joke'. just read the first few pages and boom you have the interviewing sequence between batman and the joker thats very similar to the movie. could you please stop using the internet as fact and actually read the source material, its just sad and annoying.---- signed Common Sense
takai writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 12:43:26 AM

Wow, really? You're going to say that because there's an interview between Joker and Batman that they're similar? Even if the psychological elements were alike, that's one small similarity. You're trying a bit too hard. I liked DK a lot, so it's not that I'm downing the movie. It's just that people give it WAY too much hype and credit. In all honesty, it would not have hit the billion mark without the death of Ledger. We all know that. So all I'm saying is, TDK was good, but not good enough to compare it to every movie ever and say it's WAYYYYY better. No movie will ever be THAT good. What happens when tickets are 20 bucks and they release a Wall-E sequel and it beats out TDK sales? I hope you understand the point I'm making, even though it's extreme.
jaksyn writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 1:42:49 AM

WAS THERE FOR THE MIDNIGHT SHOWING
Figwit1216 writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 4:56:22 PM

I am generally bored silly during superhero movies (I'm sorry, don't hate me!!) But I went to the midnight showing of Watchmen and REALLY enjoyed it. Parts of it were way too intense for me (which I fully realize is a ridiculous comment, therefor I in no way say that as a criticism, just a matter of personal opinion) but I truly enjoyed the movie. I think it's because the characters had true depth and the whole concept of "is humanity even worth saving" was really interesting to me. I didn't feel that depth or thought in Spiderman, or even Dark Knight, though Dark Knight certainly tried. I agree with bacci40's comment that Watchmen isn't Watchmen without its characters, while Dark Knight is still a fine movie without them. The characters in Watchmen, especially Dr. Manhattan and Rorshach, were characters I was truly interested in. And for the record, I laughed all the way through 300, I thought it was just over the top ridiculous, so when I heard Snyder was doing another graphic novel film, I giggled, I'll be honest. But this movie far exceeded my expectations, and I highly recommend it, even if you arent a comic book/ superhero/ graphic novel fan.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 5:47:49 PM

I love the DK and Watchmen, both are amazing so shut the f*ck up and stop bitching!! Yeah we all know Watchmen wasnt everything everyone wanted it to be but goddamn it cant be! I agree some things were left out but nothing I felt sad about in terms of story. The general idea is fictional enough so you have to go into it with an open mind and an imagination! I agree the novel is still better but this is as damn good as its gonna get because Zach Snyder had the balls to step up and make it! I didnt see anyone else for the longest time try so even those who hate it should give him credit for what he's accomplished.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 6:27:25 PM

The movie was great, i missed so much the first Nite Owl. And seriously? "i am the anti-christ" is the name you pick and I should STFU?? lol... your mom knows you post here?
i am the anti-christ writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 7:49:21 PM

"lol... your mom knows you post here? " hmm..before you say another word..read what you say before you send it you illiterate f*ck. 19..don't really need mommy anymore, but while were on the subject..how's your parents basement you comic book reading, probably WoW playing, low life piece of sh*t?
takai writes:
on March 8th, 2009 at 8:43:38 PM

1-I loved the movie. I'll probably see it multiple times in theaters and buy the ultimate cut. Anything Snyder left out or added made the story and characters more understandable if anything. I think he can pull off anything at this point. If he made a Care Bears movie, I'd go see it. 2-'i am the anti christ' : The anti christ isn't one person. 3-If you really think you don't need your 'mommy' anymore because you're 19, you deserve to be mercy killed for being so stupid
coldplayesence writes:
on March 9th, 2009 at 1:54:31 PM

lol... 19... There's tears in my eyes... Such a waste of air.
coldplayesence writes:
on March 9th, 2009 at 1:55:11 PM

And how the hell did you ever survive 19 years???

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved