WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Watchmen" Ticket Sales are Outpacing "300"

Posted: March 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Watchmen" Ticket Sales are Outpacing "300"Submit Comment
Advance ticket sales for director Zack Snyder's "Watchmen" is currently outpacing ticket sales for Snyder's 2007 blockbuster "300" by more than 4-to-1 at the same point in the sales cycle.

"The true test for 'Watchmen' will be how it performs later this week," said Joel Cohen, executive vice president and general manager for MovieTickets.com. "We sold more than 80 percent of our advance ticket sales for '300' the Wednesday and Thursday prior to its release. It will be interesting to see if 'Watchmen' displays a similar pattern."

"300" grossed $70.9 million in its first three days on its way to selling more than $210 million in tickets in North America, including $20 million via 62 domestic IMAX theaters.

Less than three days prior to its release, IMAX ticket sales at MovieTickets.com currently account for one-third of all ticket sales for "Watchmen," which will open in 124 IMAX screens.

Click here to read our exclusive "Watchmen" preview.

Source: CNN Money


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 3rd, 2009 at 8:12:48 PM

yeah... because it's going to be 100000000000000000000000 times better!!!
MrSammich writes:
on March 3rd, 2009 at 8:22:10 PM

Yeah, fanboys always pack the theaters on opening weekend, like with star wars episode three. But then the movies suffer a major drop in attendence the next week. I would be surprised if this movie grabs the casual non-comic fanboy movie-going crowd.
Blank x2 writes:
on March 3rd, 2009 at 8:26:37 PM

Episode III "fell off", and still made $380 million and is still #9 in the U.S. all time. It made over a million a week for over two months, which is hard to do. Maybe not the best comparison for a movie "falling off" when it still goes on to gross that much
meanmonkey22 writes:
on March 3rd, 2009 at 8:47:44 PM

WP, did you honestly think Watchmen wasn't going to do better than 300?! Ugh, anyway, I cant wait to see this. Im more excited for Snyder's Sucker Punch though.
MrSammich writes:
on March 3rd, 2009 at 9:16:22 PM

I like how you used the quotation marks Blank x2. Even though I never said "fell off"... ass. And the only point I made was the drop rate, not the overall gross.
rzmsauce writes:
on March 3rd, 2009 at 10:34:31 PM

Do you guys think this Movie will be any good??? I grew up with Malin Akerman do you think this movie will make a star out of her????
Metafact writes:
on March 3rd, 2009 at 10:47:38 PM

Wait a minute, rzmsauce...you grew up with Malin Akerman?!? Okay, I gotta ask; did you tap that?
SuluNakamura writes:
on March 3rd, 2009 at 11:54:37 PM

rzmsauce, pics or it didn't happen.
vineethchacko writes:
on March 4th, 2009 at 1:39:19 AM

You dont need pics for everything. So was she like a good friend or just someone in the neighbourhood, rzmsauce? And yes, this puts her on the map definitely.
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on March 4th, 2009 at 2:13:48 AM

i got the same question as metafact lol
joe_6285 writes:
on March 4th, 2009 at 5:29:26 AM

I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS MOVIE FOR 20 YEARS AND NOW IT IS FINALLY COMING OUT AND FACT THAT ZACK SNYDER IS THE DIRECTOR OF THE FILM I AM MORE EXCTITED.I AM BIG FAN OF WATCHMEN AND ZACK SNYDER AND HIS FILMS . I HAVE MY TICKETS BOOKED AND I AM GOING AND I DONT CARE THAT IT WILL BE HIT OR FLOP I PREDICT THAT IT WILL BE GOOD MOVIE AND WOTRH WATCHING .AND AT LAST WATCHMEN IS DOMINATING AT BOX OFFICE. I HOPE IT BREAKS THE RECORD FOR THE R RATED MOVIE .PEOPLE WHO DONT LIKE CAN GO TO HELL BECAUSE THIS MOVIE IS GOING TO BE SUPERHIT LIKE 300
rzmsauce writes:
on March 4th, 2009 at 7:52:44 AM

Lol I never tapped it, And neither did anyone else in my class, She Went to My public School From Grade 4 to grade 8, Then to my highschool for grade 9 and ten then she switched to a different one in st.catharines. The only Pics I would have would be my Public school Class Photos, Maybe I can sell them to the rags, if the movie does well?
rzmsauce writes:
on March 4th, 2009 at 7:55:10 AM

And Sorry to be more clear She was in My class and is my age, Her birthday is a few days from mine, and yes we hung out and in class there was only 25 of us in the class, so we had no choice, My step mom was friends with her mom, And as for still talking to her I have her on facebook and thats it.
dwightschrute writes:
on March 4th, 2009 at 8:19:37 AM

Watchmen will be 300 times better than 300!
Johnny Neat writes:
on March 4th, 2009 at 11:11:16 AM

Imax is retarded in South Florida for sure. No Imax near Miami has the movie. Insane. I guess I have to see a movie I've waited 20 yrs for on the normal big screen. I guess it's better than nothing though.
LonnyManCan writes:
on March 4th, 2009 at 9:19:41 PM

hahah .. the people talkin about Malin Akerman are funny .. interesting enough though, I got to see her today on "The Hour" during the filming of the show .. she's real pretty .. I live in Mississauga, real close to Toronto .. I'm gonna watch the episode tonight 11pm local time x]

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved