WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Why Did Joss Whedon Abandon "Wonder Woman"?

Posted: March 2nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Why Did Joss Whedon Abandon "Wonder Woman"?Submit Comment
Last we heard, the filmmakers behind the "Wonder Woman" movie were still waiting for the script. Most recently, writer/director Joss Whedon ("Buffy the Vampire Slayer") was said to have quit the project after producer Joel Silver purchased a rival WWII-centered script drafted by unknowns Matthew Jennison and Matt Strickland.

But why did Whedon quit? He explains to The Telegraph: "I was told they were very anxious to make it. I wrote a script. I rewrote the story. And by the time I'd written the second script, they asked me...not to. They didn't tell me to leave, but they showed me the door and how pretty it was. Would I like to touch the knob and maybe make it swing? I was dealing with them through [producer] Joel Silver who couldn't tell me what they wanted or anything else. I was completely in the dark. So I didn't know what it was that I wasn't giving them. I've moved on."

Back in November, McG's name has been thrown around to come helm the project and Beyonce was pushing to star. "I want to do a superhero movie and what would be better than Wonder Woman?," she said. "It would be great. And it would be a very bold choice. A black Wonder Woman would be a powerful thing. It's time for that, right?"

Is anyone looking forward to a "Wonder Woman" movie?

Click here to read more about "Wonder Woman."

Source: The Telegraph


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
whoever writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 12:58:36 AM

I would if they gave the role to Megan Gale
vineethchacko writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 1:59:35 AM

It's one of DC's iconic heroes and as interesting as most Marvel women. So yeah, if DC is smart, they'll do it sooner than later. And if you hire Joss Whedon, you need to give him a free hand.
CinefiloPeru writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 3:05:32 AM

Honestly I think it will be a f*ck*d is DC choose Beyonce to make the character, she could play Sylocke if she want but never WW, she is white, and she`ll gotta be white always, its no racist, is just there are some thing that should never be changed.
MrSammich writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 3:55:39 AM

U nead to werk on ur riteing and engrish skills CinefiloPeru. Lol.
thomas deadison writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 5:00:30 AM

But if you give Whedon a free hand, he'll have Wonder Woman fight vampires. Honestly.
Elvis Van Helsing writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 5:31:34 AM

Black Wonder Woman = Why not? Beyonce = No. Get an actress.
dwightschrute writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 7:13:48 AM

Get Joss Whedon as director and hire a real actress to play Wonder Woman.
Post_Man_87 writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 7:29:59 AM

Well this explains why Whedon thinks DC heroes don't adapt well to the silver screen. He's obviously got a grudge against Warner Bros./DC.
Mattthoing writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 9:13:54 AM

I found its interesting that from reading all of those comment above indict people wanting "real" actors/actresses to play their superhero... Interesting.
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 9:59:44 AM

meh to all
Johnny Neat writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 10:00:03 AM

@ MrSammich, I think we know who's ignorant. CFP at least appears to possible be bi-lingual with American English not being his first language, so what's your excuse for being an ignorant smart ass? As for Wonder Woman, who really cares when we still haven't gotten a good Superman follow up or even a first Green Lantern or The Flash? Oh and Beyonce, dream about ruining this movie loser. I don't even won't you on the set as a visitor.
Shifty-Eyed Dog writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 12:36:42 PM

I hate when actors keep talking about roles they want to try to create buzz for themselves - now it's Beyonce with Wonder Woman (HELL no!), and before that Eliza Dushku for Black Widow in Iron Man 2 (HELL NO!)
MurderFace_MurderFace writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 12:56:53 PM

well he's kinda right. Sure it could be for a black WW. But the actress should at least know how to act. and Beyonce it the furthest things thing to a good actress that there is...my lamp it closer to being a good actress than she is. sure she has the thunderthigh to pull "the look" but if they have her play the part they might as well burn their millions of dollar.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 3rd, 2009 at 8:21:50 PM

I'd love to see this come to be, it could be awesome and sexy. I can see why he moved on - I mean you work and work for something and then if they leave you in the dark for a long time you get fed up. Cant blame him but someone needs to pick it up.
seveltoto writes:
on November 14th, 2017 at 2:51:41 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved