WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Street Fighter" Struggles at the Box Office

Posted: March 1st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Street Fighter" Struggles at the Box OfficeSubmit Comment
"Slumdog Millionaire" enjoyed one of the biggest post-Oscar bounces by grossing over $12 million as it boldly expanded to 2,943 theaters in its 16th week. "Slumdog" is fast approaching the $200 million mark at the worldwide box office, with a $115.1 million domestic total.

The upset of the week belonged to holdover "Tyler Perry's Madea Goes to Jail," which beat the debut of Disney's "Jonas Brothers: The 3D Concert Experience" to stay at No. 1 domestically.

"Madea" declined 60% to an estimated $16.5 million from 2,052 theaters; total is $64.9 million in its first 10 days. Pic is now Perry's highest grosser.

"Jonas Brothers" -- which had been predicted to win the weekend --grossed an estimated $12.7 million from 1,271 theaters. Audience turnout was softer than expected, although the film posted a respectable per-screen average of $9,992, the best of any pic on the top 10 box office chart.

Concert film faced a tough comparison -- Disney's "Hannah Montana/Miley Cyrus: Best of Both Worlds Concert Tour" opened to $31.1 million a year ago.

Video game adaptation "Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun-Li," the weekend's only other new entry, grossed only $4.7 million from 1,136 location and ended up placing No. 8.

Click here to read more about "Street Fighter: Legend of Chun-Li."

Check out the rest of the results

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BobMcBob writes:
on March 1st, 2009 at 8:38:26 PM

good
jjjjjoey writes:
on March 1st, 2009 at 8:59:43 PM

lol
bigmeatman writes:
on March 1st, 2009 at 9:05:58 PM

Im not even surprised about the earning of Streetfighter...the piece of sh*t isnt even worth buying on bootleg and im serious about that
thequinch writes:
on March 1st, 2009 at 10:10:46 PM

I'm so glad, Jonas Brothers: The 3D Concert Experience and Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun-Li disappointed, as both look awful! This is good news :)
dwightschrute writes:
on March 1st, 2009 at 10:16:59 PM

I don't know whether I'd be happy because the three stooges didn't take box office gold or sad because the number one movie in America is about some dude dressed as a lady in a fatsuit.
MK ULTRA writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 12:53:22 AM

'I don't know whether I'd be happy because the three stooges didn't take box office gold or sad because the number one movie in America is about some dude dressed as a lady in a fatsuit'----- no dummy, what you should actually be happy about is that TAKEN has broken the 100 million dollar mark.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 4:18:42 AM

HAAAAAAA HA HA HA!! that's what they get for messing Street Fighter up again! .......ahhhhh I'm SOOOOOOO happy now I can't wait to see Dragon Ball fall on it's ass too!
bacci40 writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 6:39:13 AM

god, i hope this means the end of sh*t films from hollywood....attention suits...we are in a depression...during a depression, people need to be entertained...which means you have to work...so stop making sh*t
dwightschrute writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 7:23:36 AM

@MK ULTRA why would I be happy about that? I saw Taken and it was whimsical folly sorry. I'm not happy about that either.
MrSammich writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 12:10:03 PM

Yeah I saw a clip with some 'action' and I was not impressed. But later I saw a clip with some 'acting' and wanted to gouge my freaking eyes out and set my head on fire. I can't believe all the hype other movie sites gave this movie. I like some of the casting choices but this movie looks like flabby back, jello arms kind of disgusting. No thanks.
BREALZ writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 12:32:46 PM

the people have spoken...and they want four more years of Douche Bag!!
mattcl23 writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 3:11:29 PM

No surprise here. Get use to it Fox, because you still have Dragon Ball coming up. Fox is completey washed up.
tolgaboy writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 5:14:25 PM

anyone who choose kristin kruek for the leading part is a big ass mother f*cker
MK ULTRA writes:
on March 3rd, 2009 at 12:37:21 AM

'I saw Taken and it was whimsical folly sorry.' --- anyone who actually uses these type of words in real life during actual conversations with other electic type people will have a hard time watching TAKEN. im sorry for you if you went to the movie expecting anything more from the director of B13, because hes only going to deliver what us action fans crave. and this is violence

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved