WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

JJ Abrams on the "Cloverfield" Sequel

Posted: March 1st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
JJ Abrams on the "Cloverfield" SequelSubmit Comment
Back in June, "Cloverfield" director Matt Reeves revealed that he, JJ Abrams and writer Drew Goddard are thinking up ideas for a potential sequel. "Its in the very, very early stages of that and whether or not that will develop into something we want to do is really unclear at this point," he said. "I think the key is to find a way to do something that pays homage to what that film was, the style of it, without just repeating it."

Now, during the "Star Trek" panel at WonderCon, Abrams gave an update on the status of "Cloverfield 2." "We're actually working on an idea right now," he said. "The key obviously at doing any kind of sequel, certainly this film included, is that it better not be a business decision. If you're going to do something, it should be because you're really inspired to do it. It doesn't really have to mean anything, doesn't mean it will work, but it means we did it because we cared, not because we thought we could get the bucks."

He added: "We have an idea that we thought was pretty cool that we're playing with, which means there will be something that's connected to 'Cloverfield,' but I hope it happens sooner than later because the idea is pretty sweet."

The original film hit theaters in January of 2008 and went on to earn over $170 million in worldwide ticket sales on a $25 million budget.

Source: WorstPreviews, ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jjjjjoey writes:
on March 1st, 2009 at 8:59:03 PM

I really enjoyed Cloverfield-I'd look forward to a 2nd.
meanmonkey22 writes:
on March 1st, 2009 at 9:15:41 PM

Id like to see an original style movie. Explain the monster and it's story/backround.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 1st, 2009 at 9:42:57 PM

I liked the first one also, great perspective and idea overall. I think a well rounded sequel with some possible more background story on things would work nicely.
dwightschrute writes:
on March 1st, 2009 at 10:25:04 PM

I thought they already started Cloverfield 2 with all that Aladygma crap?
masKritic writes:
on March 1st, 2009 at 10:46:06 PM

yeah i hate the people who say it made them sick...pussies.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 4:21:13 AM

I'm with meanmonkey22 I would like to know where the heck that thing came from but don't make it a prequel!!
i3u7n5 writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 8:42:38 AM

Should have been a Cthulhu movie to begin with but all in all a decent movie. I guess a sequel would work.
Mattthoing writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 9:18:38 AM

I found the first one enjoyable but really, really hate the monster. Hairless giant bat, with bad ears inflection, and its walk on four? Really? *Sigh*
Javicon writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 1:25:43 PM

Cloverfield is boring, with plain charachters and no argument. JJ Abrams is the duke of giving thrill and mistery to NOTHING (we'll see the end of Lost...). It didn't even say anything about film languages and media impact, which was supposely the meaning of the "handycam" style. And yes, I almost puke when I got out the cinema, but that didn't happen with [REC], 'cause in that film the camera is supposed to be profesional, much better idea. And [REC](or was it Quarantine?) DID talk about languages and media, and had a f*cking great ending, not like.....
mattcl23 writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 3:34:48 PM

I liked the first film. Second one should only be a sequel, not prequel. I'd like to know about the monster in this one.
BREALZ writes:
on March 2nd, 2009 at 5:17:18 PM

i'm afraid the second would just be a godzilla ripoff, i know you would probably say that the first was a ripoff but i thought the first person view with limited sight of the monster was what made it great, as for how it looked, i loved it...very original, hopefully Abrams could pull something freaky out of his ass....Mr Echo is God!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved