WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First "Terminator Genisys" Photos, Plot Details Revealed
Oct 30th, 2014
Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot
Oct 30th, 2014
Michael Bay to Direct "13 Hours" Benghazi Film
Oct 30th, 2014
Final Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 30th, 2014
First Poster for Alex Garcia's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
Keanu Reeves' Next Film is "Replicas" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
"Avengers: Infinity War" Trailer Leaked Online
Oct 29th, 2014
First "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip is Here!
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Explains Why "Hulk" and "Black Widow" Films are NOT Happening
Oct 29th, 2014
First Look at "Black Panther" Costume
Oct 29th, 2014
"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Unveils Titles, Logos and Release Dates For All Phase 3 Films
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team
Oct 28th, 2014
David Goyer Writing Superman Prequel TV Series "Krypton"?
Oct 28th, 2014
First Look at Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Oct 28th, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Trailer Coming This Year?
Oct 28th, 2014
Ewan McGregor Says "Trainspotting" Sequel to Shoot in 2016
Oct 28th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in Marvel's "Doctor Strange"!
Oct 27th, 2014
"Furious 7" Unveils Second Poster
Oct 27th, 2014
Jesse Eisenberg May Return as Lex Luthor in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film
Oct 27th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Unveils Title and Poster, Trailer Coming Soon
Oct 27th, 2014
Photos: "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" to Show Funeral of Bruce Wayne's Parents?
Oct 27th, 2014
"Ouija" Easily Beat Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" at Box Office
Oct 27th, 2014
Russell Brand is Quitting Acting Because He's Scared of Money
Oct 27th, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says He Wanted to Play Wolverine and Batman
Oct 26th, 2014
Christopher Nolan No Longer Involved With Warner Bros' Superhero Films
Oct 26th, 2014
Trailer for Lee Daniels' "Empire" Hip-Hop TV Series, with Terrence Howard
Oct 26th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The NeverEnding Story" to be Rebooted

Posted: February 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The NeverEnding Story" to be RebootedSubmit Comment
Warner Bros is in the early stages of a reboot of the 1980s children's fantasy classic "The NeverEnding Story." The goal is to revive the 25-year-old franchise with a modern spin.

Born out of a German-language novel by Michael Ende, the film centers on a boy named Bastian Balthazar Bux who discovers a parallel world in a book titled "The NeverEnding Story." As the boy, a loner, delves deeper into the book, he increasingly finds his life intertwined with the plot of the novel, in which a hero in the land of Fantasia must save the universe on behalf of an empress.

The new pic will examine the more nuanced details of the book that were glossed over in the first pic. Those familiar with the project emphasize that it is in its early stages and that writers have not been attached.

Wolfgang Petersen directed the original for Warners, which earned a respectable $20 million when it was released in 1984. The film has had a long life on home video and an even larger influence on popular culture, prefiguring Harry Potter and other present-day children's fantasies.

A sequel directed by George Miller came out in 1990 and earned $17 million; a third movie followed in the U.S. in 1996 but quickly went to video.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 5:48:24 AM

Dude this was one of my favorite movies when I was a kid. They should give it the big budget Lord Of The Rings treatment just make it epic.
minkowski writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 5:51:45 AM

Can't be any worse than the third film.
thequinch writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 6:12:33 AM

lol the third film was truly a turd! Anyway ... I'm sick of jumping on Worst Previews and reading the word Remade or Reboot!!!!
dwightschrute writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:21:24 AM

OH PLEASE GOD NO. Let the original rest in peace.
MrSammich writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:35:30 AM

They made a third, man it must have been bad.
tolgaboy writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:36:46 AM

well this was the movie a grown up with if you are making a new one then just bring back wolfgang he nows the story as the best
thomas deadison writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:36:52 AM

I can just picture how this meeting with Warner Brothers went.


"But sir, we can't reboot a children's classic."
"Of course we can. It's.... neverending." The kid's name was Bastian? I thought it was Sebastian. Zac Efron, expect a call from Warner.
tolgaboy writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:38:48 AM

bastian give me a new name?NO NON WOLFGANG was good
thomas deadison writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:41:16 AM

I really wish we could edit posts on WP. Sometimes you forget crucial html.
Planetastudios writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 9:14:43 AM

this film was very weird and i can only remember bits and pieces of it from my childhood. I think it gave me nightmares....lol
darkhearted writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 10:18:46 AM

NO NO NO....leave well enough alone you hollywood hacks!!! think of something original for once and leave the classics ALONE!!!!!!!!!!
darkhearted writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 10:19:52 AM

NO NO NO...hollywood STOP!!! dont do this to classics it always ends BAD!!! and i swear to god if they cast Zach Effron im jabbing my eyes out with a rusty spoon!
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 12:03:41 PM

that does it...i'm gonna write a song about how stupid hollywood is with its remakes and undeserving sequels that scream and beg for money and lag creativity and originality...hmm..gonna be a tough song to write...but at least it'll be an original song haha
masKritic writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 12:29:01 PM

hahahaha will jack black return as the leader of the nasties?
onthejon writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 12:56:36 PM

If you are tired of remakes, don't watch them. You can complain all day, but if there is money to be made they will still do it.
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 1:18:44 PM

haha...i was just sayin...i'm gonna try to make some money...and try to keep things original as best i can too
meanmonkey22 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 1:22:37 PM

HELL YES!!! I CANT f*ckING WAIT! ps learn the difference between Remake and Reboot WP!
Odd writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 2:56:02 PM

Hehe the first was great...the second was ok..and the third...*sigh poor poor hollywood...
Planetastudios writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 3:47:25 PM

wait, so are they adding on to the story or remaking? Alot of remakes are going to start happenning due to # of fans that keep coming to watch them + the technology of film has become so high tech! new special effects etc.
Cinestarr writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 4:00:52 PM

After this they should remake The Dark Crystal & Benji. That would just about decimate every magical childhood movie experience I have.
jezz writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 4:02:34 PM

Reboot? We'll never get to the end at this rate! ho ho!
Rumblefish writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 4:10:08 PM

First of all, I love the original and even the second one. The third is truly hilarious (read: one of the worst films of all time). Secondly, if you've read the book, you know that t: hey could make a movie that in now way resembles the first. I am interested to see what they do, if they cast it well. Speaking of casting, why does everyone think that Zac Efron will be cast in everything? He is only about 11 years too old for the role. I think they might pass him up, people.
usualclerk writes:
on February 27th, 2009 at 9:24:57 PM

Rehash, reboot, remake, redo, reinvent, revisit, etc. On slow days I really think WP just picks a movie from a hat, throws one of those words behind it and calls it a day. By 2012 the world might end because the entire slate of films se to release are going to look like it's 1982 all over again!
Cat Eye Films writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 9:04:01 PM

Wow. I am semi-looking forward to this film...partly because I'm hoping that this film will make up for the last 2 films. But then again, no film will actually do the actual book any justice....none at all. That I am certain of. That Book is like....the holy grail of everything that is awesome! (don't judge; I just really like the book and don't want to see it bashed again)

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved