WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Sep 1st, 2014
Why Joaquin Phoenix May Pass on "Doctor Strange" Offer
Sep 1st, 2014
Video: Elsa From "Frozen" in "Once Upon a Time" TV Series
Sep 1st, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Remains First at Box Office, New Releases Underperform
Aug 31st, 2014
Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014
Aug 31st, 2014
Michael Bay Developing "Cosmic Motors" Futuristic Car Film, Based on Art Book
Aug 31st, 2014
Trailer for "Exists" Bigfoot Horror Film, From "The Blair Witch Project" Director
Aug 31st, 2014
First Look at Christoph Waltz and Margo Robbie in "Tarzan," From "Harry Potter" Director
Aug 30th, 2014
New Photos of Henry Cavill as Clark Kent on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Aug 30th, 2014
First Look: Stan Lee in Kevin Smith's "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 30th, 2014
First Clip From Pixar's "Lava" Short Film
Aug 30th, 2014
Wesley Snipes to Return For "Blade 4"?
Aug 30th, 2014
Liam Neeson Wants to Return as Ra's al Ghul For "Arrow" TV Series
Aug 30th, 2014
What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 29th, 2014
Harrison Ford is Feeling Better, "Star Wars: Episode VII" Resumes Filming
Aug 29th, 2014
Ben Kingsley Wants to Return as The Mandarin in "Iron Man 4"
Aug 29th, 2014
Hilary Swank Battles ALS in "You're Not You" Trailer
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Rewrite" Comedy, with Hugh Grant and Marisa Tomei
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Scribbler" Comic Book Film
Aug 29th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Answers If Hawkeye Will Die in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Daily Show" host Jon Stewart's "Rosewater" Film
Aug 29th, 2014
New Trailer for Jeff Bridges' "Seventh Son" Fantasy Film
Aug 29th, 2014
"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America
Aug 28th, 2014
First Photos of Doctor Doom From "Fantastic Four" Leaked Online?
Aug 28th, 2014
"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died
Aug 28th, 2014
"Underworld" Franchise is Being Rebooted
Aug 28th, 2014
"Pacific Rim" Star Charlie Hunnam May Star in "King Arthur"
Aug 28th, 2014
Three New Photos From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 28th, 2014
"Cops" Cameraman Killed While Filming TV Show
Aug 28th, 2014
"Looney Tunes" Movie Gets Steve Carell and "X-Men: First Class" Writers
Aug 27th, 2014
Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?
Aug 27th, 2014
Henry Cavill Does the Ice Bucket Challenge in His Superman Costume
Aug 27th, 2014
"Da Vinci Code 3" to Begin Filming in April, Tom Hanks Set to Return
Aug 27th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The NeverEnding Story" to be Rebooted

Posted: February 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The NeverEnding Story" to be RebootedSubmit Comment
Warner Bros is in the early stages of a reboot of the 1980s children's fantasy classic "The NeverEnding Story." The goal is to revive the 25-year-old franchise with a modern spin.

Born out of a German-language novel by Michael Ende, the film centers on a boy named Bastian Balthazar Bux who discovers a parallel world in a book titled "The NeverEnding Story." As the boy, a loner, delves deeper into the book, he increasingly finds his life intertwined with the plot of the novel, in which a hero in the land of Fantasia must save the universe on behalf of an empress.

The new pic will examine the more nuanced details of the book that were glossed over in the first pic. Those familiar with the project emphasize that it is in its early stages and that writers have not been attached.

Wolfgang Petersen directed the original for Warners, which earned a respectable $20 million when it was released in 1984. The film has had a long life on home video and an even larger influence on popular culture, prefiguring Harry Potter and other present-day children's fantasies.

A sequel directed by George Miller came out in 1990 and earned $17 million; a third movie followed in the U.S. in 1996 but quickly went to video.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 5:48:24 AM

Dude this was one of my favorite movies when I was a kid. They should give it the big budget Lord Of The Rings treatment just make it epic.
minkowski writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 5:51:45 AM

Can't be any worse than the third film.
thequinch writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 6:12:33 AM

lol the third film was truly a turd! Anyway ... I'm sick of jumping on Worst Previews and reading the word Remade or Reboot!!!!
dwightschrute writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:21:24 AM

OH PLEASE GOD NO. Let the original rest in peace.
MrSammich writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:35:30 AM

They made a third, man it must have been bad.
tolgaboy writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:36:46 AM

well this was the movie a grown up with if you are making a new one then just bring back wolfgang he nows the story as the best
thomas deadison writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:36:52 AM

I can just picture how this meeting with Warner Brothers went.


"But sir, we can't reboot a children's classic."
"Of course we can. It's.... neverending." The kid's name was Bastian? I thought it was Sebastian. Zac Efron, expect a call from Warner.
tolgaboy writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:38:48 AM

bastian give me a new name?NO NON WOLFGANG was good
thomas deadison writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:41:16 AM

I really wish we could edit posts on WP. Sometimes you forget crucial html.
Planetastudios writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 9:14:43 AM

this film was very weird and i can only remember bits and pieces of it from my childhood. I think it gave me nightmares....lol
darkhearted writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 10:18:46 AM

NO NO NO....leave well enough alone you hollywood hacks!!! think of something original for once and leave the classics ALONE!!!!!!!!!!
darkhearted writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 10:19:52 AM

NO NO NO...hollywood STOP!!! dont do this to classics it always ends BAD!!! and i swear to god if they cast Zach Effron im jabbing my eyes out with a rusty spoon!
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 12:03:41 PM

that does it...i'm gonna write a song about how stupid hollywood is with its remakes and undeserving sequels that scream and beg for money and lag creativity and originality...hmm..gonna be a tough song to write...but at least it'll be an original song haha
masKritic writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 12:29:01 PM

hahahaha will jack black return as the leader of the nasties?
onthejon writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 12:56:36 PM

If you are tired of remakes, don't watch them. You can complain all day, but if there is money to be made they will still do it.
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 1:18:44 PM

haha...i was just sayin...i'm gonna try to make some money...and try to keep things original as best i can too
meanmonkey22 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 1:22:37 PM

HELL YES!!! I CANT f*ckING WAIT! ps learn the difference between Remake and Reboot WP!
Odd writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 2:56:02 PM

Hehe the first was great...the second was ok..and the third...*sigh poor poor hollywood...
Planetastudios writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 3:47:25 PM

wait, so are they adding on to the story or remaking? Alot of remakes are going to start happenning due to # of fans that keep coming to watch them + the technology of film has become so high tech! new special effects etc.
Cinestarr writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 4:00:52 PM

After this they should remake The Dark Crystal & Benji. That would just about decimate every magical childhood movie experience I have.
jezz writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 4:02:34 PM

Reboot? We'll never get to the end at this rate! ho ho!
Rumblefish writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 4:10:08 PM

First of all, I love the original and even the second one. The third is truly hilarious (read: one of the worst films of all time). Secondly, if you've read the book, you know that t: hey could make a movie that in now way resembles the first. I am interested to see what they do, if they cast it well. Speaking of casting, why does everyone think that Zac Efron will be cast in everything? He is only about 11 years too old for the role. I think they might pass him up, people.
usualclerk writes:
on February 27th, 2009 at 9:24:57 PM

Rehash, reboot, remake, redo, reinvent, revisit, etc. On slow days I really think WP just picks a movie from a hat, throws one of those words behind it and calls it a day. By 2012 the world might end because the entire slate of films se to release are going to look like it's 1982 all over again!
Cat Eye Films writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 9:04:01 PM

Wow. I am semi-looking forward to this film...partly because I'm hoping that this film will make up for the last 2 films. But then again, no film will actually do the actual book any justice....none at all. That I am certain of. That Book is like....the holy grail of everything that is awesome! (don't judge; I just really like the book and don't want to see it bashed again)

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

"Sin City 2" is a Box Office Disaster

New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Story Details Revealed

Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved