WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The NeverEnding Story" to be Rebooted

Posted: February 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The NeverEnding Story" to be RebootedSubmit Comment
Warner Bros is in the early stages of a reboot of the 1980s children's fantasy classic "The NeverEnding Story." The goal is to revive the 25-year-old franchise with a modern spin.

Born out of a German-language novel by Michael Ende, the film centers on a boy named Bastian Balthazar Bux who discovers a parallel world in a book titled "The NeverEnding Story." As the boy, a loner, delves deeper into the book, he increasingly finds his life intertwined with the plot of the novel, in which a hero in the land of Fantasia must save the universe on behalf of an empress.

The new pic will examine the more nuanced details of the book that were glossed over in the first pic. Those familiar with the project emphasize that it is in its early stages and that writers have not been attached.

Wolfgang Petersen directed the original for Warners, which earned a respectable $20 million when it was released in 1984. The film has had a long life on home video and an even larger influence on popular culture, prefiguring Harry Potter and other present-day children's fantasies.

A sequel directed by George Miller came out in 1990 and earned $17 million; a third movie followed in the U.S. in 1996 but quickly went to video.

Source: THR

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 5:48:24 AM

Dude this was one of my favorite movies when I was a kid. They should give it the big budget Lord Of The Rings treatment just make it epic.
minkowski writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 5:51:45 AM

Can't be any worse than the third film.
thequinch writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 6:12:33 AM

lol the third film was truly a turd! Anyway ... I'm sick of jumping on Worst Previews and reading the word Remade or Reboot!!!!
dwightschrute writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:21:24 AM

OH PLEASE GOD NO. Let the original rest in peace.
MrSammich writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:35:30 AM

They made a third, man it must have been bad.
tolgaboy writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:36:46 AM

well this was the movie a grown up with if you are making a new one then just bring back wolfgang he nows the story as the best
thomas deadison writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:36:52 AM

I can just picture how this meeting with Warner Brothers went.

"But sir, we can't reboot a children's classic."
"Of course we can. It's.... neverending." The kid's name was Bastian? I thought it was Sebastian. Zac Efron, expect a call from Warner.
tolgaboy writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:38:48 AM

bastian give me a new name?NO NON WOLFGANG was good
thomas deadison writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:41:16 AM

I really wish we could edit posts on WP. Sometimes you forget crucial html.
Planetastudios writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 9:14:43 AM

this film was very weird and i can only remember bits and pieces of it from my childhood. I think it gave me nightmares....lol
darkhearted writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 10:18:46 AM

NO NO NO....leave well enough alone you hollywood hacks!!! think of something original for once and leave the classics ALONE!!!!!!!!!!
darkhearted writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 10:19:52 AM

NO NO NO...hollywood STOP!!! dont do this to classics it always ends BAD!!! and i swear to god if they cast Zach Effron im jabbing my eyes out with a rusty spoon!
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 12:03:41 PM

that does it...i'm gonna write a song about how stupid hollywood is with its remakes and undeserving sequels that scream and beg for money and lag creativity and originality...hmm..gonna be a tough song to write...but at least it'll be an original song haha
masKritic writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 12:29:01 PM

hahahaha will jack black return as the leader of the nasties?
onthejon writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 12:56:36 PM

If you are tired of remakes, don't watch them. You can complain all day, but if there is money to be made they will still do it.
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 1:18:44 PM

haha...i was just sayin...i'm gonna try to make some money...and try to keep things original as best i can too
meanmonkey22 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 1:22:37 PM

HELL YES!!! I CANT f*ckING WAIT! ps learn the difference between Remake and Reboot WP!
Odd writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 2:56:02 PM

Hehe the first was great...the second was ok..and the third...*sigh poor poor hollywood...
Planetastudios writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 3:47:25 PM

wait, so are they adding on to the story or remaking? Alot of remakes are going to start happenning due to # of fans that keep coming to watch them + the technology of film has become so high tech! new special effects etc.
Cinestarr writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 4:00:52 PM

After this they should remake The Dark Crystal & Benji. That would just about decimate every magical childhood movie experience I have.
jezz writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 4:02:34 PM

Reboot? We'll never get to the end at this rate! ho ho!
Rumblefish writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 4:10:08 PM

First of all, I love the original and even the second one. The third is truly hilarious (read: one of the worst films of all time). Secondly, if you've read the book, you know that t: hey could make a movie that in now way resembles the first. I am interested to see what they do, if they cast it well. Speaking of casting, why does everyone think that Zac Efron will be cast in everything? He is only about 11 years too old for the role. I think they might pass him up, people.
usualclerk writes:
on February 27th, 2009 at 9:24:57 PM

Rehash, reboot, remake, redo, reinvent, revisit, etc. On slow days I really think WP just picks a movie from a hat, throws one of those words behind it and calls it a day. By 2012 the world might end because the entire slate of films se to release are going to look like it's 1982 all over again!
Cat Eye Films writes:
on May 27th, 2010 at 9:04:01 PM

Wow. I am semi-looking forward to this film...partly because I'm hoping that this film will make up for the last 2 films. But then again, no film will actually do the actual book any justice....none at all. That I am certain of. That Book is like....the holy grail of everything that is awesome! (don't judge; I just really like the book and don't want to see it bashed again)

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed

"Ant-Man" Gets a Sequel, Marvel's Phase Three Release Dates Announced

Official "X-Men: Apocalypse" Plot Synopsis Revealed

Chris Evans Wants to Play Captain America After His Marvel Contract Expires

"Hardcore" Sells to STX for $10 Million After Week-Long Bidding War
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved