WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Total Recall" is Being Remade

Posted: February 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Total Recall" is Being RemadeSubmit Comment
Neal H Moritz and his Original Films company are in final negotiations to develop and produce for Columbia Pictures a contemporary version of "Total Recall," the 1990 Arnold Schwarzenegger sci-fi action movie directed by Paul Verhoeven.

The original, based on the Philip K. Dick story "We Can Remember It for You Wholesale," follows a man haunted by a recurring dream of journeying to Mars who buys a literal dream vacation from a company called Rekall Inc., which sells implanted memories. The man comes to believe he is a secret agent and ends up on a Martian colony, where he fights to overthrow a despotic ruler controlling the production of air.

The movie explores one of Dick's favorite topics, reality vs delusion, as audiences never knew whether or not the story was a dream. Either way, the movie grossed $261 million worldwide.

Calling Dick's story "prescient," Moritz said he hoped the advancements in technology and state-of-the-art visual effects can help tell the "Recall" story in a fresh way.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Post_Man_87 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 5:21:07 AM

Besides Moritz saying he hopes the advancements in tech can help tell a "Recall" story. This says nothing about a possible remake or upkeep on the original. WP goes down again!!!!!!!!!!
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 5:46:46 AM

well looks like the eye popping is coming back!
thequinch writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 6:09:56 AM

Fricking Hell Hollywood ... if it ain't broke ... leave it alone!! For the love of man kind ... STOP re-making EVERYTHING that was successful!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 6:53:53 AM

Not sure i like the idea of a remake, Total Recall is one of my favourite Arnie films!!
thomas deadison writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:00:38 AM

I have a script Cronenberg wrote way before the film became an Arnold vehicle. It's really different. I don't have a problem with this remake as long as it's more of an adaptation of Philip K. d*ck's work than a remake of the 1990 film.
Psyched writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:23:17 AM

thomas deadison - if you don't mind my asking, how do you get all these scripts you mention? Total Recall was an awesome movie and unlike so many others here I like to see remakes. The original is still there if the remake sucks, so what the hell.
dwightschrute writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:23:55 AM

Wow, Hollywood really is running out of movie ideas. Send me there and I'll pitch you 30 original ideas pronto, damn.
thomas deadison writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:30:50 AM

psyched,

It started on a message board. I'd read about how someone has some "holy grail" script, I'd be interested in reading it, a trade here, a trade there.... before I knew it my flash drive was actually being used. Found some gems. There are things I simply won't read because I want to see in theaters with a fresh take. So, I read a lot of unproduced stuff mostly. It also helps to have a job where I sit at a computer, bored for 8 hours.
tolgaboy writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:33:16 AM

t story was good and has bin told why make changes it was a good movie
MrSammich writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:34:00 AM

It would be cool to see a more spy style spy movie than the one arnie made. most spies don't kill 67 men with there bare hands in a movie. If they can do it with like a Bourne Identity feel that would be cool, but keep Quatto lol.
thomas deadison writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:44:00 AM

I saw Total Recall in theaters. it blew my mind. I was 5 years old.
Sylanya writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 8:28:16 AM

It was successful in the 80's for a reason! It was good! It does not need to be remade, it's good enough now! My God, if a studio announces another remake...it just makes me so sad.
BREALZ writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 11:22:37 AM

i could see Vin diesel in the movie, i'm not a fan of remakes nor do i believe this movie needs one, it was kick ass to begin with but if the right director and perfect cast was assembled i might actually get behind this.
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 12:00:48 PM

i won't....the movie wouldn't have worked without arnold...i saw the making of it...great score, great cast, great film crew...it's the people and the sets and their vision you see that make these great movies....just because technology has advanced doesn't mean it has to be tried....but i'll let hollywood play stupid....i know where i hold my love for classics that don't need remakes...or at least still think a lot of em are better than remakes
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 1:32:33 PM

NOOOOOOO, WTF IS UP WIT ALL THEESE REMAKES, THEY GOIN 2 FAR AN GETN CRAZY WIT IT.
BobMcBob writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 2:42:37 PM

no one can replace Arnold
Bystander85 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 3:20:35 PM

hollywood is a f*cking joke, this and Neverending Story in the same day! f*ck right off! Is this how bad it is, where's the creativity. Every other week its Reboot this and Re-Imagining That. I give up!!
Cinestarr writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 3:45:28 PM

Excuse my rant but, remake..reboot...remake...reboot...digitally re-mastered...WTF!!! Can these people read or write? Hey Hollywood, how about putting something new on screen other than some movie based on "The Rules for how a dizzy chick can catch a man" book (I'm a dizzy chick and even I'm over it). Don't get me wrong. I loved Total Recall and wouldn't be opposed to a remake. However in a sea of nothing but remakes...ugh...I'm just sick of it. Rant over... I will probably go see this. I'm weak.
warnuts writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 3:50:16 PM

When will they finally do a remake of 2001, A clockwork Orange and every other classic?! PLEASE!!! LEAVE THEM ALONE!!
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 4:52:42 PM

haha pretty soon there will be remakes of remakes of remakes....that gives me a headache thinkin about it...it's like jaws 19 in back to the future part 2...shark still looks fake lol....and that's what hollywood is startin to be...a FAKE!!...they need to seriously stop that sh*t
reekofputrefaction writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 6:42:06 PM

WP misquoted in this. they say that in the original based on philip k. d*ck he ends up on a martian colony where he fights to overthrow a despotic ruler controlling the production of air. this is incorrect. this was all made up for the movie. the original short story does reveal that he was probably once a secret angent on mars, but in order to save his life he goes back to rekal to get these memories erased and replaced by some having to do with him saving the world from aliens that were going to destroy the world which in the end are in fact true memories they discover within him as well. end. never actually goes to mars. and absolutely nothing to do with air production. i love the movie, but as far as the story and movie being similar, it doesnt go beyond him going to a place to get memory implants. thats where similarities end. thats it. the movie was beefed up to become an action film.
i3u7n5 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:22:58 PM

Well, if there is anything good about this, it's that since most people are near illiterate retards and they won't know how to pronounce "prescient"...which is funny.
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:29:03 PM

JUST GOT AN UPDATE ON THE TITLE... THE REMAKE IS CALLED "TOTAL CRAP"
Gunslinger writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:45:12 PM

I heard they're really gonna shoot it on Mars this time. "You haf whatchu want Kohagen! Give za peepal back zer ayah!"
Jimbo writes:
on February 28th, 2009 at 9:43:47 PM

The technological advancements are that they are actually going to genetically engineer a chick with three boobs. I'm pumped.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved