WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Zack Snyder on Making "Dark Knight Returns"

Posted: February 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Zack Snyder on Making "Dark Knight Returns"Submit Comment
Zack Snyder recently revealed that he would love to make his own Batman movie, based on Frank Miller's "Dark Knight Returns." Miller has already gave his blessing to Snyder. So if Warner Bros ever decided to let Snyder make his movie, how will go about doing it?

"I think the thing that's awesome about' Dark Knight,' like 'Watchmen,' is that it is a complete and total experience, that was unlike anything anyone has ever seen, and still is," Snyder told FirstShowing. "I think the big challenge for me would be it's so 'montage-y' and so media thick, that you just have to that's the techniques you'd have to develop and make work. But as far as the rest goes, the thing I'd be really interested in is that kind of Frank [Miller] narration over that cool action, that's a thing we haven't really seen in that context."

Warner Bros will obviously not let Snyder get in the way of what Christopher Nolan has been doing with the Batman franchise, but that doesn't mean that Snyder won't eventually get his chance. It was recently revealed that the studio has named Snyder as the back-up director for the third Nolan film, in case Nolan decides not to do it. So they clearly believe in his abilities.

"The Dark Knight Returns" takes place when Bruce Wayne retires as Batman after the death of the second Robin, Jason Todd. After Gotham is overwhelmed with crime and is plagued by a violent gang called The Mutants, Bruce comes out of retirement to fight the gang with a new Robin, a young girl named Carrie Kelly.

The series also includes Harvey Dent who fixed his face but is now planning to blow up Gotham's twin towers. Commissioner Gordon is forced into retirement at age seventy. The Joker gets released from Arkham Asylum after being catatonic for ten years.

Source: FirstShowing


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
dwightschrute writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 10:16:33 PM

this would truly be an amazing movie.
Blank x2 writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 10:38:41 PM

I think so to. I like the idea of Miller doing narration as well.
BlueMobius writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 10:50:25 PM

Except that isn't Superman and the rest of the DC group in this one? Or is that only in the (poorer) sequel?
jjjjjoey writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 10:52:04 PM

Who the hell wants to see a old ass Batman? Not to mention a Batgirl after the first two Robins died? The story just sounds run down.
AP102390 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 12:07:33 AM

sounds like an interesting concept. I don't know if we're ready for it right now, but maybe in 5 or 10 years after the third Nolan movie comes out and all the other superhero movies have been made. right now doesn't feel like it'd be the best time to release a movie where bruce wayne is retired, the joker is no longer a threat, and there's a batgirl. If anyone can recall them trying batgirl earlier and it truly not working (thanks alicia silverstone). Let nolan do his trilogy first.
Rio14 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 12:21:39 AM

Bring in a dark disturbed Robin, out for revenge and call it "The Caped Crusader"
James.Speed writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 12:27:43 AM

just no! go away snyder, and leave batman alone! if nolan says no down the track to batman 3, and they give it to snyder, then bale and oldman wont be in it! if snyder then decideds to start all over and do dark knight returns, they would probs need a different name. just leave batman as it is. hell, he has already shat on watchmen.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 12:31:54 AM

Ok Nolan wont back out, all that Znyder is suggesting is doing the comic version written by Miller, it won't have anything to do with the Nolans films
Stringer Bell writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 12:45:15 AM

I would like to see this regardless of Nolan's films. It would work great as an adult-oriented animated flick.
meanmonkey22 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 12:54:13 AM

I really didnt like the graphic novel.
jak3n0rman writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 1:25:31 AM

you're all noobs who read wikipedia instead of appreciating things like normal people, you all piss me off
thequinch writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 1:45:47 AM

Why don't we leave Batman to Director Christopher Nolan for the time being ... Zack Snyder should move on to something else ...
takai writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 2:12:45 AM

some of you act as if snyder is thinking about this being his next movie. IF he does decide to do this, which i think he should, it'd be YEARS down the road. we've already discussed this in two other posts. as far as the stories go, dark knight returns blows the pants off of what nolan's coming up with. don't get me wrong, i like nolan's trilogy thus far, it's just the graphic novel story is badness. it doesn't sound run down, it sounds comic book. seriously, you people probably haven't read DKR, watchmen, v for vendetta, or sandman. if you're going to talk comics, know what good content is.
thequinch writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 2:46:46 AM

takai, I know what all those comics are and I've read them all, love The Sandman series, Watchmen and even DKR ... but at 'this point in time,' I think Zack Snyder should let Nolan finish off his series before we return to Gotham City!
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 2:59:51 AM

I wana see something like Batman Beyond
kevo10183 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 3:23:53 AM

Batman Beyond was Awesome!
Kal-El writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 4:27:29 AM

f*ck Chris Nolan -- this film has nothing to do with his run on Batman, and DKR is in the top five greatest comics ever. Mickey Rourke should play old Batman. I've been seeing this movie in my mind since Robert Rodriguez did Sin City. Not sure how the cold war/Reagan era shiz will hold up, but EFF IT! Make it faithful to the comic. Can't wait to see Batman kick Superman's teeth in.
keeeef writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 6:18:37 AM

"snyder should let nolan finish his trilogy" I didn't realize snyder was in charge of those decisions to begin with. it would be wise for WB to see what chris is planning first, and with no doubt in my mind, let him finish off his run of batman films. directors in this comic book genre of films are turning into the equivalent of a comic book story writer/artist by which i mean that they design there own story based on the characters involved, we've seen the 60s batman, we've seen tim burtons batman, joel schumacher's version and chris nolans interpretation so an R rated snyder helmed version of frank millers novel would just be like going from one run of comics to another. also, i was thinking bruce willis would be good as an aged batman
Lulupendragon writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 12:01:50 PM

Plz for the Love of God!!! No Sidekicks!! All they do is get into trouble and cause people misery. Batman doesn't need a sidekick.
takai writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 1:00:11 PM

thequinch,yeah for sure, i agree. i was just making the point of people who had read the novels vs. people who hear a synopsis and think they can judge everything by how it sounds. my post came right after yours but, it wasn't directed at you, sorry for not clarifying.
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 1:35:53 PM

yea batman beyond was the sh*t
Bro_of_Destruction writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 3:57:24 PM

would be sick to see an old joker...maybe robin williams? lol
reekofputrefaction writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 6:33:10 PM

someone mentioned this not working because of "batgirl" and that she didnt work with alicia silverstone. pretty sure you misread the article, she is in fact a female robin, shes a young girl who bruce wayne at first doesnt want anything to do with, because of the death of the second robin, but she is persistant. and anyway, in the dark knight strikes again she becomes a "catwoman" type, cant remember exactly what she called herself. and joker is still a threat, hes just catatonic because batman was retired, as soon as batman returns joker is stimulated again(though he does not play a huge role in the whole of things). and yes superman is in this, including the green arrow...and batman semi-kicks the sh*t out of him in a clever way(it wasnt until the dark knight strikes again that batman truely kicks the sh*t out of superman). i mean really this has nothing to do with the chris nolan movies because batman is in his fifties and its basically a whole different universe within the dc multiverse. its actually frank miller's "dark knight universe," officialy designated earth-31 within the dc comics multiverse.
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:24:03 PM

I have an idea for a zack snyder movie. Alright, it opens with... AN ORIGINAL IDEA FOR ONCE! First he RUINS dawn of the dead, butchers 300, and I can only wait to see what over stylized crap her turns out with Watchmen. Now he wants to make a batman movie based on one of the greatest batman comics of all time? Not only is he the WRONG hands to put that into, but Frank Miller has also lost his mind considering the fact that he made THE SPIRIT in the exact style as Sin City. So he doesn't know what he's doing either. MY CHEMICAL ROMANCE on Watchman soundtrack. Doesn't that say enough?
reekofputrefaction writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 8:31:09 PM

i do agree with you BloodyMickJagger, zack snyder does tend to overstyle things. i must say, hearing he was a fan of watchmen i was originally quite excited, got lost in the crowd i suppose, but when i ended up watching all the different clips here on WP i realized how it differed from the comics. and in the comics of watchmen the superheroes feel human, they talk like people and more than anything move like people, they dont possess any true superpowers(besided of course dr. manhattan). i watched a clip on here where nightowl and silk spectre save people from a fire, and in this clip silk spectre like jumps through the roof in slow motion and falls through to the top story gracefully. i mean come on that made me sad. and in the omic she was such a bitch to the people she was saving which really drove a point across that this was never really where she wanted to be in life, and yet that is totally left out in this clip, it seems like shes totally into it. seriously. my hopes for watchmen are shattered all from one clip. its just so drastically different. its really sad.
cardo77 writes:
on February 27th, 2009 at 7:02:29 PM

Snyder has to back off from adapting cult classic graphic novels that should be appreciated in there written and drawn form. Not every critically acclaimed novel or comic should be adapted to film. Believe me i love nothing as much as movies but there are somethings that should left alone regardless the outcome of Watchmen......Hopefully its a good one though.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 1st, 2009 at 3:43:02 PM

he f*cking needs to do it! but in like 5-7 years
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 1st, 2009 at 4:00:03 PM

p.s.- SNYDER IS THE f*ckING MAN! his concepts and willing to bring great stories off the pages into what he has done is brilliant! I'd like to see any of you sh*t talkers do better!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved