WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3" Arrives Online
Oct 1st, 2014
"Tetris" Video Game to Become a Live-Action Sci-Fi Movie
Oct 1st, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "Home Sweet Hell," with Katherine Heigl and Patrick Wilson
Oct 1st, 2014
"Zombieland" Sequel is Moving Forward, Writer and Director Hired
Oct 1st, 2014
New Trailer for "Horrible Bosses 2"
Oct 1st, 2014
Trailer For Russell Crowe's "The Water Diviner," Directed by Crowe
Oct 1st, 2014
Jeremy Renner Says Marvel Wants a Hawkeye/Black Widow Film
Sep 30th, 2014
Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume
Sep 30th, 2014
Kevin Smith Says He Raised Money For "Clerks 3"
Sep 30th, 2014
"Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" Sequel to Premiere on Netflix
Sep 30th, 2014
Trailer for PT Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Sep 30th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Loft" Thriller, with Karl Urban and James Marsden
Sep 30th, 2014
"Black Widow" Movie Almost Happened Before "Iron Man"
Sep 29th, 2014
First Look at Kristen Stewart's "Equals" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 29th, 2014
Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Easily Wins at Box Office
Sep 29th, 2014
"Police Academy" Reboot Abandons Judd Apatow's Storyline
Sep 29th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Attached to "Interstellar"?
Sep 28th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" to Begin Filming in December
Sep 28th, 2014
William Shatner Confirms Offer to Appear in "Star Trek 3"
Sep 28th, 2014
First Trailer for Lifetime's "Aaliyah" Biopic
Sep 28th, 2014
Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?
Sep 27th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Comments on Matt Damon Returning to "Jason Bourne" Franchise
Sep 27th, 2014
First Poster for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3," Plus New Title Revealed
Sep 27th, 2014
Posters For Ridiculous "22 Jump Street" Sequels
Sep 27th, 2014
How Much Netflix Do People Watch Per Day?
Sep 27th, 2014
Miles Teller Apologizes For Trashing "Divergent"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Sep 26th, 2014
Deleted Rogue Scenes Will Be Added Back Into "Rogue Cut" of "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Wedding Ringer" Comedy, with Kevin Hart and Josh Gad
Sep 26th, 2014
"Bill and Ted 3" is Still Happening, Details Revealed
Sep 26th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Unveils First TV Spot
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Michael Mann's "Blackhat" Thriller, with Chris Hemsworth
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Joe Carnahan's "Stretch," with Chris Pine, Patrick Wilson and Jessica Alba
Sep 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guillermo del Toro on "Count of Monte Cristo"

Posted: February 25th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guillermo del Toro on "Count of Monte Cristo"Submit Comment
Director Guillermo del Toro (Hellboy) has revealed to MTV News that he is still hoping to eventually make "The Count of Monte Cristo" and "At the Mountain of Madness."

"The movie that I would've loved to have made and one day hope to make is 'The Count of Monte Cristo,'" said del Toro. "It's a Gothic-Western retelling of 'The Count of Monte Cristo,' and I co-wrote it with [Kitt Carson] and Matthew Robbins around 1993 to 1998."

"I wrote a lot of that during the kidnapping of my father, so it's of a lot of rage." Del Toro's father was kidnapped in 1997 and held for 72 days before his family paid the requested ransom and he was returned.

"I adore that screenplay," del Toro said of the 'Monte Cristo' story. "That, or I would have to say '[At the] Mountain of Madness,' which is my pet big project."

When asked if he would consider handing over his screenplays for another director to take on, del Toro said: "I hope not. If I can fight, sue, or hit someone to keep the project with me, I will keep them. And I'll get them made."

At this point, del Toro is working on the two "The Hobbit" films and is still thinking about ending the "Hellboy" trilogy.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinestarr writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:16:45 PM

Too soon...wait another 5 years. The Western slant seems interesting (not original, but interesting).
Cinestarr writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:18:28 PM

I meant "To". Why can't I spell on here?
Ronsauce writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:23:31 PM

I actually think you meant "too." I'm not sure I like the Western angle...but I find most Westerns just absolutely bland to look at and usually can't stomach watching them. However, one of my favourite stories of all time done by one of the current great directors can't really go wrong.
roseredscare writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:54:47 PM

Why the hell make another one? The first movie was great!
meanmonkey22 writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 8:09:05 PM

Hahaha, Cinestarr, I get typos every time I post a comment here! haha, I dont know why.
dwightschrute writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 9:28:50 PM

Last I heard he had like a dozen movies on his slate and now this one? Wow, this dude is a busy guy
Mattthoing writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 11:39:32 PM

Oh god, that would be awesome. Count of Monte Cristo is one of my favorite screen plays. Don't screw it up, Toro. Or I will kidnap your father again.
kevo10183 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 1:18:35 AM

The Count of Monte Cristo is already an awesome movie! If you havent seen it, its the one with Jim Caviezel
thequinch writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 1:48:31 AM

Finish Hellboy first ... before Ron Perlman gets too old ... don't over exert yourself Guillermo ... lol ... you're planning too many projects!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 1st, 2009 at 4:45:12 PM

the man sure likes to plan ahead and stay busy but whatever he's a genius! let him do what he wants

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn Confirmed for Second Season of "True Detective"

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved