WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Sony Considering Idris Elba as Next James Bond
Dec 20th, 2014
Peter Jackson Will Never Direct a Marvel Film
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film
Dec 20th, 2014
Two New Photos From Marvel's "Daredevil" TV Series
Dec 20th, 2014
Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Dec 20th, 2014
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Ted" Sequel
Dec 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg Will Return for "Transformers 5"
Dec 19th, 2014
"Team America: World Police" Screenings Also Cancelled Due to Terrorist Threats
Dec 19th, 2014
20th Century Fox Cancels It's Own North Korea-Based Film
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look: Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's Cold War Thriller
Dec 19th, 2014
First Look at Viggo Mortensen's "Captain Fantastic"
Dec 19th, 2014
Trailer for "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper," with Bradley Cooper
Dec 18th, 2014
"Fifty Shades of Grey" and "Star Wars" are Top Trailers of 2014
Dec 18th, 2014
Hugh Jackman in Talks for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "The Wolverine 2"
Dec 18th, 2014
Peter Jackson Wants to Make More Tolkien Movies
Dec 18th, 2014
Theaters Refusing to Show "The Interview," Sony Cancels Premiere, Press and Release
Dec 17th, 2014
Chris Pratt and a Dinosaur in New "Jurassic World" Photo
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Doesn't Like Marvel Films, Says Superheroes Should Be Happier
Dec 17th, 2014
Orlando Bloom Says "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" is a Reboot
Dec 17th, 2014
Tim Burton Will Direct "Beetlejuice 2," Confirms Winona Ryder Will Return
Dec 17th, 2014
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy Unveils Pac-Man and Donkey Kong Posters
Dec 17th, 2014
New Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Dec 17th, 2014
First Look at "True Story" Drama, with James Franco and Jonah Hill
Dec 16th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino Interested in "Django Unchained" and "Zorro" Crossover Film
Dec 16th, 2014
Lots of "Ghostbusters 3" Story Details Leaked
Dec 16th, 2014
Trailer for Terrence Malick's "Knight of Cups," with Christian Bale and Natalie Portman
Dec 16th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Gets New Title and Release Date, JK Simmons Joins Cast
Dec 16th, 2014
Five Actresses in Talks for "Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Role
Dec 16th, 2014
20th Century Fox Planning to Merge "Fantastic Four" With "X-Men"
Dec 15th, 2014
"Aquaman" Film Considering "Mud" Director Jeff Nichols
Dec 15th, 2014
Tim Burton Says "Beetlejuice 2" is Closer Than Ever
Dec 15th, 2014
First Look at Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" in Color
Dec 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guillermo del Toro on "Count of Monte Cristo"

Posted: February 25th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guillermo del Toro on "Count of Monte Cristo"Submit Comment
Director Guillermo del Toro (Hellboy) has revealed to MTV News that he is still hoping to eventually make "The Count of Monte Cristo" and "At the Mountain of Madness."

"The movie that I would've loved to have made and one day hope to make is 'The Count of Monte Cristo,'" said del Toro. "It's a Gothic-Western retelling of 'The Count of Monte Cristo,' and I co-wrote it with [Kitt Carson] and Matthew Robbins around 1993 to 1998."

"I wrote a lot of that during the kidnapping of my father, so it's of a lot of rage." Del Toro's father was kidnapped in 1997 and held for 72 days before his family paid the requested ransom and he was returned.

"I adore that screenplay," del Toro said of the 'Monte Cristo' story. "That, or I would have to say '[At the] Mountain of Madness,' which is my pet big project."

When asked if he would consider handing over his screenplays for another director to take on, del Toro said: "I hope not. If I can fight, sue, or hit someone to keep the project with me, I will keep them. And I'll get them made."

At this point, del Toro is working on the two "The Hobbit" films and is still thinking about ending the "Hellboy" trilogy.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinestarr writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:16:45 PM

Too soon...wait another 5 years. The Western slant seems interesting (not original, but interesting).
Cinestarr writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:18:28 PM

I meant "To". Why can't I spell on here?
Ronsauce writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:23:31 PM

I actually think you meant "too." I'm not sure I like the Western angle...but I find most Westerns just absolutely bland to look at and usually can't stomach watching them. However, one of my favourite stories of all time done by one of the current great directors can't really go wrong.
roseredscare writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:54:47 PM

Why the hell make another one? The first movie was great!
meanmonkey22 writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 8:09:05 PM

Hahaha, Cinestarr, I get typos every time I post a comment here! haha, I dont know why.
dwightschrute writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 9:28:50 PM

Last I heard he had like a dozen movies on his slate and now this one? Wow, this dude is a busy guy
Mattthoing writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 11:39:32 PM

Oh god, that would be awesome. Count of Monte Cristo is one of my favorite screen plays. Don't screw it up, Toro. Or I will kidnap your father again.
kevo10183 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 1:18:35 AM

The Count of Monte Cristo is already an awesome movie! If you havent seen it, its the one with Jim Caviezel
thequinch writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 1:48:31 AM

Finish Hellboy first ... before Ron Perlman gets too old ... don't over exert yourself Guillermo ... lol ... you're planning too many projects!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 1st, 2009 at 4:45:12 PM

the man sure likes to plan ahead and stay busy but whatever he's a genius! let him do what he wants

Shia LaBeouf Says He Was Raped During His #IAmSorry Stunt

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TIME Magazine's Top 10 Best and Worst Films of 2014

It's Official: Jared Leto is The Joker and Will Smith is Deadshot in "Suicide Squad"

Christian Bale Says He'll Never Work With "Terminator Salvation" Director Again

Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Marvel Would Have Recast Spider-Man in "Captain America: Civil War"

"Demolition Man" Writer Explains How He Came Up with The Three Seashells

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Still Rules Box Office, "The Pyramid" Bombed

Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved