WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look: Michael Fassbender in William Shakespeare's "Macbeth"
Apr 18th, 2014
New Footage in "Godzilla" TV Spot
Apr 18th, 2014
Marvel Confirms It Has Rights to Kingpin and Elektra for "Daredevil" TV Series
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "Jersey Boys" Musical
Apr 18th, 2014
"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "The Captive" Thriller
Apr 18th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Rover," with Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson
Apr 18th, 2014
"Sinister" Sequel Gets a Director, To Begin Filming in July
Apr 18th, 2014
Opening Scene from "In Your Eyes" Sci-Fi Film, Written by Joss Whedon
Apr 18th, 2014
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Andrew Garfield Says Spider-Man is Jewish
Apr 15th, 2014
Channing Tatum Confirms Talks to Play Gambit in "X-Men" Film
Apr 15th, 2014
David Fincher to be Replaced on Steve Jobs Biopic Due to Unreasonable Requests
Apr 15th, 2014
Harrison Ford Excited to Return for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for David Cronenberg's "Maps to the Stars," with John Cusack and Julianne Moore
Apr 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guillermo del Toro on "Count of Monte Cristo"

Posted: February 25th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guillermo del Toro on "Count of Monte Cristo"Submit Comment
Director Guillermo del Toro (Hellboy) has revealed to MTV News that he is still hoping to eventually make "The Count of Monte Cristo" and "At the Mountain of Madness."

"The movie that I would've loved to have made and one day hope to make is 'The Count of Monte Cristo,'" said del Toro. "It's a Gothic-Western retelling of 'The Count of Monte Cristo,' and I co-wrote it with [Kitt Carson] and Matthew Robbins around 1993 to 1998."

"I wrote a lot of that during the kidnapping of my father, so it's of a lot of rage." Del Toro's father was kidnapped in 1997 and held for 72 days before his family paid the requested ransom and he was returned.

"I adore that screenplay," del Toro said of the 'Monte Cristo' story. "That, or I would have to say '[At the] Mountain of Madness,' which is my pet big project."

When asked if he would consider handing over his screenplays for another director to take on, del Toro said: "I hope not. If I can fight, sue, or hit someone to keep the project with me, I will keep them. And I'll get them made."

At this point, del Toro is working on the two "The Hobbit" films and is still thinking about ending the "Hellboy" trilogy.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinestarr writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:16:45 PM

Too soon...wait another 5 years. The Western slant seems interesting (not original, but interesting).
Cinestarr writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:18:28 PM

I meant "To". Why can't I spell on here?
Ronsauce writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:23:31 PM

I actually think you meant "too." I'm not sure I like the Western angle...but I find most Westerns just absolutely bland to look at and usually can't stomach watching them. However, one of my favourite stories of all time done by one of the current great directors can't really go wrong.
roseredscare writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:54:47 PM

Why the hell make another one? The first movie was great!
meanmonkey22 writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 8:09:05 PM

Hahaha, Cinestarr, I get typos every time I post a comment here! haha, I dont know why.
dwightschrute writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 9:28:50 PM

Last I heard he had like a dozen movies on his slate and now this one? Wow, this dude is a busy guy
Mattthoing writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 11:39:32 PM

Oh god, that would be awesome. Count of Monte Cristo is one of my favorite screen plays. Don't screw it up, Toro. Or I will kidnap your father again.
kevo10183 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 1:18:35 AM

The Count of Monte Cristo is already an awesome movie! If you havent seen it, its the one with Jim Caviezel
thequinch writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 1:48:31 AM

Finish Hellboy first ... before Ron Perlman gets too old ... don't over exert yourself Guillermo ... lol ... you're planning too many projects!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 1st, 2009 at 4:45:12 PM

the man sure likes to plan ahead and stay busy but whatever he's a genius! let him do what he wants

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved