WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Terminator Genisys" and "Magic Mike XXL" Flop in Theaters
Jul 6th, 2015
"Deadpool" on EW's Comic-Con Magazine Cover
Jul 6th, 2015
The Falcon in New "Ant-Man" TV Spot
Jul 6th, 2015
Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"
Jul 5th, 2015
First Photo of Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy in "Victor Frankenstein"
Jul 4th, 2015
Two More Photos From "Deadpool" Comic Book Film
Jul 4th, 2015
"Hello Kitty" to Become $200 Million Movie
Jul 4th, 2015
New Photos From "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies"
Jul 4th, 2015
Lots of New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Photos and Story Details
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Ryan Reynolds' "Deadpool" Comic Book Film
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Monopoly" Movie Hires "The Truman Show" Writer
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight"
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" - What Did You Think?
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for "Transporter" Reboot
Jul 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "Rocky" Spin-Off "Creed"
Jul 1st, 2015
Trailer for Gerard Butler's "Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel, "London Has Fallen"
Jul 1st, 2015
Marlon Wayans Threatening to Make "White Chicks" Sequel
Jul 1st, 2015
Teaser Trailer for Oliver Stone's "Snowden" Film, with Joseph Gordon-Levitt
Jul 1st, 2015
Robert Zemeckis Says He'll Stop Any "Back to the Future" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Titles for "Star Trek 3" and "Guardians of the Galaxy 2" Revealed
Jun 30th, 2015
First Look at Costumes From "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Ten Thousand Saints," with Ethan Hawke and Asa Butterfield
Jun 30th, 2015
"Ted 2" Underperforms at Box Office, "Jurassic World" Continues to Dominate
Jun 29th, 2015
"Lucy" and "Colombiana" Sequels in the Works
Jun 27th, 2015
Steven Spielberg Acquires Michael Crichton's "Micro" Novel
Jun 27th, 2015
New "Heroes Reborn" Trailer Arrives Online
Jun 26th, 2015
Photos From New Episodes of "The X-Files"
Jun 26th, 2015
New Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Legend" Thriller
Jun 26th, 2015
Adrian Grenier Would Make "Aquaman" Cameo
Jun 26th, 2015
Shia LaBeouf Hospitalized After Sustaining a Head Injury on Set
Jun 25th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Rampage" Video Game Movie
Jun 25th, 2015
First Look at Gerard Butler in "London Has Fallen"
Jun 25th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guillermo del Toro on "Count of Monte Cristo"

Posted: February 25th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guillermo del Toro on "Count of Monte Cristo"Submit Comment
Director Guillermo del Toro (Hellboy) has revealed to MTV News that he is still hoping to eventually make "The Count of Monte Cristo" and "At the Mountain of Madness."

"The movie that I would've loved to have made and one day hope to make is 'The Count of Monte Cristo,'" said del Toro. "It's a Gothic-Western retelling of 'The Count of Monte Cristo,' and I co-wrote it with [Kitt Carson] and Matthew Robbins around 1993 to 1998."

"I wrote a lot of that during the kidnapping of my father, so it's of a lot of rage." Del Toro's father was kidnapped in 1997 and held for 72 days before his family paid the requested ransom and he was returned.

"I adore that screenplay," del Toro said of the 'Monte Cristo' story. "That, or I would have to say '[At the] Mountain of Madness,' which is my pet big project."

When asked if he would consider handing over his screenplays for another director to take on, del Toro said: "I hope not. If I can fight, sue, or hit someone to keep the project with me, I will keep them. And I'll get them made."

At this point, del Toro is working on the two "The Hobbit" films and is still thinking about ending the "Hellboy" trilogy.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinestarr writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:16:45 PM

Too soon...wait another 5 years. The Western slant seems interesting (not original, but interesting).
Cinestarr writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:18:28 PM

I meant "To". Why can't I spell on here?
Ronsauce writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:23:31 PM

I actually think you meant "too." I'm not sure I like the Western angle...but I find most Westerns just absolutely bland to look at and usually can't stomach watching them. However, one of my favourite stories of all time done by one of the current great directors can't really go wrong.
roseredscare writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:54:47 PM

Why the hell make another one? The first movie was great!
meanmonkey22 writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 8:09:05 PM

Hahaha, Cinestarr, I get typos every time I post a comment here! haha, I dont know why.
dwightschrute writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 9:28:50 PM

Last I heard he had like a dozen movies on his slate and now this one? Wow, this dude is a busy guy
Mattthoing writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 11:39:32 PM

Oh god, that would be awesome. Count of Monte Cristo is one of my favorite screen plays. Don't screw it up, Toro. Or I will kidnap your father again.
kevo10183 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 1:18:35 AM

The Count of Monte Cristo is already an awesome movie! If you havent seen it, its the one with Jim Caviezel
thequinch writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 1:48:31 AM

Finish Hellboy first ... before Ron Perlman gets too old ... don't over exert yourself Guillermo ... lol ... you're planning too many projects!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 1st, 2009 at 4:45:12 PM

the man sure likes to plan ahead and stay busy but whatever he's a genius! let him do what he wants

Hugh Jackman on Quitting Wolverine and Making "Deadpool" Cameo

Hugh Jackman Quit Wolverine Role Because of Jerry Seinfeld

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Plot Synopsis Revealed

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

Targon Egerton Wants to Replace Hugh Jackman as Wolverine
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved