WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Will Smith's "Focus" Takes Top Spot at Box Office
Mar 2nd, 2015
Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment
Mar 1st, 2015
"Star Trek" Actor Leonard Nimoy Dead at 83
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Black Widow, Thor and Nick Fury Posters
Feb 28th, 2015
First Look at Eddie Redmayne as First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Feb 28th, 2015
Leonardo DiCaprio to Have 24 Personalities in "The Crowded Room"
Feb 28th, 2015
"Brewster's Millions" Remake Gets a Director
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils The Hulk Poster
Feb 27th, 2015
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good
Feb 27th, 2015
Harrison Ford Confirmed for "Blade Runner 2," Director Announced
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Clarifies His "Alien 5" Comments
Feb 27th, 2015
"Red Sonja" is Happening Again
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Iron Man Poster
Feb 26th, 2015
Official "Creed" Plot Synopsis Hints at Rocky's Health Issues
Feb 26th, 2015
Four New Photos From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Feb 26th, 2015
"Tomb Raider" Reboot Hires "Divergent" Writer
Feb 26th, 2015
Poster for Marvel's "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 25th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says He'll Return For "Terminator Genisys" Sequel
Feb 25th, 2015
Dark "Power Rangers" Short Film with James Van Der Beek
Feb 25th, 2015
"The LEGO Movie" Sequel Announces Director
Feb 25th, 2015
Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?
Feb 24th, 2015
Chris Pratt Comments on Starring in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 24th, 2015
Rooney Mara Says "Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" Sequel is Dead
Feb 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Feb 24th, 2015
"Fifty Shades of Grey" Still First at Box Office, "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Bombs
Feb 23rd, 2015
Academy Award Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Steven Spielberg May Direct Chris Pratt in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 22nd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants to Play Wolverine Until He Dies
Feb 22nd, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Set to Begin Filming This Fall
Feb 22nd, 2015
2015 Razzie Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Trailer for "Infinitely Polar Bear," with Mark Ruffalo and Zoe Saldana
Feb 22nd, 2015
First Look: Jason Momoa is Aquaman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Feb 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guillermo del Toro on "Count of Monte Cristo"

Posted: February 25th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guillermo del Toro on "Count of Monte Cristo"Submit Comment
Director Guillermo del Toro (Hellboy) has revealed to MTV News that he is still hoping to eventually make "The Count of Monte Cristo" and "At the Mountain of Madness."

"The movie that I would've loved to have made and one day hope to make is 'The Count of Monte Cristo,'" said del Toro. "It's a Gothic-Western retelling of 'The Count of Monte Cristo,' and I co-wrote it with [Kitt Carson] and Matthew Robbins around 1993 to 1998."

"I wrote a lot of that during the kidnapping of my father, so it's of a lot of rage." Del Toro's father was kidnapped in 1997 and held for 72 days before his family paid the requested ransom and he was returned.

"I adore that screenplay," del Toro said of the 'Monte Cristo' story. "That, or I would have to say '[At the] Mountain of Madness,' which is my pet big project."

When asked if he would consider handing over his screenplays for another director to take on, del Toro said: "I hope not. If I can fight, sue, or hit someone to keep the project with me, I will keep them. And I'll get them made."

At this point, del Toro is working on the two "The Hobbit" films and is still thinking about ending the "Hellboy" trilogy.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinestarr writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:16:45 PM

Too soon...wait another 5 years. The Western slant seems interesting (not original, but interesting).
Cinestarr writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:18:28 PM

I meant "To". Why can't I spell on here?
Ronsauce writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:23:31 PM

I actually think you meant "too." I'm not sure I like the Western angle...but I find most Westerns just absolutely bland to look at and usually can't stomach watching them. However, one of my favourite stories of all time done by one of the current great directors can't really go wrong.
roseredscare writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:54:47 PM

Why the hell make another one? The first movie was great!
meanmonkey22 writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 8:09:05 PM

Hahaha, Cinestarr, I get typos every time I post a comment here! haha, I dont know why.
dwightschrute writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 9:28:50 PM

Last I heard he had like a dozen movies on his slate and now this one? Wow, this dude is a busy guy
Mattthoing writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 11:39:32 PM

Oh god, that would be awesome. Count of Monte Cristo is one of my favorite screen plays. Don't screw it up, Toro. Or I will kidnap your father again.
kevo10183 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 1:18:35 AM

The Count of Monte Cristo is already an awesome movie! If you havent seen it, its the one with Jim Caviezel
thequinch writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 1:48:31 AM

Finish Hellboy first ... before Ron Perlman gets too old ... don't over exert yourself Guillermo ... lol ... you're planning too many projects!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 1st, 2009 at 4:45:12 PM

the man sure likes to plan ahead and stay busy but whatever he's a genius! let him do what he wants

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film

Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved