WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joss Whedon's Theory on Comic Book Films

Posted: February 25th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joss WhedonSubmit Comment
Joss Whedon, creator of such TV shows as "Buffy," "Angel," "Firefly" and "Dollhouse," spoke to The Geek Files about why he believes Warner Bros is struggling to bring DC Comics properties successfully to the big screen. Here is what Whedon had to say:

"With that one big exception (Batman), DC's heroes are from a different era. They're from the era when they were creating gods. And the thing that made [rival publisher] Marvel Comics extraordinary was that they created people. Their characters didn't live in mythical cities, they lived in New York. They absolutely were a part of the world. Peter Parker's character (Spider-Man) was a tortured adolescent. DC's characters, like Wonder Woman and Superman and Green Lantern, were all very much removed from humanity. Batman was the only character they had who was so rooted in pain, that had that same gift that the Marvel characters had, which was that gift of humanity that we can relate to."

While the X-Men are very powerful, they still have very human qualities and deal with such issues as discrimination and the need to belong. Superman, on the other hand, just battles villains. But even though Whedon has a good point, I find it hard to believe that a good Superman or Flash movie cannot be made.

With such an outlook, it would have been really interesting to see Whedon's "Wonder Woman" script be turned into a movie.

Outside of Batman, which DC Comics' character do you think has the best chance of having a successful film?

Source: The Geek Files


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nea writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 6:31:47 AM

I would really love to see a GOOD movie about some "smaller" characters and not the headliners. Hawkwoman, or overall Thanagarian Story against Earth. Or I would love to see Huntress or Black Canary. Or The Question, could think of a GOOD Rorschach/Spirit combination. Doctor Fate could also evolve around a good story. DAMN IT!!! Cannot decide, give me 10 Justice League Movies or start trying to emphasize on the origins of the members movies, like Marvel is doing for Avengers.
bacci40 writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:07:58 AM

there are lots of vertigo related titles that would make good movies
nea writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:20:39 AM

100 Bullets suddenly comes to mind!
TGDirector writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:28:09 AM

I agree Whendon. Back in the day, DC was actually focused on mystical and fictional cities. Things that don't exist in our human world. I mean, Superman didn't have any human qualities back then. He just battled villians like Joss said. Nothing more or less. That's the difference between Marvel & DC. You say Superman VS Batman movie would work, the truth is: it does not. They're totally different boundries. It works within a Marvel boundry. That's the difference between DC & Marvel. Marvel has real life qualities and experiences with their character where-as DC does not except for 1 or 2 characters. The problem with this article is that nowhere did Joss say none of it wouldn't be a good movie. That's just Worstpreview's assumptions. Something for you guys to think about.
i3u7n5 writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 8:59:50 AM

I've got to disagree with his take on Superman. Kal-el was created by two Jewish immigrants and much of his history is steeped in the experiences of strangers in a new land trying to fit in and be a part of, to make a home in a new place and culture. Superman is one of the most powerful beings in the known universe and could conceivably subject Earth to his rule yet he chooses to be a servant and embrace his "humanity". One of my favorite Superman quotes says, "Superman is what I do, Clark is who I am" I think this speaks very much to the character and his struggle to be a man rather than a god.
Ark writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 9:08:53 AM

Michael J. Straczynski's Midnight Nation would be a great movie or series. Also Rising Stars would be awesome to see.
MrSammich writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 10:39:07 AM

If that is true why did Superman work so well the first time. The ;ast movie just didn't connect with the majority of people because it was so gay, a minority attraction.
Sinestro writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 12:20:42 PM

He's a Marvel exclusive. Get the f*ck out of here with that biased sh*t. How about he shuts the hell up and makes a TV show that doesn't actually get canceled a month into the series? And Spider-Man is very normal. Yes, just like every other adolescent boy is a genius who can build web shooting devices, stick through walls, fight super-villains and date supermodels.
manichispanic writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 1:56:39 PM

the preacher
KirkLazerus writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 1:59:16 PM

dc movies are successful superman(the old one),batman v for vendetta,its not like marvel comics make good movies x men sucked,spiderman was terrible,fantastic four sucked my balls,electra,daredevil,wer e all bad films,but they just make a sh*t load of money,so this douchbag is pretty dumb he should just stick to making a show no one will watch
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 3:00:25 PM

Well all the 80's Superman movies were done well you just need a good director. All these new directors feel they need to put there spin on the comic ideas like Superman kid and such it's not hard to put a godlike character on screen if you leave it like it is. That's the part where they mess up trying to make a comic movie based on the real world so they'll tone down there powers saying they want to keep it as real as possible and that's where they mess up.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 3:04:10 PM

A good example is Wonder Woman everyone who wants to see her wants to see all her powers but whoever makes the movie is probably going to say know one wants to see he throwing a rope or crap like that.
MyCircusLife writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 3:31:34 PM

Lobo!!!
Post_Man_87 writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 4:38:04 PM

I'll disagree w/ Whedon. There are DC heros who have "come into their powers" like Marvel characters have. Hal Jordan/Green Lantern comes to mind. A normal guy (fighter pilot) one minute, a hero the next, w/ a ton of personal baggage, like Marvel heros. How's this different? I'm sick of Marvel fanboys trying to convince everyone their universe is better or somehow has a more human soul. It's pure BS. If you enjoy one more than other, that's fine. But both DC and Marvel have good and bad characters and both studios have put out good and bad films. End of story. There's no secret here Mr. Whedon. Let's not get into a pissing match about who has the more Watershed graphic novels......because by my count it's DC - 25 & Marvel - 3.
TGDirector writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 5:19:58 PM

If they really wanted a Superman movie to work...I think if they can get into it as emotionally as possible, I think that's the key. If you can show Superman's struggle to keep twin identities and trying to find a way to fit in with humanity. Showing somewhat of a human side of this man who came to Earth. Like, for example in this world some people are bad, some people are good. And Clark sees that and has trouble deciding on whether humanity's worth to save. The "How" he came to be. I mean, what's harder? Being something you know you are and then pretend to be somebody you know you aren't? That's a big mind fight with yourself. Doesn't matter if you're Human or from another planet. It's gotta be hard.
vampires_suck writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 5:27:04 PM

Pretty funny you guys are sayin Whedon can't make a show that will last more than a season or one that pple will watch when he created one of the most talked about and recognizable franchises in the last 10 years, you might have heard of it....Buffy The Vampire Slayer? Hmm? and then it's spin off Angel? Ring a bell? Oh, Firefly only lasted a season, but the power of its fanbase gets a movie made, yeah, good one guys, you suck Whedon.
Gunslinger writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 5:30:40 PM

What about Ziggy?? If you want to want to make a comic-based movie about a character rooted in pain, I'm not sure if you could do better than Ziggy. Although, Family Circus might run a close second. Talk about inner demons.
roseredscare writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 7:59:29 PM

Well, I still prefer DC to Marvel. Maybe I just like escaping into a fantasy world.
dwightschrute writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 9:32:58 PM

Yeah that's true. DC escapes from reality while Marvel keeps it grounded. Many of the reasons why Marvel heroes are so much awesomer than DC's.
Spanza2 writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 11:31:11 PM

Id love to see a Roschache spin-off with jackie earle haley returning to the title role....its probably not possible but i already know its something id love to see
Post_Man_87 writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 5:35:41 AM

dwightschrute - you are a small soul who has no real grounding on the world. Or the fictional comic world. Yeah, first off, awesomer is not a word. Yeah sorry. Second if you think Marvel is more grounded, I'd like to see it. But if you'd like to compare impact titles and story arcs I'd love to parallel. Marvel has Demon in a Bottle & Spiderman no More. DC had Dark Knight Returns, Watchmen, V for Vendeatta, Year One, Killing Joke, Kingdom Come, Long Halloween, Rebirth, Preacher, Sandman, etc. Need I go on???
dwightschrute writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 7:32:01 AM

Okay geek, you made your point. Now get out of your mom's basement and try improving your social life yes? Geez man, take a chill pill.
vampires_suck writes:
on February 26th, 2009 at 6:07:39 PM

dwight actually has a point, the majority of those stoylines you mentioned had pretty much no impact on the overall mainstream ark of the characters involved, ie they are stand alone epics or alternate reality tales. Almost all of Marvels big storylines change the characters in some way or another.
Post_Man_87 writes:
on February 27th, 2009 at 12:11:23 AM

^^ Ouch....I'm so hurt by your inaccurate insults. Boo hoo. You know me about as well as your know comics. Oh, and vampires_suck - I didn't mention any "events" (ie Crisis', Batman Fugitive, etc.) because I don't think those (or Marvel events - ie Secret Invasion) are all that great, story wise. I'm interested in good stories. It doesn't matter if it's in continuity or not. How many origins does Wolverine have? About 4. Some are good, some are bad. Or how about the Ultimate line. Another retelling or re-imagining of Marvels core characters. I'm not saying those are bad books, hell I like them, but don't try and state that story arcs effect Marvels characters but DC's stories have no consequences to their characters. It's pure BS. I'd like to list some examples but I guess that would be too geeky *sarcasm*.
vampires_suck writes:
on February 28th, 2009 at 1:55:38 AM

Postman, point noted. However, i've gotta say in terms of the 'events' at both houses, Marvel are killing DC. This is just my point of view of course, and don't get me wrong i love DC, but since House of M through Decimation, Civil War, The Initiative, Secret Invasion to now Dark Reign, the Marvel Universe is a much more interesting place to be. DC's crisies are predictive and altogether boring, with the excpetion of Identity. And i agree that DC has some better stand alone story arcs, possibly my fav ever is the long halloween, i just don't think DC have it together in terms of moving their characters forward enough. Although i have seen some promising things as of late with the Bat books.
Post_Man_87 writes:
on March 1st, 2009 at 4:01:56 AM

vampires_suck - yeah, I hear you. But it seems like Bendis is controlling everything. I guess that's cool if you like the guy. I just happen to dislike his writing immensely. Thus, almost every event (except Civil War because Brubaker is KING and his Captain America run is amazing) is really boring...to me. And I agree, every DC event has been boring too. But I'm excited for Flash: Rebirth and Blackest Night. Should be good.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 1st, 2009 at 4:53:02 PM

you f*ckers have to much time to think this much into things... goddamn let some of it go! Ever heard the expression - "The times they are a changin'" and who cares if they arent real enough in people terms. Comic books are meant to be creative and imaginative thats why they are what they are. I get what he's saying but you have to have some who are outrageous and other who are steeped in actual human proportions of emotion. You have to mix both or just stick with one plane of thought to create something amazing like superheros.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved