WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Pirates of the Caribbean" Director Takes on "Clue"

Posted: February 25th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Pirates of the Caribbean" Director Takes on "Clue"Submit Comment
Universal Pictures has attached Gore Verbinski (Pirates of the Caribbean trilogy) to direct and produce "Clue," a live-action murder mystery based on the Hasbro board game.

In the board game, competitors solve a murder that was committed either by Professor Plum, Ms. White, Col. Mustard, Miss Peacock, Mr. Green or Ms. Scarlet. The killer has perpetrated the dastardly deed using either a knife, rope, candlestick, wrench, pistol or a lead pipe.

The board game is one of the few to surpass $1 billion in sales, in more than 50 markets. It was developed in England by a retired legal clerk named Anthony Pratt during WWII and released in 1948.

"Clue," which was previously turned into a 1985 film, becomes the latest Hasbro property to be set for the bigscreen. The toymaker has "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" and "GI Joe: Rise of Cobra," both of which will be distributed by Paramount this summer. At Universal, Hasbro hatched "Stretch Armstrong," which just set Steve Oedekerk as writer; the Ridley Scott-directed "Monopoly"; "Candyland," which Etan Cohen ("Tropic Thunder") is writing for Kevin Lima to direct; and "Ouija," which is being produced by Michael Bay's Platinum Dunes banner.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
the_tortel writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 12:18:56 AM

I liked the old Clue, wonder if this one will have a comedic touch too...
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 1:50:28 AM

the old clue was awesome...i just can't understand monopoly or candyland as a movie...next it'll be mousetrap or trouble or don't wake daddy or sumthin lame...wait i know...yahtzee...i'm sure that would be a VERY interesting movie lol
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 1:52:51 AM

It better not have the board game in it because this ain't no fudging Jumanji!!
masKritic writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 2:16:58 AM

ha im totally digging that yahtzee movie idea
thequinch writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 3:31:08 AM

Monopoly, WTF ... Ridley Scott lost it after Blade Runner!!!
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 8:32:10 AM

Great...another remake of a classic....way to go once again hollywood
NeoArgus writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 8:40:56 AM

5th Beatle... not sure you can label the Tim Curry Clue as "classic", i mean, you can try, but... this isn't a film i'd complain about being ripped off by hollywood.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 11:49:22 AM

I think its a classic, and i dont see hollywood as ripping me off...basically im annoyed that they just keep remaking movies, barely thinking of any new ideas With Gore Verbinski directing im sure itll be good, i just wish theyd stop remaking movies that really dont need to be remade!
rzmsauce writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 12:23:14 PM

Keep on Remakeing movies, Not that I care much about clue, But Id love to see another directors take on Spiderman Or Batman, Way to many visions out there, some get it wrong and some get it right!!!! Oh and Im thinking of a Martin Scorcese version of Guess who or Operation.
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 12:33:15 PM

The5thBeatle5...i agree 100 percent...my favorite part in the old clue was when wadsworth is in the room w/everyone and mrs. peac*ck thinks she was poisoned and wadsworth slaps her...'well i had to stop her screaming' lol...and also when mr. green says at the end...'and if you wanna know who killed wadsworth, that would be me, in the hall, with a revolver' awesome awesome awesome...very well played...of course my question is 'how can classic stars be topped by a bunch of newbies in the industry today'?....the only reason i'll be ok with this movie is if they get well known actors for the main characters
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 1:14:19 PM

Hahah those are great parts synthetic! christopher lloyd/professor plum has always been my favorite, and the one i always choose when i play the game "Im looking! Im looking!"....yea, thats another thing i hate is when they choose a bunch of nobodies (especially teenagers) which ruins the movies even more! theyll probably end up setting the movie when the characters were high schoolers or some crap..
meanmonkey22 writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 2:20:00 PM

Clue was my girlfriend's favorite movie when she was a kid. I thought it was funny. Im interested to see what they'll do with it.
usualclerk writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 5:21:21 PM

Clue was classic! I remember watching that movie a dozen times or more over a summer. No remake will make me as happy as that film did. Gore Verbinski or not. Classic actors, hilarious script, why mess with this?
Gunslinger writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 8:00:57 PM

Why don't they just remake Citizen Kane and get it over with.
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 8:31:17 PM

'we always get our man!' 'mrs. peac*ck was a man?!?!' *slap* *slap* lol anybody remember that part??
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 8:35:27 PM

another thing i love about the old movie was the time setting was perfect for everybody's clothing and what not....the weapons were all suitable for the time period...it was very political even to today's standards....blackmail...government secrets...'so it's political....you're a communist!' lol...anyway my brain is kinda fried....long ass day
dwightschrute writes:
on February 25th, 2009 at 9:54:07 PM

OH GOD NO.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on March 1st, 2009 at 4:54:10 PM

it needs to be very mystical and comedic at the same time for it to be anything like the game comes off to be. I like Gore Verbinski - he made some damn fine films!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved