WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Dark Knight" Breaks the $1 Billion Mark

Posted: February 21st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Dark Knight" Breaks the $1 Billion MarkSubmit Comment
Warner Bros. announced Friday that "The Dark Knight" has crossed the $1 billion mark in worldwide revenues, having accumulated a $1,001,082,160 gross to date.

With eight Oscar nominations, the film currently ranks as the fourth highest worldwide grosser of all time, just below the No. 3 film "Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest" ($1.07 billion) and No. 2 "The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King" ($1.12 billion).

The record-setting "Titanic" reigns atop the list with more than $1.8 billion.

Since its release in July, "Knight" also has become Warners' highest grossing film worldwide as well as the second-highest-grossing film domestically of all time. In its IMAX release, it ranks as the largest 2-D digitally remastered IMAX release of all time in both the domestic market with $49.6 million and worldwide with a gross of $64.9 million.

Click here to read our "The Dark Knight" review.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 1:07:45 AM

BOOYAh! people who are to bad mouth this film know inside that its amazing one way or another and they just act to "hate" it so they dont "fall in" with everyone else. Honestly though, Christopher Nolan can do the next one and that other film he wants and just walk out and never be heard from again. He'll always be remembered for this badass film.
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 2:50:34 AM

i hope it makes more, movie was sick
minkowski writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 3:03:23 AM

I don't hate TDK, it's just not that great at all. Mediocre big budget film. Way, way overrated by people programmed by society to like whatever they are told. I can barely recall anything moving or memorable I hadn't seen in other films. The only part that gave me any sort of 'goosebump' visceral reaction was the ending monologue by Gordon. Had some silly moments too, like the truck flipping scene and the junk concerning Gordon's death. Gordon goes into hiding after faking his death to what? Protect himself? But leaves his family emotionally distraught thinking dear old dad croaked while leaving them totally available for a reprisal slaughter by the insane Joker? Why go into hiding anyway? And the physics of the truck flipping are nearly imppossible in so, so many damned ways. Jumpy editing, poorly used audio that wasn't remotely normalized across scenes. Goes from quiet to LOUD without either much reason or warning. Thought my audio was f*cked up. Eh. NOT the most enjoyable summer blockbuster for sure, and NOT a thinking person's sort of film. Why the f*ck is so highly regarded? Because Ledger croaked? Too bad. He mixed his pills and OD'ed because he couldn't handle the fraction of stress of other actors deal with everyday. Whatever. I'd rather watch a Schumacher Batman, at least THOSE had some humor, some mispaced heart and characters you might like enough to want to share a beer with. I guess I do hate it a little. It's like the Macarena of films.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 3:10:34 AM

minkowski, i sometimes laugh at ur things...but man sometimes ur comments are useless, and no we are not programed by society becasue we like this film, i think u seen Fight Club a bit to many times (Which is another great film)and please nothing pisses me off more when geeks try and call a movie stupid and pointless because, a certina ctions equence is physically impossible...IT'S A MOVIE...HOLLYWOOD!!. FICTION. Movies are made to escape from reality for a bit and have some enjoyment for bit. And besides, the semi flipping over is possible....sicne it was an actual semi flipping over, no CGI..and dont try and call those schumacher movies as good as Nolans, Nolans, has story, depth and charcter...schumachers was a modernization of those Adam West tv shows...."PURE WEST"
minkowski writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 3:30:56 AM

Dear god, some of you aren't too damned bright. It's sad, really. Do you REALLY think they flipped the truck as it might happen in real life (under very unlikely circ*mstances)? LOL. And you laugh at what I post? Come on! They used wires and cranes and god knows what else to make that scene happen. Ever SEEN or even HEARD of a truck flipping like in TDK? And Nolan creds himself on 'realism'? You probably think the 'pinch' used in Ocean's Eleven is 'realistic' too, because Stephen Soderbergh didn't use CG to darken the Bellagio's interiors, but instead just flipped the light switches? Nolan shouldn't pride himself on 'realism' when he has the Joker demolish a building (the hospital) without anyone knowing that someone set specific charges in specific places by hollowing out walls and removing columns and all the other sh*t demo teams have to do to drop a building. lol. Yeah, if Nolan wasn't so pretentiously self styling with the 'realism' angle I might give him more credit, but the film had far, far more problems than that. And I don't even care for Fight Club much anymore if I ever did. It's philosophy is totally bogus bullsh*t, if it even carries any sort of message beyond anarchism and nihilism. And I never said that Schumacher makes films that are better than Nolan's or anyone elses, even though I'm pretty damned Nolan is very much overrated himself. Like I said, Chumacher at least can intentially make you laugh, gives a little relief from the bleak sewer of human darkness that prevails throughout TDK. Hell, if Miller can make me laugh, and if Loeb can warm me up with a multitude of eye-crinkling smiles, why can't TDK, even for one single second? Because it's the 'Dark' Knight, and thus that's an excuse for Nolan's Stygian cinematography? And since when did Batman traipse around during the day like some hungry horsefly? And yes, you ARE programmed by society. We all are. That's why it is called society. You have some choice sure, but not nearly as much as you think. It's a sociological and psychological fact. Deal with it and you might move on.
takai writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 4:39:44 AM

minkowski, i was going to be like the others and comment back to you, but unlike them, i understand how stupid that would be. half of what's behind your posts isn't honest feelings, but things to push people's buttons, and i think it's rather amusing. more power to you. as far as the dark knight goes. sure, i agree it was a good movie, but all of this money making hype is stupid. it's so pointless to have the box office record set by money made instead of ticket sales. you can't have records set on things that can vary. the dark knight had to re-release to break the billion mark. do you realize that if you took the actual number of ticket sales for star wars episode iv : a new hope, and multiplied it by todays prices ($9.50) instead of the $2.25 it actually cost, it would put star wars at $1,946,436,029? the billion dark knight BARELY made is chump change to the double star wars made. just saying. if you're going to brag about a movie being good, fine, i'll agree with you. but if you're going to start saying it brought more people and was as 'big a deal' as something like STAR WARS. please, sit your ass down. oh, by the way, i am very curious to see all of the heath deadger fans' reaction to them bringing the joker back for the third movie. :)
takai writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 4:49:48 AM

p.s. i know that lucas re-released the movie and got it more money. that doesn't change the fact that they sold more tickets all together than any movie EVER. and by the looks of it, it will forever hold the TRUE record.
ax-ho-le writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 5:18:16 AM

Proof that minkowski is an idiot : "I'd rather watch a Schumacher Batman".
minkowski writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 5:33:25 AM

"half of what's behind your posts isn't honest feelings" Wrong. Everything I say is from the gut, guided by the brain. Not my feelings, you say? My ass. Otherwise I totally agree with you.
minkowski writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 5:36:15 AM

"Proof that minkowski is an idiot : "I'd rather watch a Schumacher Batman"." Clever beaver you are, because you deliberately lost the context. I'll repeat: I'd rather watch a Schumacher film for the HUMOR and the lighthearted and wacky goofiness, then watch TDK AGAIN for its DARK and DANK, humorless environment that barely only apes what Batman is about. *crack!* Pay attention!
minkowski writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 5:48:41 AM

Btw, takai, do you know off hand how many tickets TDK has sold? Multiply that by 1977-78 ticket prices and report back. Not much. You're totally right. Seems to me people are going to films either a lot less, or are spreading their cash around on other films, taking in more than one movie. Did 2008 have more theatrical releases than 1977? Interesting question. Did the movie industry take in less or more cash in adjusted dollars than say 1980? I'm sure, but I'd like to know by how much. And I guess you can say that TDK's 2008-09 money has more purchase power because of the far more increased revenue encroachers and other stiff film competitors. I mean, go back to 1977. If Star Wars had had to compete with several other bad ass films throughout the summer months, as TDK did with Hellboy, Hulk, IJ, Ironman and others, not to mention the couple dozen 'smaller' budgeted films, I don't believe SW would've done nearly as well. Let's not forget that people now have a massive bevy of DVD/BluRay titles to waste their cash on, plus high quality cheap tv that arrives in their homes in more flavors than five Baskin Robbins. Back in 1977, you's have one big film, some smaller but still powerful flicks, and plenty of noise. No VHS, no DVD, no BluRay and no TV but the big three: ABC NBC and CBS. More went to see Star Wars back in 1977, and thus that film sold more tickets than TDK, simply because people had far, far fewer choices in how to entertain themselves.
minkowski writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 5:49:49 AM

Takai=Star Wars fanboy, I guess.
Psyched writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 6:47:21 AM

Its getting hot in here... BTW its about time this move broke the billion mark, now I can sleep at night.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 7:43:46 AM

My god... it is the battle of the annoyings
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 7:48:50 AM

and liek a said before, u tend to take movies way to seriously....they are pure fantasy and for entertainment, Sit back, relax and enjoy them....don't be the kinda jack ass who goes to movies and yell "That is physically impossible" or "BULLsh*t!!!" when a great action scene Happens...................................... .....................also minkowski .."Why So Serious!!"
pugi27 writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 10:31:00 AM

wow, i guess that's good for tdk...but one thing about the truck flip, before the film was released, there was some raw footage of the crew flipping the truck on youtube, yet the cause of the flip wasn't the same as in the film
Blank x2 writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 11:24:04 AM

Minkowski, you are plain stupid. You can go ahead and write some semi-witty remark back to me, as you usually try to do. But some of the things you say are so dumb founding, it amazes me. We are talking about how awesome the Dark Knight is, and you are blabbering on about how the f*cking truck flips unrealistically? Really? I am not even going to get in on this, as you already have had a few people call you out on your stupidity. Please, for the love of all that is holy, SHUT THE f*ck UP. Your opinions for the most part make no sense, and you try to way too hard to find something negative to grasp on to and make a deal out of. And when we are discussing The Dark Knight, you should be taken out back and shot for even mentioning the words "Joel Schumacher". And you talk about no humor in the Dark Knight? Maybe that's because it is NOT 1963, and Adam West and company are no longer doing their thing. In short, BATMAN IS NOT SUPPOSED TO BE FUNNY. So go ahead, write something back telling the world how wrong and dumb you think I am, while everyone who posts on the board laughs at the tragic story that is you. Keep trying, dude. Maybe one day you can make a relevant point that people will actually pretend to care about.
the_tortel writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 12:53:31 PM

TDK was okay. I don't care about the billion mark in the slightest.
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 1:14:07 PM

i have only one thing to say about this movie....it was awesome and i say it was worth every penny for all the hard work those guys put into it...reason i say that is because it didn't use much cgi at all...and it wasn't filmed with any one technology...for me that says enough
dAnKoNe23 writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 2:04:40 PM

The Dark Knight makes me smile.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 3:11:08 PM

Hannibal Lector = Minkowski hahahahahah "I say is from the gut, guided by the brain." not to shabby, your a celeb on here Mink hahaa btw TDK was good when it came out, it was just another fad like pirates before it. everyone was dressing like jack sparrow then it was joker, i still love it but some people need to just take a b rip and not take what some people say so seriously, hell jsut think about that famous line from TDK..which i dont think i need to say...
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 3:22:41 PM

Oh my God another ridiculously long comment by the super homo minkowski, jesus dude...no one cares about your pitiful thoughts on batman
Sinestro writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 3:23:33 PM

That Minkowski fella probably whacks off while reading the garbage he writes.
Pepeman writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 3:59:22 PM

Blank x2 that was excellent. Thank you.
Pembrokehawk writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 4:02:32 PM

Not to take anything from the movie, because it was great, but is the $1 Billion mark so great, since it now costs $15 to go see a movie and $30 to buy it on Blueray? Did that many more people go see it or buy it, or have costs gone up something stupid???
Gunslinger writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 5:50:49 PM

Ticket prices have quadrupled in some cities, soon the number of US screens will be triple what it was in '77, and Gone With the Wind is still #1, adjusted for inflation. Still, I think TDK kicks ass, and has just enough "comic relief" (see Shakespeare) to give the movie even more dimension without making it into a farce. And if you didn't think Michael Cain and Morgan Freeman were funny, then I am very, very sorry for anyone who knows you. Oh, yeah, and Minkowski is a sh*thead. His comments are "guided" by his "brain"? With his head that far up his own ass, it's no wonder he says the things he does.
Blank x2 writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 8:07:21 PM

Pepe, your welcome. I just can't understand why Minkowski will sit and post fourteen posts in about two hours about a movie he doesn't like. If you don't like the movie, WHY would you sit and monitor the message boards? Desperation is a stinky cologne, Minkowski.....
lemus869 writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 8:13:00 PM

minkowski, i know you loved adam west as batman and the joel schumacher batman movies but you dont have to tell the whole world!!!!
lemus869 writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 8:17:25 PM

"The Dark Knight" is an extraordinary film, i only pray for chris nolan to do another one, then he'll be the first(and the best)batman director to direct three consecutive batman films!!!Hooray!!!
takai writes:
on February 22nd, 2009 at 12:50:27 AM

minkowski : i did a little research and found something i forgot to note before. i think you may like it. TDK sold upwards of one billion dollars in ticket sales. we all know that. BUT, what people fail to realize is that that is GLOBAL ticket sales. the dark knight didn't break 600,000,000 in the states. when a new hope opened, they didn't do a worldwide release. just in the states. also, i'm sure you'll love this, i found the list of most money made WITH inflation adjustments. here is the REAL list (this gets a little long) 1)-Star Wars Ep. 4 w/$1,172,258,978 2)-E.T. w/$967,604,378 3)-Titanic w/$927,583,711 4)-Star Wars Ep. 5 w/$695,210,789 5)-Star Wars Ep. 6 w/$669,432,240 6)-Star Wars Ep. 1 w/$613,319,558 7)-Jurassic Park w/$609,601,680 8)-Raiders of the Lost Ark w/$588,905,489 9)-Forrest Gump w/$578,261,650 10)-THE LION KING w/$550,679,479 11)-Close Encounters of the Third Kind w/$535,964,126 and finally 12)- The Dark Knight w/$533,070,468
takai writes:
on February 22nd, 2009 at 12:54:42 AM

and to answer your request Mink Man, if you take the money Star Wars made and divide it by the $2.25 tickets cost, you get roughly 204,888,003 actual tickets sold. now, if you take the money TDK made and divide it by the GENEROUS average of $9, you get 59,232,251 actual tickets sold. that means that star wars sold 145,655,752 more tickets than TDK in the states. now, like i said, i liked the dark knight, but when people start comparing where they shouldn't, it aggravates me a bit. it's like when obama compared his courage to that of MLK. i'm sorry but, misplaced. anyways, politics shouldn't be in these comments. i just thought you might like that info. and no, i'm not a star wars fanboy, even though i know quite a few. shoot, i haven't even seen episodes 2 and 3 all the way through yet.
takai writes:
on February 22nd, 2009 at 12:55:49 AM

(source for numbers) -- http://www.the-numbers.com/movies/records/
Gunslinger writes:
on February 22nd, 2009 at 1:31:56 AM

Have a look at boxofficemojo.com. That's the one I often see referenced by journalists. But who really cares, anyway? Go measure d*cks somewhere else.
takai writes:
on February 22nd, 2009 at 1:46:13 AM

if you don't care, then don't bother posting unnecessary vulgarity
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on February 22nd, 2009 at 2:18:53 AM

ugh this is why i never listen to fanboys!!
Blank x2 writes:
on February 22nd, 2009 at 1:56:50 PM

Do all Star Wars fanboys type with no capitalization and punctuation?
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on February 22nd, 2009 at 4:13:12 PM

I love how Minkowski derails the wholeoriginal story by his f*cking boring rants about how he hates good films. I swear half of this site is an on going bitch fest of who is more right. I thought we were all here to dicuss movies... guess thats not the case.
Mattthoing writes:
on February 22nd, 2009 at 9:49:07 PM

What?!?! I missed the first million break mark?!?!
takai writes:
on February 22nd, 2009 at 10:50:22 PM

Is that all you've got to return with? Claiming someone is a fanboy because he shows you something that is unpleasant and then trying to turn the attention elsewhere? Seems to me like the Dark Knight fanboys don't take too kindly to reality. Kind of funny in my opinion. (there's your capitalization. i had punctuation in my posts, thank you very much) :]
leezy84 writes:
on February 23rd, 2009 at 5:28:30 AM

wots wif ppl calling each other fanboys...this site is full of retards and minkowski is the biggest of them all hes so f*cking borin...when was the last time a comic book movie got nominated for a number of oscars....lets jus say men and women lie....numbers dont !!!! and gordon faked his death to protect his family did u even atch the film...not a thinking persons sort of film...the dark knight covered so many issue 's...plz tell me wot ur thinking sort of movie is ?
takai writes:
on February 23rd, 2009 at 6:32:16 PM

you should probably keep your aim and text grammar out of these sort of things

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved