WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Which "Watchmen" Version Will You Buy?

Posted: February 19th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Which "Watchmen" Version Will You Buy?Submit Comment
Sci-Fi Wire spoke to Zack and Deborah Snyder about some of the plans Warner Bros has for the many home-video releases of "Watchmen."

The theatrical version will run about 2 hours and 37 minutes, but that's only one version of the film. After that, a director's cut will hit stores, which will restore scenes cut from the theatrical release and will run about 3 hours and 10 minutes. "There's a lot more like just connective tissue," said Zack.

"The 3-hour director's-cut version ... will be released actually as the first release of the DVD, probably around Comic-Con of this year [in July]," Deborah added.

Next will come a Blu-ray release that will have a special feature in which Zack pops up in video boxes on demand during a scene to illustrate the behind-the-scenes process of making the shot. "It's like a director's commentary, but it's actually him, and there's all these, like, boxes, right?" Deborah said. "They'll play the movie, and he'll point to a scene, and then they'll deconstruct the scene on all these monitors behind him ... where you can see, you know, the green-screen version of it, or, ... if it's Dr. Manhattan, you can see some great effects."

Accompanying the March theatrical release is the DVD release of the companion animated movie "Tales of the Black Freighter," an adaptation of Watchmen's comic-within-a-comic.

Finally, in the fall will come the "ultimate Watchmen cut," which will interpolate the "Black Freighter" into the movie, much as the graphic novel incorporates it into the book's narrative, including special scenes shot to take viewers into the animation and out of it again. That version could run as long as 3 hours and 25 minutes, Zack said. "It's pretty ginormous," he added.

"[For] that version of the movie, ... when we were up there [in Vancouver], we physically shot the ins and outs scenes at the newsstand that go into the movie," Zack Snyder said. "There's ... scenes where our characters pass the newsstand, and then we pick up action at the newsstand that gets us into ... The Black Freighter. And then ... shots where you, like, go into it, and then it comes to life, and you start following the Black Freighter story. And then come back into the movie."

And after that? "I know that they're planning a lot of things," Deborah said. "I did see these, like, crazy Rorschach cases and Owl Ship cases that may come. I mean, it's kind of insane, some of the things."

Click here to read our exclusive "Watchmen" preview.

Source: Sci-Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BREALZ writes:
on February 19th, 2009 at 5:46:01 PM

whichever costs the most!
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on February 19th, 2009 at 5:52:51 PM

ill deff be buying one of the copies, some things are not worth dl.
SpaceGhost89 writes:
on February 19th, 2009 at 7:23:06 PM

sadly, i have to buy all of them, being a pedantic little collector of multiple copies. i have 5 copies of each kill bill (oh god)
froman writes:
on February 19th, 2009 at 8:44:49 PM

ill be getting that ultimate dirctors cut
Schwasted writes:
on February 19th, 2009 at 9:42:02 PM

I'll see whether the movie is all slow motion or if it stays true to the graphic novel and NOT just the look of the book, then after watching the movie I can start thinking about getting it on bluray.
takai writes:
on February 19th, 2009 at 9:45:26 PM

the copy that has the longest run time. that's mine
Osiris3657 writes:
on February 19th, 2009 at 10:33:40 PM

I'll probably end up buying both the director's cut and black freighter edition
Post_Man_87 writes:
on February 19th, 2009 at 11:54:02 PM

It'll depend on how much (or if) the movie blows me away. If it really impresses me like LOTR, then I'll get all 3 versions - Theatrical, Dir. Cut, and The Black Freighter edition. I'll probably end up getting the motion comic Blu-Ray and The Black Freighter Blu-Ray in March too.....
Johnny Neat writes:
on February 20th, 2009 at 10:23:35 AM

The Blu-Ray "Ultimate Watchmen cut" edition without a freaking doubt, if I love the movie & the novel wasn't bare bones raped which I doubt & I will be looking forward to that release.
vaodsi writes:
on February 20th, 2009 at 12:31:49 PM

the director commentary sounds gay.... to me... just my opinion... remember new line's infinifilm? that was annoying. but i will probably get zack's three hour director cut and pick up "tales" seperately.
Digital Desperado writes:
on February 20th, 2009 at 1:09:31 PM

Ultimate Watchmen Cut in the Owl Ship Case!!!!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on February 20th, 2009 at 9:21:17 PM

whatever one comes with the most discs of extra material
Gunslinger writes:
on February 20th, 2009 at 11:54:41 PM

Whichever one Santa brings me.
Gunslinger writes:
on February 21st, 2009 at 12:06:20 AM

or whichever one I can get after I sell a pint of plasma.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved