WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

What's Next for Tom Cruise?

Posted: February 19th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
WhatSubmit Comment
Tom Cruise is currently circling several projects as his next film and after "Valkyrie" performed better than expected, studios are vying to sign him. So which projects are currently on his list?

* "The Matarese Circle," which also has Denzel Washington attached, and will soon get a rewrite by Cronenberg.

* "The Tourist," a remake that would co-star Charlize Theron. A rewrite was turned in this week by Christopher McQuarrie, who co-wrote and produced "Valkyrie" with Cruise.

* "Motorcade," the Len Wiseman-directed thriller that pits the US president against terrorists who commandeer his motorcade on the streets of Los Angeles. Billy Ray is racing to complete a rewrite of the script, with Cruise's input.

Universal is also working with Cruise on "Lost for Words," a romantic comedy in which Cruise would play an actor who gets into a love triangle with his beautiful Chinese director and the filmmaker's jealous translator.

Cruise is also flirting with two pictures by 20th Century Fox. He is exploring but isn't attached to the comedy "Wichita," which he's eyeing as a possible team-up with Cameron Diaz, playing an undercover agent who gets thrown together with a woman who has man trouble. Fox 2000 is also pressing along with "Hardy Men," recently hiring Ed Solomon to rewrite a possible re-team with "Tropic Thunder" co-star Ben Stiller.

Studios expect that Cruise will do two films this year, and while some questioned his enthusiasm for finding a big project, sources said that he will likely star next year in "The Champions," a feature adaptation of the British TV series about a team of government agents rescued from a plane crash in the Himalayas by an advanced civilization and given superhuman abilities.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on February 19th, 2009 at 5:49:46 AM

'Tom Cruise is currently circling..." I thought you were going to say 'the drain'. Personally, I don't give a sh*t. Save for Vanilla Sky, most of his movies are disposable fluff. Sure Rain Man was touching, but Cruise played a narcissistic prick, a role he knows very well. I was surely hoping though, that the aliens of his past lives would abduct him and Katey. And does the Champions sound suspiciously a bit like the Fantastic Four? I don't really care to see him in anything, except perhaps a straitjacket.
Psyched writes:
on February 19th, 2009 at 7:38:30 AM

A Les Grossman spin-off is the only thing I want to see him in. I'm not a fan of Tom Cruise either, but this was his best role ever in my opinion!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on February 19th, 2009 at 9:51:34 AM

SHOW ME THE MONEY!!
dlrippr writes:
on February 19th, 2009 at 11:55:33 AM

Wont his church decide what movies he will be involved in? We can speculate, directors and production companies can hope, but when it comes down to it, who really has the final say about what kind of work he can do? I know, how about a biopic on Katie, (Katie Holmes: the end of an era of a once very hot woman)
c-prime writes:
on February 19th, 2009 at 12:13:22 PM

I'm a lot more supportive of Cruise than most (except for "Jerry Maguire"), but nothing he's done recently has really floored me. "Valkyrie" was snoozeville. Also, the "Les Grossman" character in "Tropic Thunder" was hyped to death and, in my frank opinion, failed to deliver. Oh, got a question for minkowski: Surely you're not writing off "Collateral" as 'disposable fluff,' right?
Special K writes:
on February 19th, 2009 at 1:21:00 PM

"...and given superhuman abilities." like the ability to fly? sounds like the description of Scientology.
Post_Man_87 writes:
on February 19th, 2009 at 3:01:33 PM

I'd heard a few months back that Cruise (or maybe his production company) was looking at Sleeper, a comic by Ed Brubaker. Anyone hear anything lately on that project? Because that could be really good.
dwight writes:
on February 19th, 2009 at 3:51:03 PM

Sounds like a bunch of nonesense movies. I Heard he fell out with Paramount but he needs to bury that ax away long enough to come back for Mi4.
minkowski writes:
on February 19th, 2009 at 4:05:21 PM

Ahh, Collateral. My second favorite, maybe first, Michael Mann film. As much as I hate to admit it, Cruise was awesome in that. But Collateral is a Mann film, and I've really liked most of what he's done, minus the Keep, as I've read the book which is far superior.
rzmsauce writes:
on February 19th, 2009 at 5:07:06 PM

more like Tom Cruise is currently circle jerking, he ruined Valkyrie, please dont let him outside anymore.
BurmaShave writes:
on February 19th, 2009 at 5:40:08 PM

So "Die Hard in a Car" is finally happening, haha.
irvsteroni writes:
on February 19th, 2009 at 9:31:12 PM

Haven't seen these in a while, but I recall Born on the 4th of July and Taps (this is going way back) being pretty good films for Mr.Cruise.
Schwasted writes:
on February 19th, 2009 at 9:45:34 PM

He was good in Magnolia and kind of great in Tropic Thunder.
jake812 writes:
on February 20th, 2009 at 9:39:23 AM

You people dont know squat about films. Tom cruise is a movie icon. You people suck!! giving opinions and stuff about tom cruise. IT is my fault for reading the posts of f*cking people who are eagerly waiting for Transformers 2 and think michael bay is great. You all make me laugh.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved