WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jackie Earle Haley is NOT Freddy Krueger

Posted: February 13th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jackie Earle Haley is NOT Freddy KruegerSubmit Comment
Just yesterday LatinoReview reported that Jackie Earle Haley (Rorschach from "Watchmen") is in talks with Platinum Dunes to star as Freddy Krueger in the upcoming "Nightmare on Elm Street" reboot.

Now, producer Brad Fuller has told STYD that there is no truth to this rumor. "I can absolutely deny [this rumor]," he said. "We have not chosen a Freddy Krueger. We're not even negotiating with anyone yet."

Platinum Dunes announced yesterday that they have signed Samuel Bayer to helm "Nightmare," which is why it comes as no surprise that casting rumors are starting to pop up. It's just too bad that Haley is not currently being considered. He seems like a good choice.

Do you think Haley would make a good Freddy Krueger?

Source: LatinoReview, STYD


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2009 at 2:21:52 AM

I'm not in charge of casting, so why ask me? He's got the look and he can act. More than the actor is the script and how he is directed. Any actor will fail if directed by a sh*tty director and driven by a bad script. So your question bears little merit.
Elvis Van Helsing writes:
on February 13th, 2009 at 2:28:37 AM

Yeah, it's not like that question would start a discussion or inspire anyone to give their opinion or...hang on it did.
MrSammich writes:
on February 13th, 2009 at 3:11:39 AM

I will ignore the fact that this is a stupid question and ask another, less stupid, one... Who the f*ck thought he would be a good choice! He is a tiny unintimidating man, unless of coarse all the teens on Elm Street are scared of the idea of a 5'5" concentraiion camp victim chasing after them. I guess I answered your question too, WP people.
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 13th, 2009 at 4:20:11 AM

i still say don't remake this movie...it's just not right...that's like trying to remake child's play...oh wait they're doing that too aren't they?...and nobody can voice chucky better than brad dourif in my opinion....but what does it matter what i think?...those stupid ass film makers will and love to disappoint and get undeserved money from it...besides....this guy looks just as old as robert englund...so why not just get robert england back?...so pathetic!!!...if i had it my way...i would've just made a sequel for freddy vs jason and trash the idea of remaking the 1st of these movies...someone please go watch friday the 13th and tell me if you thought it was better or worse than the original...here's another odd thought....friday the 13th is being released on friday the 13th, but neither halloween 1 or 2 doesn't get released on halloween
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2009 at 4:44:41 AM

Mr Sammich, I wasn't aware Kreuger's height represented his most formidable and fear inspiring characteristics. I thought his razor sharp finger blades, his ability to enter into a person's dreams and his postmortem immortality inspired the most fear, rather than his inability to qualify for the NBA. Englund is but 5'9", no towering pillar terror he. Haley's height is 5 feet, five.five inches. A difference of a mere measley 3.5 inches? Damn. Hell, give the role to John Malkovich on that logic. John M. is 6 foot 1.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2009 at 4:52:58 AM

"Yeah, it's not like that question would start a discussion or inspire anyone to give their opinion or...hang on it did." lol. Sure, toss a scrap of meat to a starving mass of prisoners and you could get a riot. My point is that the question has little merit to me because *drum roll* whether an actor can fill a role has far more to do with the script and quality of director than raw acting talent. The only way I can say if Haley fits the bill is if they cast him as Freddy, and I watched the finished film. Actors surprise me. I've seen Cage do some good work under a competant director, and then churn out one bad film after another under sub-mediocre directors and poor scripts. I don't think you can really answer the question until you see the man in action. Another case: Ledger as Joker, and all the comments that he couldn't possibly provide a worthy performance topping even ole Jack, but for most of you and millions others, he did just that and more under a good script, a fine director and Ledger's willingness and hard work. So again, I really can't answer the question, and because I can't answer it, it has no real merit, though start a converstation it will. Any news at WP starts a 'converstation'. Good thing too.
OLK writes:
on February 13th, 2009 at 9:08:50 AM

What happened to Billy Bob Thornton, i thought that was a f*ckin awesome cast
mattcl23 writes:
on February 13th, 2009 at 12:25:39 PM

Wow, minkowski you might have something here. You probably weren't serious, but John Malkovich is really making me think here. My opinion, this would work really well.
meanmonkey22 writes:
on February 13th, 2009 at 12:37:12 PM

Billy Bob Thorton is the best f*cking idea ive heard! Come on people! go after him!
thequinch writes:
on February 13th, 2009 at 11:28:03 PM

Robert England is the only Freddy Krueger, ... I seriously don't get the point of re-making this film, the originals are still awesome ... but I'll remain hopeful. Why doesn't someone in the industry use their brains to create a 'new' horror villain, not re-hash the old icons from the 2nd wave of horror.
GambleBDJ writes:
on February 14th, 2009 at 12:31:36 AM

^^THANK U THANK U THANK U THANK U!!!^^ thequinch tht was the smartest thing ever. i mean lets be real they do all these remakes and no one cares to say "lets start a new franchise"
vampires_suck writes:
on February 15th, 2009 at 5:01:42 PM

That;s because they cant come up with any original slasher stories and villains. They have tried many times to create new franchises and they fail miserably coz they try re-create what's come before coz they have no imagination. So instaed of trying to come up with a new twist on the genre they go back to remakes of established franchises coz they know they will at least get a few more bucks out of em then a new killer who sucks.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on February 15th, 2009 at 6:00:46 PM

not a bad choice [if it were true] but again a stupid rumor, they need to go with a no name like in the new F13 film because it would just work better that way with expectations. If they hire anyone known even if by some small amount and they dont meet an "certain expectation" then we will all be pissed about it. So they need to pick someone not known.
brigulon13 writes:
on February 16th, 2009 at 10:07:31 AM

Too short to be menacing.
Kovacs writes:
on September 28th, 2011 at 2:16:33 PM

What's with the hating? f*ck, Jackie's a good actor and a nice guy, and wow, not wanting him to be Freddy because of his HEIGHT? That is pathetic. Plus he has a black belt in kenpo (and taekwondo if I so recall). JS.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved