WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Nightmare on Elm Street" Reboot Hires Director

Posted: February 12th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Nightmare on Elm Street" Reboot Hires DirectorSubmit Comment
THR is reporting that Michael Bay's Platinum Dunes has hired a director for the upcoming "Nightmare on Elm Street" reboot. That director is Samuel Bayer, whose best-known work is in commercials and music videos.

He has previously won best director at MTV's VMAs and is responsible for a host of iconic videos, including Nirvana's "Smells Like Teen Spirit" and Blind Melon's video for "No Rain," featuring the famous girl in a bumblebee costume.

A number of film producers have long wanted to work with Bayer, but Platinum Dunes has not only secured him for "Nightmare," but also for the "Fiasco Heights" thriller.

Unlike other reboots of classic horror franchises, which synthesize plotlines from several films, this one, insiders said, will feature a strong element of the first picture, in which Krueger famously began haunting teenagers' dreams, attacking them violently in their subconscious in ways that resulted in their real-life deaths.

Wesley Strick, who was previously behind such films as "Cape Fear" and "Arachnophobia" was previously announced to write.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nic-hates-joe writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 6:59:41 AM

as long as they find the right Freddy, this movie will be awesome. I for one have faith
vineethchacko writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 10:02:43 AM

Thanks Nic. I am glad people who have faith are still around.
vineethchacko writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 10:03:23 AM

I too have faith, I forgot to add. People get too cynical nowadays.
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 12:43:40 PM

i like robert englund but its a reboot so i wana see some1 new, hopefully this turns out to be a good movie cuz Freddys the sh*t
c-prime writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 12:50:39 PM

Bayer's directed some great music videos (notably his work with The Strokes and Green Day). While I never imagined him tackling this as his feature-film debut, I look forward to seeing what he has to offer the big screen. He certainly won't have complete creative control with this as he would a music video, but this should be entertaining nonetheless.
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 1:21:18 PM

i love how original the first one is...specially when he pops out of the tree and goes 'TINA!' lol...funny nowadays...but back then scared the sh*t out of me
mattcl23 writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 3:25:56 PM

Yeah, couldn't sleep in my bed for a week. Didn't want to get sucked in. haha.
makingcircles writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 3:27:58 PM

This is basically my number one "must see" movie right now that is greenlit.
Planetastudios writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 4:00:12 PM

As long as Robert Englund is in it... RIGHT???
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 4:40:57 PM

Planetastudios...i doubt they'll get robert englund...they're gonna be lame and choose someone else even though it's been less than a decade since he played him in freddy vs jason...he's always played freddy...he was never replaced...he can still play the part..dunno why they're even thinkin of replacing him...to me, that's like worse than worse...if it were me, i wouldn't even remake this movie...cuz i think it would be a disgrace to his memory...as well as wes craven's...but i don't really care...as i've said many times...there's nothing like the originals, and whoever agrees or disagrees...well that's just your opinion
Mighte Migit writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 5:09:36 PM

i think this film will be an awesome film if the right director and the right actors/actresses are found
Planetastudios writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 7:01:22 PM

true synthetic1985. Stick with the originals. its like all the original slasher films are getting remakes. Sooner or later, they will remake friday the 13th,...wait that comes out this fri lolol
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 8:21:54 PM

and not just slasher movies...pretty much any movie...i don't even know where to begin to say how glad i am for the directors who don't make unnecessary films
thequinch writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 11:30:45 PM

I'm not really into remakes unless they're done properly ... and as much as I love the old Friday the 13th films, a remake wasn't the worst thing ever!! Think about The dark Knight ... that was 'technically' a remake or a re-imaging too and I believe it was better than the original Batman, which was still good!! So, I'm hopeful this will be a good remake!!
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 13th, 2009 at 5:18:38 AM

thequinch...very good point...it's just for this movie, i can't see it topping the original, but i guess we'll all have to wait and see in the long run
thequinch writes:
on February 13th, 2009 at 11:21:33 PM

Apparently, Platinum Dunes asked Robert Englund if he wanted to play Freddy in the new film, but he declined stating that if it's going to be a re-imaging, it would be better if they got a fresh face :s So if he isn't in the film, I think it was his choice not to be in it! So, all-in-all this will probably suck, but until I see it, I'll try to remain hopeful.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on February 15th, 2009 at 7:12:54 PM

I think this should be great, they will do this justice. They just need to pick someone good & key for Freddy and make sure Robert Englund has a cameo :) It'll be golden!
gotsghostrider writes:
on February 16th, 2009 at 3:19:28 PM

Robert was not replaced thts the thing the producers contacted him but he didnt want to do it he said freddy is done

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved