WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

The Wachowskis to Reboot Superman Franchise?

Posted: February 11th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
The Wachowskis to Reboot Superman Franchise?Submit Comment
A scooper at AICN has caught an interview with "V For Vendetta" director James McTeigue in Berlin where McTeigue talked about the upcoming Wachowskis (The Matrix) project, which is actually a Superman reboot.

McTeigue said that the Wachowskis were set to direct "Plastic Man" next, but due to a major shake up of projects at Warner Bros, the movie has been put on hold.

At the same time, the studio has decided to reboot the Superman franchise by making a brand new trilogy. The decision has been made not to bring back Bryan Singer (Superman Returns) to direct, but to instead offer the job to the Wachowskis. There is currently no deal in place, so stay tuned.

McTeigue also revealed the big plan for Singer; Warner Bros have approached him to remake "Logan's Run."

Do you think the Wachowskis are a good choice for a new Superman trilogy?

Source: AICN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
frankii writes:
on February 11th, 2009 at 8:25:34 PM

best news i've heard all day
gunfighterii writes:
on February 11th, 2009 at 8:31:01 PM

Agreed ^^^ At least we will be guaranteed some great fight scenes
rzmsauce writes:
on February 11th, 2009 at 8:33:45 PM

f*ck superman, hit me up with some Logans run reboot!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on February 11th, 2009 at 8:37:05 PM

Hopefully we get a first matrix liek film, nicley made, instead of Matrix 2 and 3 which were sh*t hosue....better yet let McTeigue direct,
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on February 11th, 2009 at 8:53:39 PM

lol
PHURBY1984 writes:
on February 11th, 2009 at 8:57:16 PM

I LIKE THIS IDEA TO MAKE A TRILOGY FROM SCRATCH...I PUT THIS ON YESTERDAY'S NEWS...BUT THIS I MY IDEA FOR A NEW SUPERMAN FRANCHISE...

WHAT I PERSONALLY THINK SHOULD HAPPEN WITH THE SUPERMAN SERIERS...MAKE SUPERMAN DARKER, AND MAKE IT MORE ACTION PACK...SOME WHERE ALONG THE WAY IN THE NEW MOVIE THEY SHOULD INTRODUCE KARA, AND MAKE A STORY ON THE REAL REASON WHY SHE WAS SENT TO EARTH TO BEGIN WITH...HAVE HER WANT TO KILL KAL-EL LIKE HER FATHER INTENDED FOR HER TO DO. AND SOMEWHERE ALONG THE WAY SUPERGIRL AND SUPERMAN MEET EACH OTHER...IF THEY COULD GET DOOMSDAY, BRAINIAC OR EVEN ZOD ONE MORE TIME TO PLAY THE VILLANS IT WOULD BE GOOD...AND SUPERMAN AND SUPERGIRL TEAM UP TO TAKE THE VILLANS DOWN...AND I THINK THERE SHOULD BE LEX LUTHORS IN SUPERMAN MOVIES BUT NOT AS A MAIN VILLAN, THEY SHOULD DO WHAT JUST MAKE HIM A GUY THAT HATES SUPEMAN AND THAT SHOULD THE THAT...

THE PERFECT CAST FOR THE MOVIE WOULD BE...
SUPERMAN/ - BRANDON RUTH (FROM SUPERMAN RETURNS) SUPERGIRL/KARA - YVONNE STRAHOVSKI (FROM NBC'S CHUCK)
LOUIS LANE - RACHEL McADAMS (FROM WEDDING CRASHERS)
LEX LUTHOR - KEVIN SPACEY (SUPERMAN RETURNS)
BRIANIAC - CLIVE OWEN (FROM INSIDE MAN)
ZOD - GERARD BUTLER (FROM 300)
DOMSDAY - MICHAEL CLARKE DUNCAN (FROM THE GREEN MILE)

SOME OF MY CASTING IDEA MIGHT BE BAD, BUT I JUST WANT TO SEE TO SEE A ALL-STAR CAST KIND OF HOW THEY HAVE DONE IN BATMAN...IF ANYONE AGRESS WITH ME LET ME KNOW...
Ozker writes:
on February 11th, 2009 at 9:02:02 PM

They better not do none of that speed racer sh*t! We need some BAD ASS fights scenes!!!
mattcl23 writes:
on February 11th, 2009 at 9:02:55 PM

To PHURBY1984, I like your choices, but perhaps a new Lex and I would make Doomsday a CG character. They should definetely keep Routh as Superman. I thought he was perfect for the role.
MrSammich writes:
on February 11th, 2009 at 9:45:08 PM

It can be cool. Just make it dark, not Dark Knight, but not gay like SR.
dAnKoNe23 writes:
on February 11th, 2009 at 9:47:21 PM

Wow, if it weren't for the past 4 decades of film making, the movie industry would be f*cked
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on February 11th, 2009 at 10:02:53 PM

I don''t want to see a techno nightmare like Speed Racer you need alot of drugs for that crap movie.
Adamtheflash writes:
on February 11th, 2009 at 10:19:11 PM

great
meanmonkey22 writes:
on February 11th, 2009 at 10:54:31 PM

They need to use Kevin Smith's script, Superman Lives! It was f*cking amazing!
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on February 11th, 2009 at 11:17:28 PM

i agree wit dankone, thats some true ass sh*t. but i wouldnt mind if they did i would actually like it
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on February 11th, 2009 at 11:23:03 PM

No Doomsday he should be the last villain superman fights because he is the guy who killed him after all. I would go with: Braniac: Something new that's not human for people to see and he has a good reason to know supermans weekness because he's from there planet. Bizarro: Strong as superman but dumb so he'll have a strength challenge but he can't just kill Bizzaro because he's just dumb. Darkside: He's a good planetary threat and he can hold his own against superman. then doomsday unless they make more movies then they could add more villains. Also I like your casting PHURBY1984.
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 12:10:41 AM

yea that casting is on point PHURBY1984, especially the Rachael Mcadams
jjjjjoey writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 12:13:09 AM

Im sick of comic book movies and "reboots"( stupid WP).
Post_Man_87 writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 12:32:47 AM

I guess this could work w/ the Wochowski's. I'm not 100% behind this idea but I could end up loving it...so I'll keep and open mind. PHURBY1984 - The casting is pretty good my friend. But I agree w/ some other ppl who stated no Doomsday and change Lex up. No Spacey. I love the guy, but I'd like to see someone else take on that role. I'd really like to see either Brainiac or Zod as the villain too.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 12:43:26 AM

Also I think they would wast time starting from when he gets to earth. No remakes just continued but leave out anything that happened in Superman Returns like his dumb kid who should have never been an Idea that came to screen at all. Whoever approved of that is an ass.
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 1:34:53 AM

the wachowskis are probably a good choice...but come on...another superman trilogy??...i'm tired of waitin...that'll take almost a decade to do
BlueMobius writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 1:59:38 AM

Hell to the yeah on the Singer Logan's Run reboot...that would be amazing!
minkowski writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 3:35:34 AM

What you people fial to realize is that, contrary to popular opinion, the Wachowski brothers have few ideas. The Matrix is little more than a synthesis of evey idea they 'borrowed' from a variety of sources. In part, the reason the sequels sucked is because they simply had nothing left to offer. The orginal film was a culmination of their idea universe, and that universe was, is, built on ideas they simply stole from so many other better thinkers. The only idea that belongs to them is the humans-as-batteries thing, and that's incredibly stupid as anyone with any physics understanding can tell you. So, considering they appropriated Superman as Neo already, I just don't think they have anything to bring to the films. You see that the Wachowski's are angling for another film, right? They think WB owes them, and WB realizes they made the company some cool cash, so they're still in. Giving them rights to Superman is a bad idea. WB really needs to think about this longer instead of getting too desperate.
minkowski writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 3:36:17 AM

Every film Singer makes is dull and dry. Why anyone would want him to touch action property, I have no idea.
jwinger writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 4:54:28 AM

God damnit. Why? The Wachowskis are the next team to be put in the "Don't know when to stop" file. They torched the matrix by making two sequels. And Speed Racer was cool, but could have been better. But who knows? It may be great.
i3u7n5 writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 8:53:05 AM

Yeah that's a real shame about Plastic Man. Wtf? Seriously??? Plastic-f*cking-Man. Why?
vineethchacko writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 10:37:36 AM

I have nothing against Plastic Man but he cannot carry a story on his own. I remember a brilliant story in the Superman universe that delved in depth into elastic powers - featuring Plastic Man, Elongated Man and Elastic Lad. It featured Superman as well and brilliantly dealt with people with how the powers can be used and abused. That would make a good film, I think.
Johnny Neat writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 11:43:23 AM

If Routh is in it I'll give it a one two look over.
Kal-El writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 1:13:16 PM

turn off your f*ckING CAPS LOCK, Phurby. Douche.
makingcircles writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 3:26:32 PM

My concern would be that they would put too much into it CG wise like they did with Speed Racer. However, I think they are definitley capable but they need a good f*cking script. I like the Miller trilogy idea myself.
dwight writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 4:22:36 PM

Well number one I saw on the news couple years ago that the Wochowskis were being sued by a lady who said they stole her script for the Matrix. Don't know what became of that. As for them directing Superman, yeah it would probably be good but as a sequal. If they reboot it when will we ever see him fight Doomsday. They took to damn long. The formula is so simple and WB can't see it. Film three Superman movies the second should have been ready for this year, third 2012. Then you shoot Doomsday kill Superman in the end. Next movie have Steel ,Superboy, Supergirl ,the robot Superman and all those dudes in a action pack battle out. and last movie Green Hornet brings Big S back to Life. if they reboot it we will never see any of that.
jetdog writes:
on February 12th, 2009 at 6:51:35 PM

HELLZ NO THEY SHOULDN'T DO IT!
MrSammich writes:
on February 13th, 2009 at 3:27:49 AM

meanmonkey22, you are an idiot, I read your comment and then thought to myself that it was worth a look. So I tracked down the script... That was bad, I can honestly say that I prefer the Superman Returns gay storyline to Kevin Smith's. I believe that most would agree with me given the chance to read it. You are a Kevin Smith Fannie.
UraharaShop writes:
on February 14th, 2009 at 6:19:21 PM

Oh great, cause Speed Racer was so awesome. These guys (girl-guy and guy, whatever) are incredibly overrated. The first Matrix was great and V for Vendetta was good but forgettable.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on February 15th, 2009 at 7:26:17 PM

WACHOWSKIS = GOLDEN! DO IT TO IT BOYS!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved