WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

More Details on McG's "Superman Returns" Version

Posted: February 10th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
More Details on McGSubmit Comment
About a month ago, "Terminator Salvation" director McG revealed that he was considered to make "Superman Returns." He went on to say that he would have made it much darker that the Bryan Singer version.

Now, Moviehole had a chance to catch up with the director who elaborated a bit more on what his plans were for the film. Apparently, his movie would have been more action-packed and the JJ Abrams script was essentially an origin story focusing on Krypton and a civil war between Jor-El (Superman's father) and his evil brother Kata-Zor.

Kal-El (Superman) is sent to Earth to live with the Kents, but Kata-Zor tracks him down. He meets a CIA agent (investigating UFO's) named Lex Luthor (rumored to be Johnny Depp) and eventually runs into Lois Lane and her co-worker Clark (Superman).

McG was looking for British actor Henry Cavill ("The Tudors") to take the lead role, but also considered such known actors as Josh Hartnett and Brendan Fraser.

Fraser had the following to say about McG's version: "In my view, and I say this with respect, it's far superior than Bryan Singer's [Superman Returns film]. JJ had a vision that was larger. It spanned galaxies. It was 'Lord of the Rings.' I mean, it was that huge. It was like a Third World War on Earth involving different planets and universes, and brotherhoods - sibling rivalry and the collision of enormous powers. I mean, come on, it wasn't smacking you over the head with a symbolic hammer till you weren't paying attention. That's how good JJ is."

McG told io9 that he is still interested in making his Superman film if he ever gets the chance. "I talk to JJ [Abrams] a lot about that. We went through a lot on that whole thing," he said. "I think it's a great character, I would want to make the character infinitely more dark and complicated, and get away from the Big Blue Boy Scout a little bit and get into the alien among us. And how that could be lonely and interesting. It's not that I would make it depressing, I'd would just make it a little tougher... Which I suspect people would respond to."

So why didn't we get a McG version? Apparently, because he was too afraid to fly. How ironic.

Source: Moviehole


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
James.Speed writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 1:45:15 AM

Hmmm interesting vision. But theres one thing here, Brendan Frazer as Superman? He could pull Clark Kent off, dont get me wrong. But I just couldnt imagine him as the world's greatest savior. Brandon Routh did quite a good job. Now I'm not sure if an origin story is what we needed, with the Smallville TV show being on the air. Where Singer had the right idea, was where he cast an unknown as the lead. Thats the way it should be done. I personally really enjoyed what Singer hgave us. It wasnt quite to the satasfaction of X-Men 1 or 2, but it was good. What I love about the JJ/McG vision was Johnny Depp though. Great great actor, and we can all agree on that.
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 1:56:23 AM

^One thing dude: Singer neither wrote the Superman Returns script nor did the casting, so stop giving him undeserved credit. And yes, Depp is a great actor, and no, Fraser would suck as Superman as he's quite typecast as the goofy action hero, which would clash in a supposedly darker Superman. Another unknown is needed, preferably all around for Luthor, Lois and Supes. Start the f*cking thing over already.
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 1:57:04 AM

i dont wana see Brendan or hartnett play superman. Routh is better then both of em
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 2:03:48 AM

Civil War? Kato-Zor? No thanks. Show the audience Krypton later, the movie is called Superman, not Legend of Krypton. UFO's? Luthor with the CIA? What f*cking comics did McG read? That isn't Superman, not the one I know. fine, make the movie, McG moron, but change the hero to someone else. Make it about Ultraman, because nothing I've heard about your version is Superman. And I don't like Singer, but Fraser, stop sucking McG's d*ck to get a role you ABSOLUTELY do not deserve. You're not going to play Superman, if me and my Barret M82 sniper rifle have to make sure. That's a joke, BTW. Total joke. And why does Abrams have to turn every goddamned movie into an explosion bonanza? He's the (albeit smarter) Bay of scriptwriting.
onthejon writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 2:15:29 AM

tell us how you REALLY feel Mink.. Honestly, I think that script would have been pretty good, at least in its premise. Superman really does need an overhaul. And yeah I agree it might even be better with a different super hero. My thinking would be the Ultimate version of Captain Marvel. Even though he was a one off version he has really stuck with me. Or they could just make a brand new super hero...there's an idea. And personally, I don't think Fraser was sucking McG's d*ck. Brendan is a very intelligent guy, especially for Hollywood.
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 2:26:27 AM

Yeah, I guess it's a coincidence Fraser was exaggerating the scripts quality, especially after he was considered for the role. Just a coincidence. Also, I'm Abraham Lincoln. Hey, Hollywood morons, if you want to write a good Superman script, stop getting hacks and assembly line storytellers to do the work! Hire someone like Jurgens, Stern, Ordway, hell Morrison or Millar would do better. Get 'em to write just the story. Stop hiring a writer just because he's HOT. For god's sake hire Loeb for consultation. Do something RIGHT for once. You f*ck up nearly everything else.
bacci40 writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 3:33:22 AM

fraser is to be taken seriously???? hahahahahahahahahahahahaha....the dude made a kiddy version of voyage to the center of the earth...this guy wouldnt know epic if it sat on his face and took a dump in his retarded mouth....the plot is right out of smallville...the remaking of the luthor myth is awful...and it isnt "dark" its stupid...dark would be superman finally making it with lois and blowing her brains out with a shot of super spuge during the oral sex part
Post_Man_87 writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 5:40:50 AM

This is all well and good after-the-fact. But it was almost 3 yrs ago now!!! Don't comment on it McG. You were scared of flying and therefor couldn't go to Australia to make the movie. Don't BLAHBLAHBLAH about it now. I've been a staunch supporter of your new Terminator film since day 1. So stop bringing up old sh*t. You're done w/ Superman and so are other great film makers. Mark Millar will come along a re-set things right!!!!!!!!!
Post_Man_87 writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 5:49:30 AM

minkowski - ^^ You and I have had our slight differences in the past but I've got to completely agree w/ you here. And you actually know about real comic writers (not just Frank Miller). Kudos my friend. Millar is the way to go here though. He stated he's had a Superman idea burning for ages now. Let the man do it (or at least turn in a draft) Warner Bros!!!!!
i3u7n5 writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 8:38:16 AM

Die.
PHURBY1984 writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 10:06:35 AM

WHAT I PERSONALLY THINK SHOULD HAPPEN WITH THE SUPERMAN SERIERS...IS NOTHING McG IS TALKING...YES BY ALL MEANS MAKE SUPERMAN DARKER, MAKE IT MORE ACTION PACK...BUT WHY THE HELL ARE WE GOING TO GO TO KRYPTON, DIDN'T THAT PLACE BLOW UP WHEN KAL-EL WAS SENT TO EARTH...IF ANYONE FROM KRYPTON IT SHOULD BE KARA, AND MAKE A STORY ON THE REAL REASON WHY SHE WAS SENT TO EARTH TO BEGIN WITH...HAVE HER WANT TO KILL KAL-EL LIKE HER FATHER INTENDED FOR HER TO DO, AND SOMEWHERE ALONG THE WAY BETWEEN SUPERGIRL AND SUPERMAN FIGHTING EACH OTHER, WE GET DOOMSDAY, BRAINIAC OR EVEN ZOD ONE MORE TIME...AND SUPERMAN AND SUPERGIRL TEAM UP TO TAKE THE VILLAN DOWN, AND KARA REALIZES THAT SHE DOESN'T HAVE TO DESTROY KAL-EL...AND I THINK THERE SHOULD BE NO MORE LEX LUTHORS IN SUPERMAN MOVIES FOR A WHILE...THE PERFECT CAST FOR THE MOVIE WOULD BE... SUPERMAN/ - BRANDON RUTH (FROM SUPERMAN RETURNS) SUPERGIRL/KARA - YVONNE STRAHOVSKI (FROM NBC'S CHUCK) LOUIS LANE - RACHEL McADAMS (FROM WEDDING CRASHERS) BRIANIAC - CLIVE OWEN (FROM INSIDE MAN) ZOD - GERARD BUTLER (FROM 300) DOMSDAY - MICHAEL CLARKE DUNCAN (FROM THE GREEN MILE) SOME OF MY CASTING IDEA MIGHT BE BAD, BUTI JUST DON'T WANT TO SEE THE McG IDEA, BECAUSE I DON'T SEE THE POINT OF TAKING SUPERMAN BACK TO KRYPTON, IT WOULD BE POINTLESS...IF ANYONE AGRESS WITH ME LET ME KNOW...
BlueMobius writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 10:33:52 AM

I hate that I'm going to point this out but I'm pretty sure Jor-el's brother is Zor-el, not Kata-zor...never heard of that one. Could be mistaken, though. Regardless, this version of the movies is only so-so and I actually liked the more dramatic film Singer released...just needed about thirty minutes of action to drive it home. Oh, and enough with Lex Luthor...he's a lame villain the way they've done him in the movies. The best version of Lex is in one of the animated films (I forget which) in which they show a scene where Lex discovers the cure of cancer just by thinking (he IS a super-genius, after all) and then charges people for it rather than giving it to the medical community so he can force a profit. THAT'S the kind of stuff they need to show: cold, calculating, and cruel...not insane and comical.
gunfighterii writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 11:54:19 AM

I think having a film based on krypton is a brilliant idea i mean we all know that superman came from krypton that blew up but do we really know what happend? I myself dont read the comics so i have no clue like the millions of other ppl who watch the Superman films so with that in mind its a brilliant idea... Someone mentioned smallville i am a huge fan of smallville and no they dont talk about krypton they mentioned and had Zor-el in one episode but thats it...Every story needs a begining and i think to give the full effect they need to start from the very begining
jsoto127 writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 12:55:47 PM

OKAY LETES GETS THIS STRAIGHT Josh Hartnett and Brendan Fraser? NO THIS FKKN STUPID!! JUST LET ROTH CONTINUE HE DID A FINE JOB AT IT, IT WAS JUST WRITTEN TERRIBLE! AND JOHNNY AD LEX HORRIBLE! THIS DIRECTOR HAS A LOT TO RESEARCHING TO DO!
Kal-El writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 1:40:49 PM

McG's imaginary version, gimme a break. Lex Luthor as a CIA agent doesn't cut the mustard with me, and getting away from Superman as the big, blue boyscout is getting away from the core of the character. "Darker" is the buzz word. My imaginary Superman movie is even darker than McG's -- it's so dark, that most of the time, people in the theaters won't be able to tell what's going on, because it will be soooo dark.
meanmonkey22 writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 2:05:14 PM

I hate almost everything about this idea. Except Cavill being Superman. But Depp as Lex makes me want to puke.
MrSammich writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 2:11:10 PM

That sounds horrible.
mattcl23 writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 2:45:21 PM

Forget the actual villians in the Superman universe. Make a version so far-fetch. Superman battles an evil Super Saiyan who vowes to destroy the planet! Anyone???
mattcl23 writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 2:46:09 PM

I'm really interested to hear what people think.
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 3:13:07 PM

mattcl23...i'll give u my thoughts....i like superman as a comic and the movies done by christopher reeves...i think the reason why a lot of people liked the older ones better is because you simply just can't take someone, as McG said 'BIG BLUE BOY SCOUT,' and make him darker...he was never that way in the comics i don't think...i'll respect the fact that McG's version would definitely be more darker and sinister than Singer's version...but either way that's not what Superman is to me...the thing i love best about the 2nd movie with Reeves is that it wasn't so dorky...there was action, romance, suspense, as well as a good storyline...i like the fact that they want to bring Superman back again...but personally, i don't think it should be touched anymore...unless it means redoing the whole franchise like batman...but that idea has already been screwed up...we have superman returns...where he's much younger looking, yet has a kid...then a prequel?...what's next after that?...in between?...might as well call those 'inquels'....Kal-El lol...sooo dark...that's comedy
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 3:28:34 PM

Brendan Frazer as F&&#@! Superman WTF??? I've seen him in a ton of movies and never once did he make me think he would be a good superman he just doesn't have that "serous hero look" about him. Johnny Depp is a great actor indeed but throwing him in the movie as Lex Luthor not fitting the profile at all being bald,high profile company man looking .....guy "I picture a tall white male cold looking with a strong voice like the animated show" being Lex. So to get to the point it's going to bomb just like the other one because there going back to the start and trying to make it Superman " infinitely more dark and complicated" which is stupid when everyone just wants to see him fight a new enemy that's not DOOMSDAY who should be last because he killed superman! I would rather see a return of ZOD or Brainiac,Bizzaro and many more I don't want to see them go back to the start, who wants to go back to the start when there's so many villains we have yet to see on screen! ..........lol Brendan Fraser you got to be F****** joking....
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 3:29:26 PM

btw...here's another thought...if someone wants to take a character who wears a dorky outfit and try to make him a 'darker' type...then why not make batman the opposite of what he is, and make him look dorky?...i'm sure that's EXACTLY how the creators of these popular characters envisioned it...in fact i'm so sure that i'll bet if the creators were here today reading this sh*t...they'd be like..."ok, there's a thing called 'PASSION' and it's definitely not here"...as for whoever created batman....i'll bet he'd be impressed with the new direction they're going...cuz he'd probably say "FINALLY someone made my work of art into a movie...the RIGHT way!"...i think he would've said the same for the ones michael keaton was involved with as well
Adamtheflash writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 4:40:35 PM

sound pretty bad to me. Hopefully McG doesn't carry any of this stupidity into his terminator movies. Why can't anyone just make a straight up, bad ass action packed Superman movie? We all know the story behind him, which is why versions of it get ripped apart.
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 10th, 2009 at 5:06:28 PM

Adamtheflash...that's because those 'geniuses' at hollywood are running out of ideas....either that or they've had their turn and i say it's ours now....and either way on that...i say it's our turn now...they've had their turn in the spotlight...they need to stop bein so selfish and share it or we'll steal it from them...not that i can do anything about it...but that's just how fed up i am with a lot of people in the movie industry these days...i'm pretty sure ancient civilizations didn't have to hear different versions of the same stupid story over and over

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved