WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

David Fincher Explains Why He Turned Down "Spider-Man"

Posted: February 6th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
David Fincher Explains Why He Turned Down "Spider-Man"Submit Comment
The Guardian had a chance to talk to director David Fincher (Fight Club, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button), who revealed that he was asked to bring the first "Spider-Man" film to the big screen. Sam Raimi eventually brought the comic-book character to life.

"I was asked if I might be interested in the first 'Spider-Man,' and I went in and told them what I might be interested in doing, and they hated it," said Fincher. "No, I'm not interested in doing 'A Superhero.'"

He continued: "The thing I liked about 'Spider-Man' was I liked the idea of a teenager, the notion of this moment in time when you're so vulnerable yet completely invulnerable. But I wasn't interested in the genesis, I just couldn't shoot somebody being bitten by a radioactive spider – just couldn't sleep knowing I'd done that."

I have a feeling if Fincher was to have helmed "Spider-Man," it would have been a much darker film, which may or may not be a good thing.

Do you think Fincher could have done a better job than Raimi?

Source: The Guardian


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rzmsauce writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 6:02:52 AM

will never know
LordLlewellyn80 writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 8:56:20 AM

It would be interesting to see what Fincher would have done. Looking at Fight Club, he would have played on Green Goblin's mental state, had he chosen to use the Green Goblin. That aside though, I can't imagine Fincher doing a superhero film anyway.
bugmenot writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 9:39:15 AM

The immortal words: f*ck you question man, come to mind.
Johnny Neat writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 9:48:23 AM

I agree with LordLlewellyn80 it would not be in his interest do Spiderman type of super heroes.
Snarebeast writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 10:28:35 AM

I could've seen him handling symbiote Spidey well.
gitrmnky7 writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 10:54:05 AM

i'd watch it
n/a writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 11:47:16 AM

Nothing agents Fincher and I haven’t got a chance to see Button, but he wouldn’t do anything about a radioactive spider but a man aging backwards in time is kosher…wow
manichispanic writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 12:00:48 PM

nope. raimi took the spirit of spiderman, and pulled it off.
coldplayesence writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 12:17:35 PM

And f*cked it up ^^
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 12:51:02 PM

Raimi Did good with Spider Man 1 part 2 he messed up when Spider Mans mask came off part 3 was a F(*$@ nightmare Spider Man went emo,venom was a skinny duded and they messed up how he was born,now the Sand Man was the guy who killed his uncle.....FU&@! you Raimi no one wants to see your F(#*! twist or ideas at all on Spider Man you mite as well give him a F^@^! kid now like they did to Superman. You know how Superman feels now that he cant go anywhere and has to watch his kid all day? lol
Adam Kennedy writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 1:20:48 PM

what people dont seem to understand is that Raimi did not have 100% creative control over the project. If you researched it, you would realize that the producers and studio heads pressured him into changing the atrocity that was spiderman 3. While we can all argue about how terrible spiderman 3 was and the what ifs of david fincher, I just feel it is paramount not to place all the blame on Raimi. Raimi explained that he did not want venom in the 3, but due to pressure to please the fans the producers and the studio forced him to include the character, and as a result you have a film that does no justice to the mythos of the characters. As far as Fincher is concerned, I dont understand why he would not be able sleep at night having shot a radioactive spider bite, but he still sleeps well having shot a man aging in reverse? I think someone should keep their ego in check before insulting a medium.
meanmonkey22 writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 2:36:16 PM

Fincher f*cking rocks.
thomas deadison writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 3:24:18 PM

Adam, it's no excuse. Raimi wrote Spiderman 3 with his brother. Being forced to use Venom was the least of its flaws.
TGDirector writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 4:05:03 PM

He's really not the type of person who does projects like this out of ordinary of his current projects. I mean, if you think about it: ALL his movies have realistic boundries. Yes, even Benjamin Button. The real point is that Spider-Man would be really pushing it since there's a guy who can shoot webs and has superhuman strength. But that's not what David F. is concerned with, it's not entirely important to him. What's important to him is the character and his emotions. How he reacts as a teenager going into adulthood so fast BECAUSE of Spider-Man's responsibilities. Honesttly, I'd LOVE for David F. do this project. I'd trust him in a heartbeat with it. He has a wild imagination, so it can fit if he pushes his imagination a little more. Yeah, it would be really dark. I think that's the right way to go because to me...Spider-Man shows a shakespearean type story.
Post_Man_87 writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 4:52:40 PM

Fincher is one of my favorite directors but if he were to take on any Superhero I think he'd pull off something like Batman a little better. But if I had my wish I'd love to see Fincher do either Preacher or The Walking Dead. A Fincher zombie flick would be f*cking choice!!!
bugmenot writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 6:27:22 PM

Give him Daredevil. I promise you, if Fox or Marvel were as desperate as they make themselves out to be to reboot it, he would do it justice and probably make the best comic book adaptation yet.
And to the people who are basically saying Fincher sucks c*ck basically, because he sounds like a hypocrite to your lowly minds, you're not thinking about the context of what he's saying enough. The producers would have meddled with his work too much, and he wouldn't have gotten to actually focus on what he wanted, and the story would have been just that: a radioactive spiderbite.
But you fools keep on believing what you want to believe. Benjamin Button's "age progression" wasn't as much a hook as it was a plot device to give the film a better message. To most comic book fans, the only message they understand is the one that Stan Lee directly spells out for them. So of course, it might not have gone right.
Kid_A writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 7:35:09 PM

If Fincher were to direct the first installment, Spider-Man would be more realistic, hard, strong, and powerful than Sam Raimi has drawn with the three movies. I'm saying this considering "Fight Club" and "TCCoBB". A superhero that was bitten by a spider in his pre-hero life and becomes a hero, has great powers and so... Not as realistic as Fincher would want.
aymanut writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 8:16:58 PM

I wish...
Adamtheflash writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 9:46:31 PM

who gives a sh*t question guy?
Sinestro writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 11:15:40 PM

He is a very talented film-maker, but he comes off as a pretty condescending bastard saying crap like "I couldn't sleep knowing I'd done that." I'm not the biggest Spider-man fan in the world, but the mythology of the character is important to a lot of people. In fact, it's more important than anything he has ever done, and I dare say will ever do. It's not your thing, that's cool, but don't sh*t on it, hoss. And as far as Raimi goes, it's hit and miss at best. I was one of the people who thought Raimi's Spider-man looked like Parker, he just wasn't Parker.
Post_Man_87 writes:
on February 7th, 2009 at 2:36:00 PM

I love how a ton of ppl are sh*tting on the Raimi version of Spiderman, NOW!!! Hell, 2-3 yrs ago everyone was ready to bow at his feet. Granted the 3rd flick did suck donkey-ass.....the frist two are still great superhero films.
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 7th, 2009 at 3:50:41 PM

maybe...maybe not...the only thing i'm worried about is if the producers or writers will make movies the way they should be...not by their own vision of it...especially when you're taking somebody else's work
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on February 8th, 2009 at 12:17:57 PM

why do they come back and say sh*t like this after 3 films have been made? why the hell do we care?
vampires_suck writes:
on February 8th, 2009 at 7:07:27 PM

Actually Thomas, Adam is right, it's all over the place, even in the book the spoder-man chronicles. Yes, Sam wrote 'A' screenplay with Ivan, then the studio brought in Alvin Sargent to slot in all the crap they wanted. If you actually read the stuff Raimi has said about 3, his take was going to be very different. And yes, no Venom. As soon as they added Venom the whole dynamic of the film changed to accomodate him. And seriously, i can think of a hell of a lot of films that are worse than spidey 3. Ppl really need to get ova this sh*t.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved