WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Why Did Van Damme Turn Down Stallone's "The Expendables"?

Posted: February 5th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Why Did Van Damme Turn Down StalloneSubmit Comment
Sylvester Stallone is currently trying to gather a bunch of tough-guys for his upcoming "The Expendables" film. He already has himself, Jason Statham, Jet Li, Dolph Lundgren and Mickey Rourke, but Sly also wanted to get Jean-Claude Van Damme onboard.

When Van Damme was approached about a role in the film, he ended up turning it down, forcing Stallone to go with Lundgren instead. But why would Van Damme turn down a chance to be in a big action film?

"Stallone gave me a part in his next movie," Van Damme told TotalFilm. "But I ask him about the subject, about the story. He said, 'You're gonna make lots of money.' I don't want to hear that, I want to hear what was my character. He was unable to tell what it's going to be."

He continued: "[Stallone said:] 'You know, uh, well, the fighting will be good.' [So I said:] 'Sly, what is my character?' So I didn't do the movie."

Source: TotalFilm


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
polardeficit writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 5:32:25 PM

thank god some people still arent sell outs
MMJoe writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 5:40:25 PM

That is a pretty good reason not to say Yes. Good job Van Damme. But still why an abusive karate kicking father figure for "Kickboxer 2"?
bacci40 writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 5:46:00 PM

oh ya...van damme really cares about the characters he plays...he was probably given a bunch of lines and the f*cktard realized that he would actually have to act
dlrippr writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 6:55:21 PM

As much as what Van Damme is saying sounds good, what kind of roles has he played in the past to support his motive? Universal Soldier, that amazing film with Rodman, seriously? He is an actor, and last I looked he isnt spending any time on the screen at my local movie theatre. So maybe he should take the check and just play the tough guy roll. Statham, Li, Rourke : decent enough actors to make a decent movie out of this. Stallone, Lundgren, they will make this movie lame.
manichispanic writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 7:07:59 PM

i guess "legionaire" pays the bills!
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 7:25:21 PM

What a ball sack he just wanted the movie to be about him.
jake812 writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 7:30:44 PM

ive seen it all now, van damme thinks he now is f*cking laurence olivier? asking about the character bullsh*t. did i die and went to hell? i mean, with minkowski around and now this... this must be f*cking hell.
Sinestro writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 7:42:04 PM

For a guy who plays Jean Claude Van-Damme in every f*cking movie he ever made he sure is picky.
LordLlewellyn80 writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 8:25:33 PM

'You're gonna make lots of money.' Does Van Dumb know what money is? Stallone probably confused him when he told him he could make lots of money from this film. Not used to it is he.
MrSammich writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 8:25:37 PM

Stallone was probably going to write the character around whoever was cast to best help the movie. I bet the overall film would have been cooler with JCVD, but I also loved the old Dolph films, so I will be pleased either way. But f*ck that would have been cool to see him an Jet Li mix it up.
AP102390 writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 11:22:22 PM

after JCVD the guy figures he can do something better then the no-line tough guys he normally plays. good for him... a little late, but still good for him.
minkowski writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 12:56:53 AM

"i mean, with minkowski around and now this" Take ny name out of your mouth. Putting things in your mouth that belong to other people might work around your house, but not around mine.
bugmenot writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 1:09:10 AM

@bacci40: JCVD?
Honestly, this film seems like sh*t all around. So I don't know why people are criticizing him for giving up a major role if it's only supposed to be a shoot-em-up "tough guys" piece of sh*t.
minkowski writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 1:15:26 AM

Van damme he's full of himself! He makes one movie that receives acclaim, a film about how much he sucks as an actor, and he starts believing his own hype. "What's my character?"? lol. Your character is a middle age kickboxing sh*tty actor with more bad films than a fifty year old porn star. It's a little late in your career to start kidding you can act, or have any talent to put into a character. He might regret not making the film when JCVD 2 dies a horrible death and he's left making nothing but more sh*tty martial arts movies, like Replicant 2 and Universal Soldier: TNG.
Johnny Neat writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 9:59:15 AM

J.C.V.D. is in the middle of a career renaissance and I don't blame him. Would have been cool but I understand what he is trying to do.
Adam Kennedy writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 1:10:18 PM

I can not help but feel contempt for those who would cast stones at an actor before giving him a chance. True, I will agree Van Damme's previous body of work consists primarily of mindless action blockbusters and B movies, but that does not give anyone the right to judge an actors depth until viewing his latest attempt at a redefinition of his craft. While Van Damme has made many bad career choices in the past, struggled with addiction, and has been apart of a myriad of films that typecast him as the action hero with a french accent (despite being from Belgium), I believe he deserves a chance before the masses turn their heads away. While his ego may surpass far than his stardom allows, I am interested to view his new approach to acting, for better or worse.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 1:27:19 PM

He's stupid so he turns this down because all there mite be is fighting but he'll go back to Bloodsport and Universal Soldier which had a bunch of fighting? BULL!
mattcl23 writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 1:59:22 PM

Idiot! Stallone makes great action movies that attract fans. What was the last movie Van Damme had in wide theatrical release? Anyone? seriously b/c I don't know. I'm sort of glad his not in the film.
gunfighterii writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 3:28:06 PM

Why is everyone atacking van damme? hes a legend
minkowski writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 10:12:06 PM

...in his own mind.
Gunslinger writes:
on February 8th, 2009 at 6:48:50 PM

I'm still a fan.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved