WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Darren Aronofsky Backs Christian Bale's Rant

Posted: February 5th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Darren Aronofsky Backs Christian BaleSubmit Comment
I'm not sure if this is how Darren Aronofsky (The Wrestler) treats his own crew, but the director is now backing Christian Bale's four-minute rant targeted at a director of photography, who apparently walked into a shot while filming. [listen to Bale's rant]

"I think [Bale] was right. I don't think he was out of line," said Aronofsky, even though Bale's yelling included threats, insults and the use of the F-word 35 times (that's 1 F-word every 7 seconds).

"It is a sacred time between action and cut. If it was the first time it was excusable, but a second time that ruins it," Aronofsky continued. "Sets are very, very high-powered places where things go awry all the time and emotions are high. People are out there working really hard and exposing themselves, especially actors, and they need to be protected."

"Although it's never good to lose your temper that bad for obvious reasons, we don't know what scene he was doing. He could have been doing a deeply, deeply intense emotional scene."

Do you agree with Aronofsky's comments?

Source: BBC


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 5:18:40 PM

I agree totally...they are taken completely out of the context of the situation. It is really over blown
MMJoe writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 5:36:05 PM

It's a f*cking Terminator movie how deeply emotional can the scene be.
Metafact writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 5:42:14 PM

Maybe a certain director doesn't want to burn any bridges with a certain movie star?
BondMcClane007 writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 5:46:16 PM

hey sh*t gets tense thats how it is on the set of n e movie.. your saying the same thing seven thousand times ur getting criticized and who knows wat else... that stuff isnt ez.. and last i checked.. this is suppose to b a more serious terminator movie..
onthejon writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 5:47:47 PM

I think people are missing the point here. Is it okay to be mad? Yes. Is it okay to be upset? Yes. Is it okay to be pissed off? YES. No one is condemning Bale for being mad at this guy. It is HOW he verbalized his anger that is wrong. Christian Bale was very derogatory with the guy and that is what was out of line.
bacci40 writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 5:48:20 PM

oh please...bale shouldve been screaming at the asst director, for not shutting down the set...dp's dont just walk into scenes if they know the camera is rolling...and there still was no call for the outburst...most scenes have multiple takes anyway...sh*t happens...enough of kissing bales ass
an1mal12 writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 6:05:48 PM

GEEZ! does everyone forget that this is A MOVIE--nothing else--no one died--no one got hurt--no one did anything but maybe ruin a couple feet of film!!! Bale sucks for thinking he is that important! C'mon people of the real world! What has bale done except live in fantasy and get paid to do so. He certainly hasn't landed a plane in the Hudson and saved hundreds of lives, or run into a burning building to save countless lives, or done anything productive in THE REAL WORLD!!!!!!!! He is role playing with toy robots!!! Am i the only one who thinks Christian "don't walk into my light" Bale is a lowlife of a human being for verbaly abusing someone like that??
shadaypr writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 6:19:01 PM

It's very understandable, just not excusable. I don't think it's a big deal either. One guy messed up and then another responded disproportionately, messing up in a different way. Not ok, but no biggy, I guess.
aymanut writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 6:19:57 PM

they just don't want people to realize the guys a jerk
jando88 writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 6:27:54 PM

wheres minkowskis say in this? Peace, Alex
dlrippr writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 6:34:57 PM

Bale is an amazing actor, one of todays best. But unfortunately it appears his fame has gotten to his head. He had every right to be pissed off at the DP, but he over reacted. When he threatened to walk off the set, that was his way of reminding everyone how important he was. The DP made a big mistake, Bale over reacted. Its all hollywood. I still really enjoy Bale as an actor, who cares what he is like as a person, I dont want to be friends with the guy. I was already looking forward to Terminator, but if the acting is this intense, maybe it will be a really kick ass movie.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 7:29:40 PM

I think he took it to far but the guy also messed up the sean twice.
jake812 writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 7:33:13 PM

Christian Bale lost my respect. f*cking brit brat. hahaha get it? brit brat hahaha. i rule!!
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 8:21:07 PM

haha....we all basically just repeated ourselves about the last terminator article lol
Adamtheflash writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 8:27:26 PM

Blah blah blah blah blah! How many times again are we gonna beat this subject up? Are you whiners all going to boycott Bale's movies now? Does Bale being an *sshole change the fact that everyone here is still going to see Terminator or the next Batman? Seriously, who gives a sh*t that he yelled at the guy? And it's also that assistant director's fault for not defending himself. He just curled up into a little ball and let Bale f*ck him up the ass. Any guy with a pair of balls would've told Bale off. This subject is so overblown, I could vomit.
MrSammich writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 8:29:14 PM

But people that talk to one another like that in the real world get their ass kicked so it is ok then. But the prices' and princess' of Hollywood are excused? Well not if I was there.
kgoding writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 10:16:51 PM

First of all lol@ MMJoe, I was kinda thinking the same thing, Im sure any Balehead here has heard how respectful and what a gentlemen on the set that Christian Bale is, and its not hard to believe. But sh*t happens just how things go. If Bale talked to the DP once about ruining a shot that is costing money and precious time, then the second time the DP f*cks up someone is going to obviously yell at him, in the case it was Christian Bale. Was Bales outburts of threat and curse a little much? Yes, thats obvious. But like every other human being on a bad day, he was working hungry and most likely stressed. I mean just look at all the work this guy has done recently. He got mad, thee end. Dont hold it against the guy.
steamluv writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 11:50:50 PM

If minkowski posts a comment about this I will f*cking shoot myself
minkowski writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 12:21:48 AM

^Get the gun warmed, *sshole.
minkowski writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 12:27:29 AM

I don't have much to say. It was obvfiously wrong for Bale to explode like that. If screwing up a shot gets him into a near-murderous rage, what is Bale really capable of under even more stress? Would he totally kill somebody for, say, f*cking up two scenes? Would you guys then still say "oh, it's Bale, that's cool"? What if it was YOU that got trashed because you made a human error? Ever hear of empathy? Put your self in the place of the DP. Sure, you'd criticize your own mistake, but would you take Bale's drumming with such casual disregard? What if he said this to your wife, your son, one of your parents? What sort of person does that make you? It's all about character. Bale has little. And if we, people I mean, can't find common ground to criticize this kind of behavior, I think we've slid even farther into decline and decadence.
minkowski writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 12:34:26 AM

And I've lost some respect for Arnovsky. I thought this guy, judging by his films, was an evolved human being, someone you might want to emulate, a man with a unique and enlightened brain. I can now see he's either a Bale asskisser, or just a pretentious ass. Probably both. f*ck em. And why have I never heard of such bad behavior from Eastwood and others? Bale works harder than Eastwood? Than say, Schwarzeneggar at the height of his damand? No, I never heard such things, because neither of those guys are whining, sniveling p*ssy man-cowards that trash a guy for a mistake. I wonder if Bale would've pulled that sh*t on some guy from Attica prison on work furlough. Don't think so. I can admire Eastwood's and Arnold's roles because I like tough, no-nonsense action stars, but Bale's a manchild in need of a f*cking bottle. I'll give my respect to someone else.
coldplayesence writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 12:56:53 AM

lol minkowski. STFU.
minkowski writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 12:59:15 AM

Make me, p*ssy.
minkowski writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 1:00:15 AM

'he was working hungry and most likely stressed." He should've had a Snicker's instead.
GambleBDJ writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 1:29:31 AM

f*ck tht the man is working and his job entitles him to take himself out of the real world. (for however long the scenes are)Then comes some *sshole breaking your concentration. i would have clapped him a couple times.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 1:52:14 AM

I agree with Jackwas7dlife
Johnny Neat writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 9:54:40 AM

Yeah I agree, Jesus. Plus this is is getting old.
James.Speed writes:
on February 6th, 2009 at 11:16:41 PM

To MMjoe, Bale said he was doing a scene with Bryce Dallas Howard, the love interest of the film, so for all we know, it could have been very a emotional scene. Even so, Aronofsky is right. When you are playing a scene, you are focused, in a different world, and in the skin of a completly different character/person. While Ill wouldnt have yelled for 4 minuets, I defend Bale's actions as an actor myself, for I understand his situatiuon at the time of the 'outburst'.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on February 8th, 2009 at 12:06:11 PM

people never let sh*t go or just sit and have a good laught about it

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved