WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Photos: Pinhead Designs for "Hellraiser" Remake

Posted: February 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Photos: Pinhead Designs for "Hellraiser" RemakeSubmit Comment
Last year, "Hellraiser" FX artist Gary J Tunnicliffe found out about the planned remake and even though he was not asked to participate in the new film, he took it upon himself to redesign the iconic Pinhead character.

He knew that the producers wanted a very "different" look for Pinhead and while he respects the original look, he decided to push forward with his own version before someone else does. After creating some test photos, he sent them to Fangoria in hopes that the studio will take notice. Click on the image below to see several photos.

Here is what Tunnicliffe had to say about his design: "My design idea was to create something that still felt like Pinhead but that stepped away from the "order" of the original design, something that was more painful, more chaotic. Several times over the years, Clive has approached me on various 'Hellraiser' sets and commented that the makeup looked very "clean" and that it had lost some of "the decay, the filth." I decided to amp up the dirtiness of Pinhead's visage, make it more self-inflicted, bloodier and more brutal."

He continued: "I still wanted to use pins, and so I set about creating new versions: square-shafted pins/nails with square heads, very rusted and almost handmade, like miniature railroad spikes. Then I roughed out the sculpt on a bust of Mike Regan (one of my crew), basically a layer of clay all over with a crisscross of intersecting gashes that were deep. Very deep."

Do you like this new look for Pinhead?

Pinhead Design: (click to enlarge)


Click here to read more about "Hellraiser."

Source: Fangoria


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on February 4th, 2009 at 6:42:29 AM

I've got a fantastic idea for the remake: don't make the damned film. Enough remakes already! And the dude should hang some xmas ornaments from those nails.
onthejon writes:
on February 4th, 2009 at 8:45:44 AM

This is overkill. Visually there is just too much going on with his head. In the words of Mitch Hedberg, he has a lot of cranium accessories. But seriously, there is SO much going on that I don't even find the guy to be scary, in fact I think I would sit next to him at church. I guess the thing about the original was that it was just so simplistic that is was creepy. This guy just looks like he failed one of Jigsaw's tests.
doneehoward writes:
on February 4th, 2009 at 8:56:41 AM

there wasn't anything wrong with how pinhead looked.
i3u7n5 writes:
on February 4th, 2009 at 9:00:38 AM

I think it looks cool aside fro mthe fact it's completely unnecessary to remake the film.
Arlo11 writes:
on February 4th, 2009 at 9:54:36 AM

I cant help but agree with everyone when they say that theres no need for a remake, on the other hand, as a HUGE hellraiser fan, id love to see another movie in the series. as for this new look, its waaaaaay too much, pinhead was creepy cause he was emotionless, clean, stoic. I'd be waiting for this guy to drop a one-liner in a Freddy Krueger fashion :P
OheRRo29 writes:
on February 4th, 2009 at 10:16:12 AM

first off this movie sucked d*ck the original was the worst movie besides open water and disaster movie second enough with the remakes freddy and jason are enouhg we dont need this clown now too and third he looks exactly the same nothing has changed
MrSammich writes:
on February 4th, 2009 at 10:54:59 AM

Dang! They upgraded to the ten penny nails! Ouch!
MrSammich writes:
on February 4th, 2009 at 11:23:18 AM

To all the people that keep complaining about sequils and remakes: Just don't watch them. When they remade The Manchurian Candidate, I didn't watch it, or when they remade The Fog, guess what I did? That is right, I didn't watch it. I didn't go onto movie sights and bitch about it for eight months then go watch it and then come back and says "You see I told you it would suck.". You also need to remember that there have been some great remakes, John Carpenter's The Thing, remake. The Ring, a remake, The Departed, an oscar winning remake... wow. Heat, Scareface, Ocean's Eleven, The Bourne Identity, Christopher Nolan's Insomnia, The Fly Starring Jeff Goldblum, Cape Fear, The Magnificent Seven... ALL REMAKES GUYS! Just pretend they are like regular movies, watch the commercials, read the news decide if you want to see it! And if you don't, do as I do, pretend they never existed... jeesh... bunch of freaks.
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on February 4th, 2009 at 11:34:11 AM

agree wit Arlo11
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 4th, 2009 at 11:34:16 AM

i agree with most...pinhead doesn't look that much different...just looks like a bunch of uneven pins designed to look like it's high maitenance...for all the other good remakes and good movies that are probably in line to be remade, i can only hope they'll remain untouched
Kal-El writes:
on February 4th, 2009 at 12:49:07 PM

sweet design.
PencilNinja writes:
on February 4th, 2009 at 6:55:43 PM

Amen brother MrSammich!!
ubermonkey writes:
on February 4th, 2009 at 7:20:33 PM

The "order" of the original Pinhead was what made him scary in my opinion. His team, or whatever they were, were mutilated, bloody, etc. But there was Pinhead as the leader clearly different from the rest. That's what made him so scary and special. This new design just looks like some random psycho took a knife to his face and hammered some nails in his head.
BlueMobius writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 1:01:47 AM

How about they actually read the original novella and realize that "Pinhead" (he's never named in the novella) isn't even the leader. The leader is the female Cenobite which is important considering the original was about hidden desire and domination. There was only one female Cenobite leading a trio of males around. I love the originals but if you're going to do a remake, do something different. Effing copycats!
minkowski writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 6:32:41 AM

Dunno about the rest, Mr. Sammich, but the Cape Fear remake was awful. You also fail to note that most of the film's you listed are either remakes of foreign films, thus placing the original outside a proper Western context, or the originals are very old, thus placing them outside a proper temporal context. In other words, there's no need for a remake of a film that's a little over two decades old, and had a sequel as late as 2005. I couldn't care less anyway. I never like Hellraiser. It just kills me how quickly Hollywood has exhausted any and all ideas.
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 1:37:45 PM

that's why there's room for new talent...to better hollywood's current situation...we'll just have to kinda wait for it
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on February 5th, 2009 at 7:51:08 PM

It will always be a thin line on what movies should be remade like the Karate Kid,Night Of The Demons,The Last Dragon and The Thing. Some should never be touched like "The Karate Kid" it's going to turn out bad no matter how much big Will puts into it.
Deadlegend writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 6:39:13 PM

"Hellraiser" Remake
Deadlegend writes:
on March 12th, 2009 at 7:00:24 PM

Batman with Michael Keaton and old jackie boy as the Joker, Stole the Show never would a better batman remake be made..Like..ever...NO!!!!Totally. Wrong very short turn around and BLAM!!! WHAM!! its darker,crisper,way longer and hands up who wants to own that car...Then Heath Ledger comes along and who's "Jack" Nicholson again? Look Love it or hate it remakes happen, watch them dont watch them, if you do have an open mind, see them as a brand new movie not a remake. If it was re-made exactly the same as the old one with new actors and better cgi how bloody dissapointing would that be. If your a fan of the original as I am then look forward to the potential the new one has to offer. If your not a fan of the old one then maybe the new one will make a fan out of you. Dawn of the dead remake...Bugger that Zombies run at you, and are really strong, worked for me, gave me the skids and although highly entertaining in parts not so hot in others but i still like both as individual movies. Come on peeps its entertainment not religion. WOOOOOOOOOOHHHHHH bring Hellraiser the second coming ON!!!!!!!!!!!!! P,S new pictures need a little work peeps

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved