WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Zack Snyder on "Watchmen" Sequel

Posted: February 3rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Zack Snyder on "Watchmen" SequelSubmit Comment
NY Times spoke to director Zack Snyder, who spoke about the ending of "Watchmen" and whether he would consider being involved in a potential sequel.

Snyder first revealed that nobody at Warner Bros has approached him about a sequel, but "they own the rights. If they wanted to go and hire some guy to make them a sequel to 'Watchmen,' I don't know that they would get any of those actors to do it, and I know that I wouldn't have anything to do with it. But they own it. They can do whatever they want."

He added that if he were to make a sequel to "Watchmen," it would go something like this: "I was going to make a thing called Planet Rorschach. So you see this planet, and it's covered with New York City. It's like a planet of New York City. There's no suburbs. There's one giant Empire State Building, like Mount Olympus, in the middle of it. And hovering above the needle is Manhattan, blue, glowing. But the planet's going, "Hurm, hurm, hurm, hurm, hurm, hurm." You can't tell, it's this big, deafening "Hurm." And as you get close, you go down into the city and the whole world is populated with Rorschachs. And they're all bumping into each other, going, "Hurm, hurm, no compromise, hurm, hurm, Armageddon." That's basically it."

Regarding the ending of "Watchmen"... Everyone knows that the giant squid has been removed, but what was the reason for that?

"I think it keeps the movie on point a little more than it would if we had the squid," he explained. "I like the squid in the graphic novel. Everyone thinks I hate the squid and I don't get 'Watchmen.' If you really talk about, What is the end of 'Watchmen'? It's the exact same ending that there is in the book. I think for me, the squid just represents a 30-minute right turn that, in order for it to make any sense at all, you would have to take. What I was concerned with, if I took that 30-minute left turn to explain the squid, you'd be talking about taking 30 minutes of other stuff out of the movie. And right now, I'm on the edge with just how much Rorschach I have, and how much Nite Owl, and how much Dr. Manhattan, just as far as their character stuff. I wouldn't want to lose a minute of that stuff."

Click here to read our exclusive "Watchmen" preview.

Source: NY Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SpaceGhost89 writes:
on February 3rd, 2009 at 6:41:17 PM

hang on. i heard the squid was in
bacci40 writes:
on February 3rd, 2009 at 8:07:19 PM

that wasnt his idea for a sequel...it was for a bazooka gum insert...and of course it is a joke, to show the absurdity of making a sequel in the first place...and i still dont get the whole "30 minutes" to tell the back story of the island...most could be shown in tv newscasts and newpaper headlines and the whole "comedian confesses to moloch scene"...the only real scene you need is the 5 minute freighter blowing up the island scene...why is zack still including tales of the black freighter in the dvd? it mirrors veidt's plot...might as well leave it out if the backstory has been removed....how does the comedian come upon the plot? how is veidt the most brilliant man in the world, when all he has done is create a simple doublecross plot? in the book, every aspect of veidts companies have been created for the ultimate goal "we can save the world"...no one catches on, until the comedian stumbles in on it...now that is pure genius...this plot is out of a bad bond movie
WV-Films writes:
on February 3rd, 2009 at 8:12:54 PM

I hope they don't use the squid. True to the comic or not, Snyders right. The Squid is way out of place and really random. It almost killed the comic for me.
c-prime writes:
on February 3rd, 2009 at 8:36:09 PM

Thank you for pointing out the sarcasm of that "Planet Rorshach" idea, bacci40. I was beginning to think he had been brainwashed by M. Night Shyamalan and was seriously gonna pursue that. As for the ending, I just hope they find a reasonable alternative to the giant exploding squid conclusion. Shouldn't be hard, seeing as how outlandishly exotic (yet acceptable) the novel's ending is.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on February 3rd, 2009 at 9:05:53 PM

I know he was totally joking about a sequel such as that, that made no sense. Zack Snyder you sill fool you, pulling are leg like that. Honestly though, they need no sequel there isnt a 2nd book and therefor needs to be no sequel.
takai writes:
on February 4th, 2009 at 3:31:29 AM

as far as the sequel goes, like space ghost11 said : there's no need for one. the message it portrays is displayed in full, finish to end. as far as the ending, the squid's not in it. i've read the script, it's not there. but the ending is still as meaningful and powerful.
i3u7n5 writes:
on February 4th, 2009 at 9:09:11 AM

Bullsh*t, I bet the squid being removed is a ruse...
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 4th, 2009 at 11:58:33 AM

Hi...I'm playing the part of the squid and I can tell you first hand...My part in the movie ain't being cut...it's in my contract...and on the day of filming, I yell at a crew member and threated to quit the movie...
Kal-El writes:
on February 4th, 2009 at 12:51:14 PM

THIS GIANT SQUID WILL DESTROY US ALL!
jrryr8 writes:
on February 4th, 2009 at 2:53:30 PM

A squid eating dough in a polyethelin bag is fast and bulbous, got me?
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on February 8th, 2009 at 7:02:00 PM

haha i got more respect for this man now

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved