WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Blair Witch Project" Reboot on the Way?

Posted: February 1st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Blair Witch Project" Reboot on the Way?Submit Comment
"Blair Witch Project" co-director Daniel Myrick spoke to RottenTomatoes about resurrecting the "Blair Witch" franchise and some of the ideas he and other co-director Eduardo Sanchez have.

"It seems like films that already have a brand and an established lineage like Blair Witch are the kind of films getting made (Halloween, Friday the 13th, Nightmare on Elm Street), so we're hoping we can get it resurrected somehow," said Myrick.

He continued: "Ed and I have a prequel idea and a couple of sequel ideas and we're in the process now of revisiting a prequel idea that we would like to do in the hopes we can get Lionsgate on board with the ten year anniversary raising awareness again."

Myrick also spoke about the direction he is thinking of taking the reboot. "Some of the ideas we have are more traditional narrative ideas that play with the mythology we've created around Blair Witch and what we really don't want to do is betray that mythology," he said. "We don't want to come up with some gimmicky way to shoot a sequel that's reminiscent of the first film -- because shooting like that is a gimmick -- and for it to come across as contrived. That doesn't mean that there aren't other innovative ways to play with style and process, but I think Ed and I are most concerned with honoring the mythology."

Source: RottenTomatoes


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on February 1st, 2009 at 5:38:49 PM

maybe they could put the witch in this time!
MrSammich writes:
on February 1st, 2009 at 5:55:29 PM

And we can watch the annoying kids get offed! Time to pull some teeth!
Vetterli writes:
on February 1st, 2009 at 7:19:42 PM

Dear God no! The original was awesome (can't say the same about the sequel though) so just leave it at that.
meanmonkey22 writes:
on February 1st, 2009 at 8:31:17 PM

This reboot idea should be put in a shoe box, burried so far beneath the earths crust that the heat from the core incinerates it, and never thought of again.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on February 1st, 2009 at 8:58:12 PM

why?
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on February 1st, 2009 at 11:44:07 PM

xxx...your annoying as f*ck
Osiris3657 writes:
on February 2nd, 2009 at 12:39:29 AM

I really liked the first one, and since the directors had nothing to do with the 2001 sequel, I'd be interested to see what they can come up with.
Sev writes:
on February 2nd, 2009 at 6:27:10 AM

"maybe they could put the witch in this time!" The fact you didn't see her made it scarier. If you don't see it, it leaves you wondering if it is even the Blair Witch. See Darkness Falls on why its not a good idea to show this kinda stuff ;)
mattcl23 writes:
on February 2nd, 2009 at 1:59:28 PM

The only thing that made the first movie good was that it was doc*mentary style and all the rumors floating around the film that it was real events and some of the actual footage. Save your money.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on February 3rd, 2009 at 8:25:54 PM

If its the original producer & director then okay because it might be decent enough to make into a sequel or prequel but it needs to make sense. I loved the original, so only if it can be well done into something as scary. You cant pull the sequel into consideration because it wasnt the original diectors, they didnt have anything to do with it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved