WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"World War Z" Concept Art

Posted: January 29th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"World War Z" Concept ArtSubmit Comment
io9 got their hands on some "World War Z" concept art by production designer Daniel LuVisi in order to join the team of Marc Forster's upcoming big screen adaptation. Titled "The Battle Of Yonkers," LuVisi spent countless hours working on it and managed to include dozens of interesting details.

"This is the image I did, to get on the film 'World War Z' with Marc Forster, director of 'Quantum of Solace,'" said LuVisi. "Can't say whats going on or what the outcome is right now, but it's not in the negative zone :)"

He continued: "This was one of the most difficult images I've ever done. Incredibly challenging to the point where I wanted to quit. But through thick and thin I forced myself to complete it."

"World War Z" is based on Max Brooks' bestselling novel about a worldwide infestation of flesh-eating zombies. The book is a detailed tale in which a researcher for the UN Postwar Commission interviews survivors from countries all over the world, 10 years after the crisis, to gather a first-person post-mortem on a war that obliterated every country on the map.

Concept Photo: (click to enlarge)


Source: io9


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BobMcBob writes:
on January 29th, 2009 at 1:18:56 AM

looks like video game concept art
Schwasted writes:
on January 29th, 2009 at 1:32:16 AM

What a crowded image! Looks kinda badass.
Post_Man_87 writes:
on January 29th, 2009 at 1:55:45 AM

This looks amazing. Haven't had a chance to read World War Z but a few of my friends have read it and it's (somewhat comedic) companion The Zombie Survival Guide, and I'm told they are absolutely f*cking great. If this early concept image is any indication this could be a pretty cool dark flick. Let's hope Forster goes real dark and edgy.
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2009 at 2:37:14 AM

"looks like video game concept art' To sell the video game tie-ins of course. Why do the concept art twice?
thomas deadison writes:
on January 29th, 2009 at 2:46:51 AM

I have the screenplay. Haven't read the book yet.
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2009 at 3:20:24 AM

"Let's hope Forster goes real dark and edgy." Yeah, we've never seen that type of zombie flick before. . .how about something NEW? Goddamn it, isn't there other sort of mythical flesh-eating monster to exploit? Goddamn it, no imagination whatsoever in Hollywood. Hell, man, make Baxter's Time Ships or something into a film.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on January 29th, 2009 at 4:35:12 AM

minkowski I'm with you I would love to see something like that.
i3u7n5 writes:
on January 29th, 2009 at 9:47:33 AM

I had very high hopes for the book but found it to be more World War Zzzzz than anything. It's written in interview form, each new chapter is a different perspective of the worldwide zombie "event" and the impact it had on each culture, nation, etc. Some parts were great (the introduction of the zombies, how the condition was originally discovered and spread, The Battle of Yonkers) but most of it dragged on and on. There is an entire chapter based on the socioeconomic impact of an all out zombie war and the global econimist's struggles to try and balance the world markets in the wake of...see? Put you to sleep didn't it. Anyway, hopefully it will go the way of most Hollywood adaptations and take the best parts and rework them to make them more exciting; books CAN be worse than their movie counterparts after all. Jaws is my all time favorite film and perhaps one of the worst books I've ever read..
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 29th, 2009 at 10:14:45 AM

Wow this sounds awesome and that art piece is cooler than hell. if this happens make it as serious as possible and you got a winner.
Mr.Purple writes:
on January 29th, 2009 at 12:23:34 PM

aw man, i love this guy! saw this piece on his deviantart the other day :)
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on January 29th, 2009 at 1:04:31 PM

so its called battle of yonkers?
Post_Man_87 writes:
on January 29th, 2009 at 5:11:21 PM

minkowski - You're a goof. Stop commenting on other ppls posts. You're just a grumpy bastard that has an aversion of most anything. It's alright to dislike something and rant about it, but you seems to do it constantly. It's getting old. Stop complaining about Hollywoods lack or originality. If you don't like it find and new medium to enjoy or go and discover some other arty indie/euro style films that push the originality envelope a little further. You know you're not going to get it with big budget American films so why continue to bitch about it? I could sit here and criticize your pick (Time Ships) for a movie.....'oh hurray, another time travel flick. Boring. Unoriginal. Another adaptation. Wah-wah-boo-hoo'. But I won't do that. f*ck dude, it sounds like a good idea but that doesn't mean it's original. It's quite the opposite actually. So quit your PMS'ing.
minkowski writes:
on January 30th, 2009 at 12:54:55 AM

To the above moron, have youeven READ Time Ships? It's NOT just another time travel story. And I'll damn well say what I please. What are YOU going to do about it? Cry?
minkowski writes:
on January 30th, 2009 at 1:02:30 AM

Has anyone here read Time Ships besides me? Badass book, would make a damned good film. An unlike the guy that commented who hasn't even read the book, but will no doubt go and look for a synopsis on the internet, I've read it a few times and can tell you for an obvious reason it's not a typical time travel story. AT ALL.
hunter207 writes:
on January 30th, 2009 at 2:39:07 AM

Man I have to say I love Zombie Movies, and this looks like it has the potential to be one kick ass movie
Post_Man_87 writes:
on January 30th, 2009 at 12:53:53 PM

Poor minkowski, always unable to comprehend anything. I feel sorry for you, really. If you'd actually bother to understand my post I stated 'oh hurray, another time travel flick. Boring. Unoriginal. Another adaptation. Wah-wah-boo-hoo' as a joke for how most jump to conclusions about a movie before it's even filmed. Just like you did with World War Z....have you even read THAT book? And I like how you just assume I haven't read Time Ships, you're such and odd dude. So just like you said Time Ships is "NOT just another time travel story", most feel the same way about World War Z, that it's NOT just another zombie story. If you'd even bother to actually understand my last post you would know that. But that still doesn't mean that either are "original".
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on January 31st, 2009 at 10:36:18 PM

is it going to be CGI or real people acting? I mean this art looks badass and everything but I dont know how this will end up in terms of quality. The book is more of a journal following so its going to be a lot of back & forth with the zombies and the narrorating.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved