WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Will Smith Talks "Oldboy" Remake

Posted: January 27th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Will Smith Talks "Oldboy" RemakeSubmit Comment
Anyone that had the chance to watch the 2003 "Oldboy" film, knows that there are several elements in it that could scare-off Hollywood executives and a good portion of filmgoers. And with the recent announcement that Steven Spielberg wants to make his own "Oldboy" (based on the popular manga, rather then the 2003 film), one has to wonder whether the new version will be just as disturbing as the original.

"It's the thing that Steven was attracted to," Will Smith told MTV News. "We're working from the comic and we haven't done anything other than talk about it. So we'll see what happens, but he's not going to do anything that would be less than stunning."

"Oldboy" tells the story of a young man who has been imprisoned in solitary confinement for a decade of his life, with only a television as a link to the outside world. When he finally breaks free, he sets off on a quest to exact vengeance upon his unknown jailers.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 4:59:53 PM

please not another remake....BORING!!!...remakes are rarely good...and that's what i like about the new batman movies...they took a realistic approach...not the fantasy batman we know of
Cinestarr writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 5:02:10 PM

I just don't see how this will work with Will Smith. He makes my whole body yawn.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 5:04:32 PM

He's not going to put his son it it is he lol?
Ronsauce writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 5:14:36 PM

Bring it on. The Japanese have some good ideas(except in the horror genre), but their execution is pretty horrible. This should fix it.
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 5:26:31 PM

hmm i gotta admit...the title of that movie kinda shows what will smith is becoming...cuz he's not young anymore heh
Ari Gold writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 6:47:38 PM

synthetic1985 - "please not another remake....BORING!!!...remakes are rarely good...and that's what i like about the new batman movies..." What!? that its a remake?!
kgoding writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 7:13:59 PM

"Bring it on. The Japanese have some good ideas(except in the horror genre), but their execution is pretty horrible. This should fix it." Not a Japanese movie.
Schwasted writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 7:41:05 PM

People are only commenting because it's Will Smith, I'll bet you haven't even seen Oldboy! Will Smith and Steven Spielberg need to back off. I've had enough of this sh*t.
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 8:29:38 PM

Ari Gold 'remakes are rarely good...and that's what i like about the new batman movies'...i meant just that...it's a remake...and it happens to be quite good unlike the many other remakes that just can't top the originals...take two face for example...as far as looks go, they took his image and made it as close to the comics as possible...did batman forever pull that off?...nope...they could have...but nope...i never said i hate all remakes...it's just rare that we see really good ones...and the new batman movies are very promising to me
griffinkane writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 10:28:27 PM

the movie was actually really cool until the incest thing. I felt dirty after that.
pjmbdm writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 10:30:10 PM

People people people!!! It's not a direct remake of the 2003 film. Spielberg wants to make his own version. When this info came out a few months back it said the same thing. Making a remake of this great film would ruin it and I think he knows that. For any of you who haven't seen it, DO IT!!!! Make sure you put up the English subtitles though and not the dubbed version cuz that really takes away from it.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2009 at 2:31:14 AM

When oh when will we see the much demanded remake of Gone with the Wind, set in the postwar period of 1991. Ahh, postbellum Kuwait. I wonder what UAE shiek could snag the role of 'Rhett Butler'? f*cking stupid remakes.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2009 at 2:33:47 AM

"did batman forever pull that off" The last two old Batman films would've worked somewhat had Schumacher not saw fit to (pardon the pun) ram down the throats of the audience his homosexual disposition and attitudes. That, and Schwarzeneggar was an unforgivably abominable choice for Mr. Freeze.
SpaceGhost89 writes:
on January 28th, 2009 at 4:17:58 AM

im actually sick of all this dark knight bullsh*t. get over it. it really wasnt that good. this is about OLDBOY, not a f*ckin batman film. oh, and it wasnt realistic at all. it was gritty. theres a difference
Sev writes:
on January 28th, 2009 at 4:41:43 AM

Why dont they just....write something original? Oh would that be too hard Hollywood? Sake!
Projekt SHIN writes:
on January 28th, 2009 at 5:43:39 AM

it wouldn't work in american theatres..... even with will smith doing it.... leave korean movies alone... we already saw what you guys did to "my sassy girl".....
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 28th, 2009 at 9:53:39 AM

The first one was an interesting movie, but is a bit tasteless... too tasteless for someone like Spielberg or for Smith's PR people. I'm not saying the movie sucked as an idea by any means but it's just not material for these two.
defmike writes:
on January 28th, 2009 at 12:54:08 PM

NO, NO, NO, STOP!!! NOW are you kidding me. Why doesnt Will Smith just stick to what he does in everyone of his movies. SAVE PEOPLE FROM STUFF. Aliens more then once (ID4, Men in Black 1 and 2), People (Hanc*ck), Robots (IRobot), Vampire like creatures (I am legend), Poverty (The pursuit of happiness), Drug Dealers (Bad Boys 1 and 2), etc... You know what i havent seen Will Smith in is a zombie flick. Its the only creature/enemy left thats he has to save someone from. Or heck do what Arnold did, save everyone from the Devil. Heck even greater then that, make him God. I mean cause come on what else has the dude got left. Im done, i just cant take this. Why does Hollywood feel they must remake everything.
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 28th, 2009 at 5:47:31 PM

defmike...u have stolen the words outa my mouth...hollywood only has few people that'll stick it out in the long run...but maybe there's a reason we're getting so many sh*tty movies and remakes...maybe it's for our generation to take over :)
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 28th, 2009 at 6:55:06 PM

and SpaceGhost89...if you're so sick of the dark knight bullsh*t...and you say this is about oldboy not some batman movie...then why post your two cents and talk more sh*t about batman?...besides...i was only stating my opinion...wasn't trying to start an argument...but either way i don't really care...you made me laugh in the long run
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2009 at 3:26:39 AM

"Heck even greater then that, make him God." One movie: Pursuit of Happyness. Another: Ali. Anyway, wait twenty years for the Bruce Almighty remake, with Smith in Freeman's God role. Cliched action hero roles are easy money.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved