WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Matt Damon Says James Bond Franchise is "Repulsive"

Posted: January 27th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Matt Damon Says James Bond Franchise is "Repulsive"Submit Comment
Matt Damon loves to share his over-simplistic views on politics and now his hatred for James Bond movies. While speaking to The Miami Herald, Damon said: "They could never make a James Bond movie like any of the Bourne films. Because Bond is an imperialist, misogynist sociopath who goes around bedding women and swilling martinis and killing people. He's repulsive."

Damon added: "The Bond character will always be anchored in the 1960s and in the values of the 1960s. [He's] so anachronistic when you put it in the world we live in today."

While clearly Damon is not a big fan of the Bond franchise, it appears that he is not that big of a fan of the "Bourne" franchise either. He revealed that the only reason he agreed to make the fourth movie is because Universal Pictures put up $125 million for his passion project "The Green Zone," which is based on a harshly critical book about the search for weapons of mass destruction in Iraq. "When you make a $125 million Iraq movie, you kind of owe them a Bourne movie," he said.

Do you prefer the Bond or Bourne franchise?

Source: Miami Herald

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
thomas deadison writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 2:43:17 AM

Where does it say anywhere in your article that he is "not that big of a fan of the Bourne" series? Where? You're the only one implying that simply because he puts his Bourne 4 decision into persepective?

Damon does have a point about Bond. It's very anachronistic, but it works because it's... you know... a movie.
minkowski writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 2:51:59 AM

I really, really wish he'd keep his simpleton opinions to himself. Bond is imperialist? LOL. But Bond isn't an agent of an empire, or an imperial nation. Not even in the fifties and sixties, he's a goddamned undercover agent working at the behest of his government to stop evil, and he's f*ckING FICTIONAL YOU RETARD! Misogynistic? LOL. Tell that to all the millions of women that WANT, no damned well DEMAND a handsome, charming and confident man to sweep them off their feet and into bed. What f*cking nut planet is Damon from? What Hollywood kool-aid is he swilling? No, he's right, women, not even Hollywood harlots don't sleep around, and not with Bond-type men. LOL. Shut the f*ck up idiot. Just because Bond doesn't propose marriage to every whore that gets into his paints willingly, and, unlike Damon, doesn't love the villains trying to kill him doesn't make Bond a f*cking socio-psycho killer. You have to recall that Damon is the same Hollywood psycho that attacked Bush for detaining the same sort of guys that perpetuated 9-11, the attack on the US Cole and others. In other words, Damon is SO SENSITIVE, he labels a sociopath anyone that doesn't love murderers and terrorists. You have to recall that he's an illiterate SOB and an acolyte of Noam Chomsky, a follower of Howard Zinn and a f*ckING MARXIST. That's right, he believes America is a nation of little more than class warfare. He thinks men and women sent into battle in a *voluntary* military are victims, are social bottomfeeders or victims. Here's what he said: "I don't think that it's fair, as I said before, that it seems like we have a fighting class in our country that's comprised of people who have to go for either financial reasons, or, I don't think that that is fair and if you're gonna send people to war ... then that needs to be shared by everybody." In other words he supports involuntary service, or the draft, as a menas to institute class-based marxism. I'm telling you, he's a total f*cking idiot.
minkowski writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 2:58:00 AM

Oh boy, more propaganda from this nut, in the form of a Hollywood movie. Hollywood can't get right the moon landing, the Cold War or the bombing of Pearl Harbor. What makes Damon think he, of all marxist morons, can get WMDs in Iraq correct when much of the info is still CLASSIFIED? What, will he fill the many holes with paragraphs from Das Kapital. No wonder he played Bourne. We, the viewers saw an action flick, but really the action is, like gaze or sugar, there to draw us into the moral, the moral that the US government is just always plain EVIL. People like Damon think that people like us, the fools paying to see his movies, won't see anything other then the action, and not the moral of conspiracy and deception Damon sees. I kinda wish this uber-left tool would get hit by a fully loaded passenger plane.
minkowski writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 3:14:34 AM

Oh, you asked a question. Again. So. . .Bond, but only because I hate Damon.
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 3:34:13 AM

they could never make a Bond movie like Bourne?...i don't think they were trying to in the first place haha...you're funny matt...don't forget...Bourne's character killed people too...don't matter how much time passed...still doesn't discard the fact that both characters killed
alexgi writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 3:58:51 AM

Thomas Deadison: When Damon says that he will make Bourne 4 only if Universal pays for his Iraq movies, that doesn't convey to much enthusiasm about the Bourne franchise.
minkowski writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 3:59:30 AM

But Damn sees bourne as a tool of the government, an unwilling tool. Until he discovers he was duped by evil patriotism and love of his country in the third film. So yeah, he killed, but he was a victim, a duped poor victim whereas Bond loves his job whacking baddies. I'm not sure, but that kinda makes Bond a hell of a lot smarter than Bourne. At least Bond knows what the f*ck he's doing. Bourne is like a reprogrammed terminator with no new commands "I can kill, but who am I? Who, Who am I. Durrrrr. Insert program disc."?
minkowski writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 5:48:38 AM

"that doesn't convey to much enthusiasm about the Bourne franchise." No, it doesn't and it says Damon will ONLY play the role if Universal subsidizes his propaganda. Hollywood is so damned corrupt.
minkowski writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 5:50:46 AM

Oh, my genuine regrets on the rant, this stuff pisses me off. Actors need to STFU about politics. We pay to see them act, not 'transform the world' through their acting careers. Looking over the posts I made, I got very hotheaded. But I'd still pay a lot to punch Damon in the mouth.
bugmenot writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 6:01:28 AM

Wow, Markowski. What a rant? Wanna go off some more? I'll let you take your time to get all this sh*t out of the way, as usual.

First, let's all give a warm hand to the sh*t that is WP reporting. If you guys are gonna pull this sh*t from now on, can you at least tell everyone you're going to be a f*cking link blog and a cul-de-sac for unwanted opinions? Thanks. That would be nice? "Do you think it would be a good idea if we at WP annoy the f*cking hell out of you?" You pieces of sh*t probably don't even listen to criticism ever, go figure. Faggots...
But Markowski, honestly, you don't really feel detached from this hypocrisy-washed affair, now do you? "Overly simplistic opinions?" Yeah right. Thanks for demonstrating once again why young and women really choose how to punch the clock with narrow, black-and-white views.
You're a 2D man living in a 3D world.
Regardless of the fact that the Ludlum books are largely more complex than the films (plotwise and thematically), Bond's source material, too, strayed from the material, almost in the inverse way that the Bourne franchise has, in extroverting a character novel into the flashy exploitation era of Roger Moore.
Here's one for you. Real knowledge comes from a book. You wouldn't be making such foolish remarks if you did that once a while. Same goes to the WP staff. If you're really suggesting that all women are self-serving tools seeking one-time flings, economic struggle does not affect the aspect of "volunteering" at all (see OBAMA for more), not to mention that covert ops life is as hollow as a playboy's, you're more lost than I originally thought.

bugmenot writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 6:08:41 AM

And before you get me started, I'm not saying Damon completely understands the weight of differences between the two franchises, or that his political perspective is correct. Yes, his portrayals of government monsters gone wrong (metaphorically speaking) may originate from the same basic archetype, but are portrayed far more sympathetically, he has the right idea, even if it's not entirely for the right reasons. (As you said, Choamsky- who is still a libertarian in a respect, I might add.)
Further proof is he knows how to work the system to get what he wants and his message out, which is what all producers and directors do to some degree, and not many actors are entirely aware of it. I give him props for a slightly more complex political sophistication that is rarer than the so common celebrity cacuses for liberal events we hear about so often. To be fair, I think he was being a little hard on the Bond franchise, but like I said, he gets that it failed, but not WHY.
MRW007 writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 8:02:02 AM

James Bond is wayyyyy better than the Bourne franchise.
horrorfan005 writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 8:03:32 AM

I know,you like to start alot of sh*t if he didn't like it he wouldn't make it he's a huge star he can pick and choose.By the way it's Bourne hands down!
Schwasted writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 8:17:29 AM

I just saw Gerry, Matt Damon. I was gonna say I liked it a great deal but now I kinda think it's repulsive! And The Bourne sequels were both equally a drag.
Sinestro writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 8:49:04 AM

Bourne = better.
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 9:20:53 AM

I'm with you bugmenot. Sorry minkowski but you're rant, and what a rant it was, is on the far right end of the boat that you and Damon are riding ever so happily. As for WP people, I'm getting bored with your site of late. This new format your running with is getting really bad. The end questions are just, for lack of a better word a 9 am, HORRIBLE & Annoying.
Blank x2 writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 10:18:14 AM

Minkowski = Psycho. Go get laid or something, dude. A grown man with that kind of rant about Matt Damon....it's a little scary.....
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 10:21:41 AM

what a f*cking arrogant d*ck
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 10:23:19 AM

oh & minkowski = to much time on his hands to rant like he does, let some of it go from time to time man.
Digital Desperado writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 12:10:32 PM

Damon is a d*ck!!! His best movie portrayal was seen in "Team America", no doubt.
jake812 writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 12:19:54 PM

you are the retard minkowski, stop writing so much crap and go get yourself a life mate
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 1:00:09 PM

I always think Matt Damon is pretty spot on, I think he is with Bond, definitely, I like bond movies but it is the same think over and over again. I think Bourne has more depth (though with the new bond movies they are definitely stepping that up) and Kicks more ass, which is always important
Snarebeast writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 1:59:08 PM

I think all 3 Bourne movies are better than several of the Bond flicks. However, Casino Royale is better than any of the Bourne movies. So I guess I'm mixed.
billjames writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 2:30:44 PM

"Actors need to STFU about politics."-minkowski. but it's cool for you to start ranting about politics.
Blueyedragon writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 2:37:53 PM

I like the last bourne film and i also like the new bond films but i guess i prefer the bond films a bit more.
Makidian writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 2:51:30 PM

Man some people are passionate about this, probably more so than need be
vaodsi writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 3:28:05 PM

actually.. come to think of it... james bond is a misogynist, sociopathic bastard....
Movieman572 writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 3:45:19 PM

f*ck Matt Damon. He did three of the same exact movies and people are fooled and think they are great. Bond is FOREVER.
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 4:06:32 PM

I like the bourne movies...but I dont like Damon...i like the bonds too...so he can STFU.
GambleBDJ writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 4:42:59 PM

f*ck Damon!! And all you guys tht are always complaining abt WP but are always the first to post responses.. like for example.. Johnny Neat. Plus everyone needs to hop off minkowski's dic.! SERIOUSLY!!
Cinestarr writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 4:43:43 PM

I like the Bourne films better. Nothing against Bond...but I'm over it. I also like Damon as an actor. What these people do outside of their job is of no interest to me.
SpydrMonkeyakaSPF writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 4:50:13 PM

Bourne was a good series and he made a good point about the Bond movies. Bond is having trouble connecting with today's audience and keep the same 1960's appeal. I prefer the Bourne series.
Ronsauce writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 5:20:47 PM

Both franchises are pretty weak. Also, celebrities have just as much right to have an opinion regarding politics as any regular person. Don't be upset that they've actually made something of themselves to the point where they're opinions can reach a wider audience. Sour grapes much?
BREALZ writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 5:33:59 PM

MoneyHayabusa writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 6:22:45 PM

WELL, I would say a fair trademark of a sociopath might be cheesy one-liners spoken to the recently deceased, but thats just me. If I recall correctly, Damon did a while ago say that he couldn't see Bourne being taken anywhere else, but there are more books (correct me if I'm wrong) so maybe it can go somewhere. As for the Iraq movie... too bad it couldn't be done earlier. Not surprising though that the film execs waited until after it was relevant (see: Rendition) to put any money towards it. And Minkowski, WTF. Noam Chomsky is widely considered one of our time's greatest minds, so to dismiss him based on whatever conservative propogandizing youve injested is just ignorant. Also, this country is f*cked up! It's time to stop pretending its fine so we can actually fix it!
grossefidelityanything writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 6:31:02 PM

I agree fellow posters! Since obviously we all 'personally' know Mr. Damon we should totally judge him on his replies to the media! After all, they are the ones who print his words! Reminds me of the time I went on a personal camping trip with the man and got to know his inner most personal thoughts...Wow, what a journey. I love how people make up their minds off one f*cking press release. You all are morons. So is Damon, but Christ, you all need to learn that you don't 'know' someone off a goddamn statement. grow up.
kramerw22 writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 7:45:36 PM

WHAT!!!!!! their officially making a fourth Bourne movie!!!!!?????????????????
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 8:41:00 PM

grossefidelityanything....most of us here just post our opinions...i'm sure i didn't say anywhere that i 'know' matt damon...so if we're all morons...you my friend are just as equally a moron as i am...and you got no complaint from me
RonnieJamesDio writes:
on January 27th, 2009 at 8:49:03 PM

haha, Matt Damon can go f*ck himself.
dwight writes:
on January 28th, 2009 at 12:34:06 AM

The James Bond movies set the bar so high for spy movies that for decades nobody could come up with character to be as cool without looking like a bond- wanna be until bourne came around. Since copying Bond doesn't work Bourne mirrors Bond in every way just in reverse and it works. To answer the question no, Bourne could never be better than bond when bond movies are shown in there true form.BOND IS THE f*ckING MAN!!!! , but recent days since Barbabra Broccoli has been destroying the greatest film franchise of all time. I would give the crown to Bourne until bond returns.
James.Speed writes:
on January 28th, 2009 at 4:16:23 AM

I prefer Bond by far. The Bourne movies become redundant after a while. I have all the respect for Matt Damon, but I think thats a tad contadictary on his part. And not all his political reviews are simplistic. He made some damn good points about Sarah Palin.
bacci40 writes:
on January 28th, 2009 at 5:23:16 AM

Osiris3657 writes:
on January 28th, 2009 at 8:16:55 PM

I don't care for Damon's political stance, nor his opinion about Bond, but it's sad to see that he apparently doesn't enjoy being Bourne. Great films, all of them. Love the Bond films as well.
n.suszczyk writes:
on January 30th, 2009 at 5:01:34 PM

I think Matt Damon is a F*cking retardated. Jason Bouurne is a "son" of James Bond, so, if 007 would have never existed, he'd be out out job now.
FLBroker writes:
on January 31st, 2009 at 12:54:19 PM

Matt Damon is a far left-wing idiot. I simply ignore him and boycott any film he is in. The only thing "repulsive" about James Bond is that he is now played by a faggot that says Bond should have sex with a man. Damon would be the perfect choice.
bugmenot writes:
on March 20th, 2009 at 4:59:14 PM

Eight years of Bush n' Co. and just NOW it's decided that "over-simplistic views" are a bad thing? ROTFL! Unreal. Even Damon is more nuanced than half the people you had running your country, folks.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved