WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: Samuel L. Jackson on Nick Fury Role

Posted: January 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: Samuel L. Jackson on Nick Fury RoleSubmit Comment
Samuel L Jackson appeared as Nick Fury at the end of "Iron Man." It was later revealed that Marvel was not planning to do a Fury movie, but they had big plans for Jackson.

"I'm looking forward to making that character a bit more integral, in terms of the other stories that are happening," Jackson told MTV back in July, adding that he may have multiple cameos in practically every Marvel movie for the next few years (Iron Man 2, Captain America, Thor, Avengers).

He continued: "I'm looking forward to going to work soon."

And then the negotiations started and that's where Jackson's Fury role ended. According to the actor, Marvel is trying to avoid high salaries that actors usually expect, especially for sequels. The studio recently replaced Terrence Howard with Don Cheadle in "Iron Man 2," then offered Mickey Rourke only $250,000 to play one of the villains and now they want Jackson to lower his price as well.

Watch the video below, in which IGN asks Jackson for an update.

Interview:


Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BobMcBob writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 8:25:28 PM

the sarcasm detector is going to explode!
manichispanic writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 10:21:24 PM

sh*t. i didn't want to believe it, but there it is. marvel needs to get their heads out of their asses.
takai writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 1:33:52 AM

"iron man 1 didn't make that much money so they can't afford to pay us for the second one." hahahaha. i freakin love sammy j.
JakeVermont writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 5:15:59 AM

What da f*ck! I think Marvel has a lot of money but they are just cheap thats it... they think ah our movies will make a lot of money so lets see where we can cut some spendings... sammy is just kiddin come one
JakeVermont writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 5:18:48 AM

by the way they already replaced howard... who they want to replaced jackson with? Eddy Murphy? just because he cant ask for for the same money but deliever the same acting? lol.... MARVEL if u keep on going that direction i see a dark future.... movies filled with 3rd class actors and whos gonna watch those?
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 6:38:06 AM

Jacksons a d*ck. He probably wanted to make another billion. He's talking sh*t about Marvel? He's worth a few billion! Show us how selfless you a really are, Jackson, do it for free! Give something back to the people that made you as wealthy as you are, you patronizing, hypocritical racist sack of sh*t. Yeah. Marvel isn't going to get held hostage by you and your two-bit, six minute Nick Fury part. f*cker thinks he can extort Marvel because he's Mr. 'Pulp Fiction' badass. He thinks he's worth what-the-f*ck-ever he asks, and when the other party declines, he implies with a smug and condescending smile and laugh that Marvel is simply greedy. Maybe he can blame whitey somehow. It's worked for him before. d*ckhead.
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 6:40:04 AM

"movies filled with 3rd class actors" Cheadle is a third class actor, but Howard is top billing? LOL! No, wait...LOL! Cheadle is badass. He works hard in his roles and he puts forth ALL the effort. Howard...I don't know who the f*ck Howard is but replacing him was a damned good idea.
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 11:44:56 AM

minkowski I totally agree with you. If that toolbag Sam Jackson wanted to do a movie with just the fans and audience at heart, he'd f*cking do it for free. But no, just like 99.9% of Hollywood, he's selfish and a sc*mbag. f*ck you Sam, we don't need you. We're all going through money trouble, but I bet you aren't, right? f*ckwad. I love how he laughs about the "economic crisis". Like "HAHA, Economic crisis, where's my Bentley, Jefferson? Nah, you know what, I'll fly my plane outta here."
i3u7n5 writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 12:57:06 PM

I hadn't read any of the Ultimate lines from Marvel so when I saw Fury in Iron man, the black character was unknown to me and I didn't think much about it. I figured it was the same old Nick Fury in a silly pc redesign..whatever. I started picking up Ultimate Spider-man trades a few months back and frankly, I don't see Jackson as Fury at all. The Ultimate Fury is a much younger guy (he mentions being in college 10 years prior to a scene in Spidey) and not as hard nosed as the original portrayal of Fury. I think Common (weird I know, but he was one of the only redeeming things in Smoking Aces) or even Idris Elba would be much better choices. "Stringer" could play Orville Reddenbocker in a film biopoic and I'd still watch it.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 1:40:53 PM

BRING SAM BACK!!!!! FIND THE MONEY AND BRING HIS ASS BACK! he's so funny & great, I wanna party with him
bacci40 writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 5:26:04 PM

i hope that marvel understands that the new nick fury was modeled on sam jackson...he is fury...its a mistake not to have him continue the roll
billjames writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 8:16:14 PM

It seems to me that marvel are just trying to take the piss and attempting to get actors to sign on for pennies, while they(marvel) will be dancing around in there pants throwing money around when it makes silly amounts like iron man did. It's not like they lost out on iron man. It seems that marvel are trying to cut corners to make even more money for them self and it's us the fans who will suffer. although i do believe actors do get paid too much but it's just going to sit in some fat cat producers pocket instead.
Sinestro writes:
on January 26th, 2009 at 12:21:54 AM

You people are f*cking delusional if you think Jackson actually owe any of you anything. He's worth a certain amount and he knows it. Why should he lower his price when the House of Ideas can afford to pay him?
JakeVermont writes:
on January 26th, 2009 at 5:28:01 AM

@Minkowski Hey dude i didnt mean that Cheadle was 3rd class actor hell no I think it was a perfect decision to take him for IronMan2 - to Jackson: His IronMan appearance wasnt even 6 minutes long :D maybe one minute not more^^ And the thing is that Marvel COULD pay Jackson if they really wanted him but whether jackson has the right to ask for so much money is another question, I dont care if anyone else is going to play Nick Fury- does anyone know how much jackson asked for? and who would u suggest to play Mr Fury????? Greetings from bavaria
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2009 at 5:51:55 AM

Greetings from the Economic Meltdown Capital of the World. Marvel isn't a money mint. They make money only through revenue. Jackson is one of the top few highest paid actors, so why should Marvel pay him millions for just a few minutes of screen time? Why? Isn't several hundred grand ENOUGH for just a few more minutes? You people are saying Marvel is offering him pennies and that's just ridiculous. He probably went to them and said "I'll be Nich Fury anyway anytime, but it's going to cost you x amount" and Marvel said "how about y instead" and Jackson probably laughed and said "I'm Nick Fury biatch", and stormed out. So you're only hearing Jackson's side and of course he's not going to get honest with anyone. The thing Marvel needs to do is release a press statement on the negotiations but they probably can't do that due to legalities. How much cash did Marvel lose on the Punisher films? On other projects? On any number of comics that crashed and burned. They have accounting books just like everyone else so this idea that they have trillion of dollars to throw at actors like Jackson is laughable. I'm willing to bet Jackson simply over rated the importance of his role and thought "damn IronMan busted out the nickels, how can I get more" and he likely regretted not getting more the first two times (IM and Hulk), so he decided to press hard on more cash, more cash than Marvel thinks he's worth. It's called greed. And when was the last time Jackson did anything for charity? Ever? No, he doesn't OWE anyone anything, but his fans, without which he'd probably have a job sweeping floors, made him what he is and all he can do is bitch about money, about not getting enough. What the f*ck is 'enough' to this guy? As for who should play him, I have no idea. If ultimate Nick Fury is based on Jackson, a fact that might've led Jackson to demand far more money and vastly overrate his importance, then no one can replace him perfectly. They should do something I've always suggested: look for talented unknown actors. You can pay them less and they are willing to work hard, not like the spoiled mega stars that believe they deserve a cool mil every time someone drops their name.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2009 at 5:55:20 AM

And oh yeah, I love Cheadle. His performance was the only aspect of Traitor that made the film enjoyable. I even loved him in Swordfish. But he if started acting like Jackson, my respect for him would vanish instantly. Not like he would give a damn about what I think, but still.
billjames writes:
on January 26th, 2009 at 4:43:49 PM

minkowski i wasn't meaning pennies literally. i would like to see what he was offered in relation to screen time etc. fair enough your saying he's got enough money and should do it for free for the fans but i think thats a bit silly because if he doesn't take the cash it's just gonna sit in Avi Arad, David Maisel's pocket or heaven forbid some accountants or lawyers (who prob don't give a sh*t about the fans) instead and im sure they aint hard done by.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved