WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Fantastic Four" Franchise is Dead

Posted: January 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Fantastic Four" Franchise is DeadSubmit Comment
JoBlo had the chance to speak to actor Chris Evans during the "Push" press junket, where the site asked him about the status of the rumored third "Fantastic Four" movie.

"I think they're done," he said. "They've closed the book on that franchise. I think if there was talk I think that I would've heard about it by now."

Just because "Fantastic Four" is done, it doesn't mean that Evans is ready to abandon the entire superhero genre. When asked about a possible "Push" sequel, both Evans and Dakota Fanning hinted at returning.

The first "Fantastic Four" film earned $330 million in worldwide ticket sales on a $100 million budget. The sequel went on to earn $40 million less ($290 million) on a higher budget ($130 million).

Would you rather see "Fantastic Four 3" or a Silver Surfer spin-off?

Source: JoBlo


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
mmmac writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 7:36:28 PM

I'd rather die than see either both those movies were horrible and for some reason they altered they way jessica alba looked in the second one to look more white I guess. This could have been a really cool franchise but they butchered it.
meanmonkey22 writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 7:57:55 PM

^Agreed. The only good part of the movies was Evan's Human Torch.
jjjjjoey writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 8:02:46 PM

...the only good part about the movies was casting sexy Jessica Alba..
James.Speed writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 8:04:22 PM

Id like to see another Fantastic Four. Sure. Id like Ioan Gruffud to play Mr. Fantastic in The Avangers movie to be honest, but I doubt Fox will let that happen..... same with Hugh Jackman's wanted Wolverine cameo.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 8:10:52 PM

id rather seen neither. always hated this franchise
Kal-El writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 8:21:49 PM

The Thing was rubbish -- way too small and rubbery. You could actually see the suit folding.
charmed23 writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 8:32:14 PM

I still want to see a third one. The first twos sure are bad (the second is better though) but I really want to see more of Susan's force field power
dwight writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 10:08:28 PM

First one was joky, second was decent. I rarely say stop making sequels to any franchise. Just make it better. I could bare a third FF, but they have to improve. Less arguing, more butt kicking. Dr.Doom is supposed to be a super serious, really mean, almost impossible to beat kinda dude. They made him to lite and weak in the two films. An as for Jessica Alba they made her look so white I forgot she was black or hispanic or mixed or whatever she is.
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 10:20:20 PM

for sure!
manichispanic writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 10:23:25 PM

they weren't terrible, but they were weak. its a shame that they were marvels #1 comic book, and they couldn't make a decent movie
buttabean writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 10:28:00 PM

I could definitely see them doing a reboot with a lot less mildew cheese
WV-Films writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 11:29:17 PM

I heard the same thing from Evans months ago. And with the bleak 2010 summer schedule approaching, I'm sure the franchise will be dusted off for last installment. If they can make 6 Saws, and another Pink Panther, FF3 doesn't seem to far out of reach.
bugmenot writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 12:22:19 AM

Ok, the movies suck, but what if by some miracle, a sequel came out? WorstPreviews, stop using f*cking declarative reporting, you shills.
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 1:48:46 AM

Yeah, your scorched earth tactics reek of social fascism, but you're right. Not sure where they find the time to make these claims, or why, but the FF franchise isn't dead, they just aren't planning on making another right now. Maybe they decided to kick Evans out of the loop. But these two films sucked.
KirkLazerus writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 2:14:29 AM

yay its dead, the fantastic four movies were awful and jessica alba is a very terrible actress she should just come out with silent movies since shes only good to look at
OkichDD writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 11:14:56 AM

Both FF movies were absolutely terrible, so I would prefer Silver Surfer. Doug Jones rules!
KaloVisor writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 12:16:58 PM

I liked the fantastic four movies. (the second was better then the first) and would love to see a third one. sure they weren't nearly was good as spider-man, or Iron Man or X-men. but I like how they were just kind of light superhero films.
KaloVisor writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 12:18:26 PM

I liked the fantastic four movies. (the second was better then the first) and would love to see a third one. sure they weren't nearly was good as spider-man, or Iron Man or X-men. but I like how they were just kind of light superhero films.
gitrmnky7 writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 12:38:29 PM

Fantastic Four 1 and 2 were two of the worst movies i have ever seen....ever. I wouldn't go see anything dealing with them.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 1:45:03 PM

GOOD! f*ck THOSE FILMS! THEY SUCKED!
akatch writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 2:33:51 PM

fantastic for 3 would be awesome!! i just think the movie should be longer and have alot more action!!
bacci40 writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 5:21:43 PM

if fox sells the rights back to marvel...yes, i would like the franchise to continue...if not, then no...let it die...
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 5:41:13 PM

meanmonkey22 i agree with you on this one...about Evan's Human Torch...i think he played it as true to the comics as he could with what limited screen time any movie would have...and jjjjjoey good call on the casting of sexy jessica alba lol i agree with you on that too....don't care if she got her part right or not...i watched her and thought she was great cuz everyone else seems to agree she's only good to look at...same rules apply for watching her on screen :D...and James.Speed....i agree with what you said there...in fact why aren't ALL the same actors playing their roles in the avengers?...if the joker is in the avengers it's understandable why heath isn't there playing it (rest in peace heath!!) but as for another fantastic four...i'll wait till i see a trailer and the entire movie before i give my final judgement...cuz i felt terrible thinking heath couldn't pull off a good joker and i'm not makin that mistake again
Gunslinger writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 10:03:39 PM

They'll reboot it, eventually. Try and make it "darker", like they want to do with Superman. I'm wondering if Tom and Jerry will be "darker", too...
Sinestro writes:
on January 26th, 2009 at 12:10:17 AM

Good riddance to bad garbage.
Sinestro writes:
on January 26th, 2009 at 12:13:03 AM

And I don't see why people don't understand that by DARKER Warner Brothers doesn't mean Superman will by boiling Luthor's testicles with heat-vision and wearing a black rubber suit and manscara. They mean darker than Singer's movie, which was corny and completely out of date.
Gunslinger writes:
on January 26th, 2009 at 12:23:25 AM

I don't think even Warner Bros. knows what they mean by darker, but yeah, Singer's version was pretty damn lame.
minkowski writes:
on January 26th, 2009 at 6:08:17 AM

"They mean darker than Singer's movie, which was corny and completely out of date." The real issue with SR, besides Singer, was the obligatory homage paid to Reeve and his Superman films. They tried to shoehorn, buttonhole, whatever SR into the continuity of the first four films, instead of rebooting the damned thing and giving us a modern film that balances the contrast within Superman. Making the next film 'darker' ignores the contrast of tone in most modern Superman comics. There's the brighter aspects and then there's the darker. An example: The Search for Kryptonite, wherein Superman goes nearly insane, and Batman must reel him back to reality. Making it a film about Superman, The Great Intergalactic Boy Scout, IS corny and trite, so the reboot should have some darkness. Focus more on his character, make it something of comic book character study. Make him flawed, not so damned perfect, even if his flaws concern the issue of him not knowing who he is. Make him relatable, understandable. A all powerful indestructable superbeing with very few chinks in his armor makes Superman fun for Saturday morning but not for a film with a very wide demographic market. But of course, give us insane action as well.
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 26th, 2009 at 10:06:41 AM

Regardless of what it managed to earn or con out of comic fans, it was garbage, to be kind. Like DareDevil, Elektra and The Punisher the FF are DONE.
Cinestarr writes:
on January 26th, 2009 at 1:34:46 PM

I knew this was dead after seeing Silver Surfer. Yuck! Thanks for the confirmation.
tomp03 writes:
on January 26th, 2009 at 11:27:42 PM

the franchise of FF was less than dismal. The scripts were poorly written with a lot of overacting. It's a shame because the idea of the FF could have been a gold mine. The only reason the first movie made that much money is because of the anticipation of another superhero film (four for the price of one). The sequel was a crying shame. The silver surfer was again, a prosperous idea but was executed like Napoleon's march on Moscow. Neither film would do well but if I was forced to pick because a gun was put to my head I would regretfully pick the Au Surfer.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved