WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ralph Macchio Now Approves of "Karate Kid" Remake

Posted: January 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ralph Macchio Now Approves of "Karate Kid" RemakeSubmit Comment
I guess original "Karate Kid" star Ralph Macchio has been advised to keep his mouth shut regarding the upcoming "Karate Kid" remake, after he told MTV that he is upset that someone is trying to remake a classic.

There are lots of things to be angry about; The main character is a 10-year-old Jaden Smith (son of Will Smith). Mr. Miyagi will be played by Jackie Chan. And Jaden would like for the famous crane kick to be replaced with a move he has seen in some video game that he plays on his Xbox.

Just three days ago, Macchio told MTV: "It feels pretty good that some people are pretty angry that they're trying to remake The Karate Kid. It feels good that the public feels you don't touch certain things. Some times you go back to that, and probably shouldn't."

He added: "From my personal view, the filling the void of what Mr. Miyagi was - and the magic of that character - is going to be the toughest task. I [also] don't know where the romantic story-arc goes (with Jaden's Daniel) at that age."

Those are excellent points, but apparently he doesn't feel that way anymore.

The 47-year-old Macchio now tells OK magazine that Jaden will be "fantastic" in the movie and completely approves of the choice of his successor. He added: "You know you're not the young guy anymore. But it is a privilege that they are remaking something you did."

Source: OK Magazine


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
meanmonkey22 writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 7:56:38 PM

Hes only saying it because Will Smith could completely destroy his reputation and career in hollywood or even broadway. Which is a shame...
jjjjjoey writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 8:00:09 PM

I'm confused: I hate that fact the everyone is remaking movies from the 80's, but I can't wait to see the new Friday the 13th! It's interesting to hear what Macchio feels about this, but it shouldn't really matter. He will forever be praised for the original, and Chan and Jaden will be...blah who cares about them?
c-prime writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 8:06:09 PM

So, does this mean that Ralph Macchio is the Machurian Candidate?
Kal-El writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 8:19:50 PM

someone scored a cameo. i see him as a referee in the tourney montage.
mrbearcat2352 writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 9:28:54 PM

I wish I knew where Worst Previews writers got their journalism degrees....they are good at being unbaised and skilled writers
bugmenot writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 10:21:29 PM

Seriously, mrbearcat. So many blogs think just because they're not "professional content" that it's okay to excuse their sh*tty quality of reporting. Well, okay, that may be, but don't insert your sh*tty opinions into a "report". I came from a political blog that did the same f*cking thing, and after repeatedly asking them, they gave me lame f*cking excuses and told me that if I didn't like it, to f*ck off. This despite their name being "Independent Political Report". Hypocrites. Sadly, I doubt you could get that much rise out of the people at WP, as they are just retarded.
One of them spams retarded questions (that some people actually f*cking fall for), the other or the same one, inserts bias into their reports, and one or the same one reports on countless unverified rumors for Batman. I mean, what the hell is wrong with them?
horrorfan005 writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 10:35:14 PM

Mr. Miyagi would be very disapointed in you Daniel son for not standing your gound on this,you should pull out the old Crane Kick and WHOOOOP some ASS!
Planetastudios writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 10:42:14 PM

OBAMA said YES WE CAN!!
Schwasted writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 12:05:49 AM

This has been a bad joke that has gone on for months. I wish we could never hear about this Karate Kid-remake EVER again.
takai writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 1:39:06 AM

i think this'll be total garbage. shoot, with the recent political actions, i'm surprised that they don't have a black mister miyagi and replace the crane kick with a foty five. seriously though. just because you're will smith's son, doesn't mean you can remake THE KARATE KID. they're probably not even going to have 'wax on. wax off' incorporated. i love jackie chan, but i can't help but think this'll be another 'around the world in 80 days.' come on now jackie. forbidden kingdom was so good, and you turn around and give me this? guah
minkowski writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 1:41:59 AM

"someone scored a cameo. I see him as a referee in the tourney montage." DING DING DING! Johnny, tell him what he's won!
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 5:41:56 AM

DAMMIT!! I BACKED YOU UP KARATE KLOWN!! looks like someone's sucking someones big "Will" YOU SELLOUT!! Karate Kid: Am I the meanest? Karate Kid's Goons: hell NO! you just big willy's D&#@@!!
KaloVisor writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 12:28:03 PM

this movie is going to be awful. I never want to hear about it again.
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 5:48:46 PM

ralph's right though...'But it is a privilege that they are remaking something you did.'...oh well...regardless if he changes his mind...there's nothing like the original...and i'll always adore the original over the remake...and i'm sure he will too
BlueMobius writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 5:51:49 PM

One: He's 47?!?!?!?! When the hell did that happen? Two: He HAS a career for Will Smith to ruin?! Three: I'll probably still see the damn movie.
thedotsays writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 6:51:35 PM

Will must've swept the leg. I never saw such a 180. I agree with the earlier post, a cameo was offered.
UraharaShop writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 6:55:11 PM

Smith took one of his balls and said he'd take the other one unless he retracted his statement.
jake812 writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 11:12:36 PM

f*cking guido he should know better, anyone with half a brain would know the casting of jackie chan is the worst idea in the history of bad ideas
BlueMobius writes:
on January 26th, 2009 at 10:14:06 AM

Sadly, I'm certain people don't remember that Chan was a serious actor before he came to America. As long as they let him play this straight, he's actually a pretty good choice. If they make him ham it up, it'll be a disaster. Little Fresh Prince, on the other hand, might just be a bad idea if they're really letting him, a ten-year-old kid, have that much creative control.
Cinestarr writes:
on January 26th, 2009 at 1:36:10 PM

Whateva Ralph.
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 26th, 2009 at 2:04:50 PM

Kal-El, you're on the money! I find this lame remake idea a bit insulting to us KK fans to be honest. Mr. Miyagi would be disappointed in Daniel San.
BREALZ writes:
on January 26th, 2009 at 2:51:36 PM

Sell out....i bet you that will smith offered him a walk on role in the movie, probably a bus driver or something!
N8R writes:
on January 26th, 2009 at 4:22:44 PM

@cprime: No it means he's the next California Governors Office candidate.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved