WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Capcom Talks "Lost Planet" Film

Posted: January 23rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Capcom Talks "Lost Planet" FilmSubmit Comment
Capcom's "head of character contents business" Toshihiro Tokumaru spoke about the upcoming big screen version of their popular "Lost Planet" game, revealing the possible cost of the film and the people involved.

"That project will cost somewhere between 150 and 200 million dollars to make. The producer on the project is Avi Arad, producer of 'Spider-Man.' In game-making, we consider the main character's upbringing, interpersonal relationships, and their place in time. But in a game we can only show a cross-section of that. In 'Lost Planet' for example, we can show the game's protagonist on a distant planet fighting against various foes, but we can't really show his interpersonal relationships. By developing that part of it on the movie screen, we can add substance to that world and expand it."

In "Lost Planet," humans navigate through hostile ice-covered environments, fighting against the indigenous Akrid creatures for the precious thermal energy they need to survive.

It was previously revealed that in addition to Avi Arad producing, David Hayter (X-Men, X2, Watchmen) would be writing the script.

Source: Capcom


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 23rd, 2009 at 4:56:31 PM

not interested....why not make diablo into a movie instead??
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on January 23rd, 2009 at 5:12:54 PM

they should make a megaman movie hahaha they could pull it off
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on January 23rd, 2009 at 5:30:55 PM

could be good
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 23rd, 2009 at 5:44:59 PM

megaman lol...that would be sweet...they should look into the old nintendo games for movies...it'd make bank and would be more watchable than some of the bullsh*t that's out there now and upcoming
minkowski writes:
on January 23rd, 2009 at 10:50:22 PM

Sounds like wasted money. Stop making videogames into films, Hollywood. Please. They almost NEVER work worth a damn. "In "Lost Planet," humans navigate through hostile ice-covered environments, fighting against the indigenous Akrid creatures for the precious thermal energy they need to survive." Sounds like Dune, but instead set on Hoth.
minkowski writes:
on January 23rd, 2009 at 11:11:03 PM

And for those that disagree with me, I ask you what videogame movie was ever actually good? I swear by God, the Fred Savage 'The Wizards' film is the best movie about or involving a videogame I've ever seen. And THATS a low bar. Perhaps a Half Life movie would rock. Good story. And Half Life 2 is awesome.
coldplayesence writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 1:28:40 AM

Half life... If hugh laurie plays freeman, I'm in. Lol.
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 2:23:02 AM

i dunno about u guys....but i liked the first mortal kombat...the 2nd one was pathetic...i liked resident evil one a lot cuz it was the perfect prequel that suited the story...super mario bros sucked i know...the tv show was great...hmm...other than that i guess i don't like any other ones...if hollywood says they wanna do zelda...we need to gather anybody and everybody to stop them...unless they go by the fans' rules...i don't care if critics like it or not...even if they do make it, i'll just write a book for a better storyline...lol what am i sayin...any real fan would do better than hollywood when it comes to zelda....milwaukee...i finally got that one hit....it was like i jinxed it till i mentioned it lol...yea one hit...definitely feels more better after not doin it for a few days
jjjjjoey writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 2:44:46 AM

They should make a 200 million dollar verion of Street Fighter.... Although most video game movies are a disaster, I feel they do have alot of potential because some got great stories. Its just the corny-kiddie perspective that videogames carry with them, and the tragic producing, that make them flop.
minkowski writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 4:17:43 AM

The problem is that you're adapting a video game into a film. A video game is simply limited in ways a film isn't and vice versa. It's like changing a motorcycle into a truck. The problem is also resolution. You have to 'blow up' or enlarge most video games because they leave a lot of characterisation and emotion elsewhere. A film needs to interact directly with the audience, not the other way around. Because of this, when you translate a game to film, there are holes everwhere. It's like mapping a sphere to a flat surface. The writers have to fill the gaps with mostly their own stuff. That's part of the problem, and if the writers decide to make the film something else but based in the same 'universe', like Sommers' Gi Joe or that Dragonball garbage, fans get highly irritated and alienated. I think also many of the people involved in turning toys and games into films are older people and just don't have the appreciation for the ways the subject matter can be used. They think, "oh just a bunch of kids stuff, who cares if it sucks, only kids want to see it anyway and they'll of course pay because we make them think they're getting what THEY want, not what we're giving them". And then they have a laugh and light a sigar with a hundered dollar bill. Also, because of the overwhelming bad record of game films, any movie that is attached to it's game origin is already disadvantaged in the minds of the masses. They think 'fool me once, shame on me, fool me twice..." and move on. And off video game films for a sec: Sommers taking GI JOE, a cartoon so full of ideas and characters, along with Larry Hamas' brilliant bio files, and making garbage has absolutely no excuse.
Bystander85 writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 6:58:06 AM

Lost planet was an ok game. nothing worthy of a movie tho. maybe except the Mechs. Anyone remeber Robojox? hahaha. People remember Mechs!
coldplayesence writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 2:51:46 PM

Anyway, the shouldn't do God Of War, especially with Brett Ratner.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 4:45:21 PM

i agree with you minkowski that video game movies often are ruined but with good intentions atleast. its the same problem on why video games based on movies suck balls IE Jumper the video game or even Wall E (never played but im sure they could have gone without it) its like there afraid to use fresh ideas so they dig deep into old games or tv shows that people used to love and make them love it again. where the Monopoly movie then? about a man buying the world around him lol I am probebly one outta the hundreds of people who have thought of their own zelda movie. i personally hope they never make a zelda movie because it cant be done. how do you make a movie where the main character never talks but grunts? in the end though the only due it for the money and not the art. if they made a zelda movie, they would need hundreds of fanboys in a room to discuss a decent script that would probably never be made. i still stick with my idea of a Megaman movie hahah could work as CG or live action...maybe CG, id just stick to just doin that with video games movies, hell if i had papa id make a kickass smash bros-esque movie
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 6:13:36 PM

BlutoDaBoss21....i understand your opinion...but it can be done...i know they'll never wanna spend the money or time on it cuz it would probably take too long and cost too much money...plus they already made a movie where the main character never says anything in the first place...super mario bros. is a perfect example...terrible movie...but they made it anyway...clearly a zelda movie would be made just for fans...i just think it would be great if done right because it's such an awesome fantasy story...and the part that would really tingle my senses is when he gets his hand on the red ring!....there are some good movie-based games...ever play aladdin for SNES?...that's also why a lot of 3rd person view type games suck...there's just too damn many of em...is it any wonder why that new super mario bros for the nintendo ds did so well...it was a side scroller which most people can play...and obviously people haven't lost their love for great side scrollers...it's just the video game companies are too stupid to realize that...i bet if they made another mortal kombat game with real people using the advanced technology of today...it would do excellent
mattcl23 writes:
on January 24th, 2009 at 9:50:23 PM

Why not a GTA movie?
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 1:44:25 PM

didnt they do this plot already? with whats it called, uummm... Starship Troopers
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 25th, 2009 at 5:53:31 PM

Space_Ghost11 lol....i liked that movie...well...the first one anyway

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved