WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jeffrey Dean Morgan Discusses "Watchmen" Rape Scene

Posted: January 21st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jeffrey Dean Morgan Discusses "Watchmen" Rape SceneSubmit Comment
In the "Watchmen" comics, there is a flashback scene involving the rape of Minutemen member Silk Spectre by her teammate, The Comedian. The actor playing The Comedian, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, confirmed to MTV News that director Zack Snyder did not avoid putting the scene into the film.

"It was a three-day process shooting that particular scene, and it was hard," said Morgan. "It was three of the hardest days of filming I have ever had to do. It was really very violent."

Morgan added that decisions had to be made as far as how much weight to give the rape in the movie. "When you're looking at the comic book you only get a couple panels so there is a lot of stuff there that needs to be filled in," he said, "so we fill in the blanks there between three and four panels, and it turns out to be one hell of a violent scene. And it's all intact, [Hooded Justice] comes in and interrupts the attempted rape it's all there. We stayed very loyal to it, and I haven't actually seen the scene yet, but I did see a piece of playback when we were filming it and it's a lot."

When asked how the audiences will feel about the scene, Morgan replied: "I don't know, we will see. It's rated 'R' for a reason."

Click here to read our exclusive "Watchmen" preview.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 9 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
meanmonkey22 writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 6:31:45 PM

I love Snyder.
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 6:44:37 PM

at least 20th century fox didn't get a chance to f*ck it up...yea!!!
takai writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 8:26:29 PM

as odd as it sounds, knowing that not only the rape scene iss in it, but that hooded justice comes in makes me even more excited. i think snyder really pulled off the 'unadaptable'. amazing
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 8:42:50 PM

although Rape aint cool, it is cool to see that Znyder found a way to put this scene in teh film, Morgan and Cugino sound liek they know what they were doing for this scene and hopefully the movie is kickass
ladyhornet_05 writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 9:09:56 PM

I love how Snyder refuses to sugarcoat for anybody! sh*t was intense in the comics, it's gonna be intense in the movie lol. I'm getting a very "Irreversible" vibe about it...
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 11:20:33 PM

Snyder you magnificent bastard! yes! this is going to be just so damn good!
minkowski writes:
on January 22nd, 2009 at 1:42:41 AM

We could've done without the rape scene. "although Rape aint cool". No, rape isn't 'cool' at all.
coldplayesence writes:
on January 22nd, 2009 at 10:39:57 AM

Actually it couldn't, the rape is a very very very important part of Laurie's history and it affects in Manhattan's desicion to recover his faith in humanity.
manichispanic writes:
on January 22nd, 2009 at 12:53:19 PM

for some reason alan moore has rape scenes and female abuse scenes in almost all of his books.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved