WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ralph Macchio Slams "Karate Kid" Remake

Posted: January 21st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ralph Macchio Slams "Karate Kid" RemakeSubmit Comment
"Karate Kid" star Ralph Macchio spoke to MTV News about the planned remake, saying that he believes the film will not be a hit with the public since too many movies are ruined by remakes.

The new version of "Karate Kid" will star Will Smith's 10-year-old son Jaden and feature Jackie Chan as Mr. Miyagi.

"It feels pretty good that some people are pretty angry that they're trying to remake The Karate Kid," said Macchio. "It feels good that the public feels you don't touch certain things. Some times you go back to that, and probably shouldn't."

He continued: "From my personal view, the filling the void of what Mr. Miyagi was - and the magic of that character - is going to be the toughest task. I [also] don't know where the romantic story-arc goes (with Jaden's Daniel) at that age."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 2:15:29 AM

YEAH!! Karate Kid!! if that wasn't a Crane Kick to Jaden's face I don't know what was! OHHHHH you feeeel that Jaden AHHHH OHHHH sting's a bit don't it! Karate Kid: Am I the meanest? Karate Kid's Goons: Sho'nuff! Karate Kid: Am I the prettiest? Karate Kid's Goons: Sho'nuff! Karate Kid: Am I the baddest mofo low down around this town? Karate Kid's Goons: Sho'nuff! Karate Kid: Well who am I? Karate Kid's Goons: Karate Kid! Karate Kid: Who am I? Karate Kid's Goons: Karate Kid! Karate Kid: I can't hear you... Karate Kid's Goons: Karate Kid! Karate Kid yeaaaaaaaaaah!
WV-Films writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 2:18:58 AM

uuuuuuu......It's official, waffle man's gone bye bye.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 2:40:20 AM

lol WV-Films go look at my Street Fighter comment. My other comment in:Seven New "Street Fighter" Photos
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 3:18:36 AM

thank you ralph!....hopefully the movie industry will realize at least some of its stupity...i mean sh*t...take the supposed rumors about beyonce playing wonder woman or will smith playing captain america...would people wanna see 'blade' as a white guy?..seriously...how stupid does hollywood think people really are...and why doesn't disney do any cartoon movies anymore?...it's not like people won't watch it anymore...and as for toy story 3...it'll be nice seein everybody return...but at least come up with a better storyline than andy goin to college...sounds like 'the brave little toaster' remake to me
minkowski writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 6:30:39 AM

"how stupid does hollywood think people really are" Hollywood knows how stupid people really are, and that's the very reason they peddle their inferior products with such masterful success.
thedotsays writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 7:35:39 AM

wow, when you get slammed by Ralph Macchio, you should really hang it up.
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 9:20:12 AM

I'm with Ralph on this one... this remake is garbage from the gate. Hey Ralph make another appearance on Entourage for old times sake!
i3u7n5 writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 9:22:07 AM

Yes, Karate Kid was such a seminal piece of cinema and it's an insult to even think of remaking the film! Macchio needs to get a life...and a careeer.
Schwasted writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 10:10:08 AM

That movie was a part of my childhood. The only thing worse than a remake of it is one that involves Will Smith and his family.
Adamtheflash writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 10:21:25 AM

It's nice to see he doesn't endorse this. He slammed it in a professional matter. Nice work Ralph
makingcircles writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 10:47:41 AM

Ralph is right on the money on this one. All the studio has to do is not call it "The Karate Kid". They are already going to have a draw with Jackie Chan. Hell, call it "The Kung-Fu Kid" for all I care. Karate was the martial art of the 80s anyway. You know what would be sweet is if they re-released the old Karate Kid in Theaters for a limited 20-some anniversery or something. I digress....go Ralph!
BREALZ writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 11:20:56 AM

waffleman...you just made my day...gotta love the sho'nuff of harlem! I'm kinda with Macchio on this. first of all, Jaden Smith!!??! WTF, how about doing some tv shows first before tackling anything without your daddy around then maybe give you a starting role!
horrorfan005 writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 11:56:36 AM

KA-POW!!!Right to the face of the young Jaden.
Cinestarr writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 1:23:26 PM

Ralph's right. This is time and money just being wasted. Remakes, sequals, prequals...that's all we're getting. I thought the writer's strike was over.
lokopr writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 3:52:43 PM

best comments ever xD!!!
i3u7n5 writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 4:32:28 PM

I'm not saying remakes are good or "right" but the Godfather, this aint...
Mattthoing writes:
on January 22nd, 2009 at 2:15:39 AM

Wax-on, Wax-off. Wax-on, Wax-off. Wax-on, Wax-off. Wax-on, Wax-off... Sorry, couldn't help it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved