WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: Joaquin Phoenix's First Rap Performance

Posted: January 20th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: Joaquin PhoenixSubmit Comment
Nothing about this seems right to me, but actor Joaquin Phoenix made his first public performance as a rapper this weekend at a Las Vegas club called LAVO. Phoenix put on a show consisting of three songs and falling on his butt at one time.

As expected, Casey Affleck was there to capture the entire thing. According to a recent announcement, Affleck, who is married to Phoenix's sister, is putting together a documentary of Phoenix's transition from acting to music.

Watch a fan-captured video below, which shows Phoenix "performing." It is so terrible that it almost seems like a prank with the entire world as the suckers. But according to Phoenix, he is just doing what he loves.

"This is who I am. This is my story," he told People magazine [via DailyNews]. "Are there people out there who think I'm a joke? I'm sure there will be ... I can't worry about that."

Phoenix announced his retirement from acting in October, telling E! that his role in "Two Lovers" would be his last. "This is my last performance as an actor," he said. "I'm not going to do films anymore."

Phoenix's first album is reportedly being produced by Sean "Diddy" Combs. A release date has not yet been revealed.

Do you think this is all part of some prank?

Video:


Source: DailyNews, YouTube


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
polardeficit writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 3:22:16 AM

look its johnny cash rapping
thomas deadison writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 3:45:10 AM

He's completely lost his mind.
kgoding writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 4:02:59 AM

I think this is a joke or something, I am really confused by all of this.
Projekt SHIN writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 4:44:27 AM

when i heard that he ws going to focus on music.... i figured it'd be like with a guitar or maybe a band.....i had no idea he was planning on "rapping"
thomas deadison writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 4:48:11 AM

Um, a guitar and a band does not exclude rapping at all. Most hip hop artists play with bands.
minkowski writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 6:03:59 AM

Please, leave cash alone. He had talent and he's dead. On the other hand, Phoenix has no talent, and will wish he's dead when his 'rapping' career vaporizes and he has to rebuild bridges into Hollywood.
minkowski writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 6:43:55 AM

Oh, he needs to chave. The gap in his stash looks ridiculous.
minkowski writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 6:44:44 AM

. . .shave. Yeah trim that sh*t. Get cleaned up white boy and stop making a fool of yourself.
Sev writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 7:39:12 AM

Bloody hell that was hard to watch :S
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 8:38:40 AM

When he said he is leaving acting to do music, i assumed he meant he was going to do country or maybe some big band stuff...haha not this!
kevo10183 writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 9:28:46 AM

in 2 months we will probably see a post for his new movie.
WV-Films writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 9:38:30 AM

Wow this is horrible. He's not even putting any effort into it. Not to mention his beat-boxing is so lame.
c-prime writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 9:50:55 AM

This is all bullsh*t: the claims to cease acting, the nonsensical rapping, everything. Phoenix probably never intended to quit Hollywood. Instead, he's probably prepping for his next role...as The Dude in a hip hop spinoff of "The Big Lebowski"! Ha ha.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 10:15:41 AM

that beard is about the only cool anymore, because beards are tough! this rapping thing has to be a joke. I cant honestly believe he'd be so stupid to throw away his career and whatever respect he gained as an actor on something like this.
solidkryptonite writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 11:03:28 AM

Either this is a joke or this guy needs to check into rehab. Maybe both.
DCJayhawk57 writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 12:50:34 PM

I think he and Casey Affleck have come up with the best mockumentary to date...
siebener writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 1:17:49 PM

he's gone "gallo" now.
joeysammartino writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 1:32:16 PM

i like it
joeysammartino writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 1:32:23 PM

i like it
Ronsauce writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 2:36:19 PM

"Um, a guitar and a band does not exclude rapping at all. Most hip hop artists play with bands." It excludes it enough. A dj isn't a band.
Cinestarr writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 2:51:35 PM

Actually a DJ is old school. Most new hip-hop artist use a live band when they do a live set. I don't know what Casey's damage is (I'd rather watch him over Ben) but I don't believe this act Joaquin is pulling. Unless he's been drinking from the same water fountain as Britney Spears...this has to be some kind of a joke.
meanmonkey22 writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 3:59:41 PM

This is some kinda Borat type thing. It has to be.
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 4:07:07 PM

the beat sounds like any other beat from today back to 5 years ago....when will people get to hear original sh*t like too short's beats or dr. dre's, or outkast or eminem even?...i'm not a huge fan of eminem...i liked his first 2 albums the best...but i'd prefer his sh*t over young jeezy or akon anyday!!...no wonder people prefer 80s and 90s rap more than 2004-today...and why is mtv still called mtv?...they should have changed their name after beavis and butthead went off air
KirkLazerus writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 6:23:47 PM

This is the greatest sh*t,i didn't like phoenix before,but he sure is a bad ass now,hes rapping and he dont give a f*ck hahahaha, funny sh*t
jjjjjoey writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 12:57:18 AM

Kirk got it right. Good acting or bad rapping, I dont care what he is doing, its still entertaining to watch. I wisg I could see him fall on his ass.
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 3:54:20 AM

jjjjjoey...you can...just type in 'joaquin pheonix falls' on youtube and you'll see it...saw it a few hours ago...made me laugh...i mean...to think he would give up acting to pursue a rap career...and then embarass himself by falling off the stage at his first performance of all performances...i wonder what his rap name is gonna be...'JP'?
synthetic1985 writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 11:48:51 AM

lol...i dunno why i didn't think of this before...it totally makes sense and is funny...'what are you doing JP?' 'just thinking about my game' 'really, how's that going?' 'people will bow to it!' 'alright that's creepy' hahaha
KirkLazerus writes:
on January 22nd, 2009 at 8:06:37 PM

i know his rap name,my brotha Overdosed hahahhahah,phoenix is bad ass with that crazy beard

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved