WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Four Hobbits Return for "The Hobbit" Prequels?

Posted: January 19th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Four Hobbits Return for "The Hobbit" Prequels?Submit Comment
"Lord of the Rings" star Dominic Monaghan revealed to MTV News that he and some of his fellow Hobbits (Elija Wood, Sean Astin, Billy Boyd) will be returning for "The Hobbit" prequels. "They really want us to come back, and I think there's a really strong chance that we might be back," he said.

Any fan of the JRR Tolkien books knows that Monaghan and friends do not show up in "The Hobbit," which means that new scenes will have to be added to what's already in the book.

"We're not in 'The Hobbit,' no, but I think the idea in [Peter Jackson's, Guillermo Del Toro's and the other producers'] heads is that the trilogy of the 'Lord of the Rings' films was so beloved by the fans that they're really keen to try to say thank you for the support that they gave to the 'Lord of the Rings' movies and possibly bring back some of those characters that they know and love," he explained.

Sounds like a good place to put in the familiar Hobbits would be in the second prequel, which will bridge the two new films with "The Lord of the Rings" trilogy.

Do you think it's a good idea to bring back the old Hobbits?

Click here to read more about "The Hobbit."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Kal-El writes:
on January 19th, 2009 at 7:37:47 PM

Sure. Add in R2-D2 and Harry Potter as well.
KaloVisor writes:
on January 19th, 2009 at 7:43:06 PM

with how much, I loved them In LOTR. I just don't see how they could fit into the hobbit film. they weren't even born yet. but for the prequel thing their talking about. Absolutely.
rocketman writes:
on January 19th, 2009 at 7:50:01 PM

DEAR.LORD.NO!
Planetastudios writes:
on January 19th, 2009 at 8:02:04 PM

looks good
onthejon writes:
on January 19th, 2009 at 9:08:35 PM

Supercop, meet the cop that can't be stopped
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on January 19th, 2009 at 9:17:15 PM

KAL-EL go to hell, bring em back
minkowski writes:
on January 19th, 2009 at 10:12:48 PM

Well, if they aren't supposed to appear in the Hobbit, why the hell is he putting them in there? To build continuity with fans of the films, but not the fans of the book? Stick to the original story. If you make a good film people will appreciate the work, and if not, no amount of previous actors will help.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on January 19th, 2009 at 11:41:35 PM

Its been so long since I read it I cant remember character specifics but I know that they arent in it so I dont see why they would. We'll see though, maybe they can loop it all in somehow. I really loved the book and I just hope it will be as good. Should be Guillermo Del Toro & Jackson at the helm.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 12:51:29 AM

isnt The Hobbit about young Bilbo Baggins? never read the book but i liked the movies, so if they kept true to the book i bet it would be good, but i doubt it if they use the gang from LoTR, how would that work? do hobbits not age? cuz the hobbit is an obvious prequel
Pepeman writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 1:07:33 AM

Are you people retarded ? " Sounds like a good place to put in the familiar Hobbits would be in the second prequel, which will bridge the two new films with "The Lord of the Rings" trilogy."
ilovebatman writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 1:34:39 AM

pepeman, i don't understand your complaint, though i do agree, many of the people that post here on WP ought to be shot on sight.
Gunslinger writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 5:32:48 AM

Jackson took a lot of liberties with the trilogy, but I think people in general got over it for the most part. As long as Smaug is still in it, I'm happy.
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 10:31:24 AM

If in the Hobbit, dumb idea. If it's for the prequel to LOTR cool idea.
Adamtheflash writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 2:07:07 PM

I really don't know what kind of "prequel" these four hobbits can be apart of. Frodo's story doesn't start until he receives the ring. They even point out in Fellowship how Frodo and Sam have never been on any adventures. I don't see much story ammo there.
HurricanePhill writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 2:46:08 PM

Last scene of 2nd Hobbit film "maybe", but outside of that they may as well throw Hellboy & King Kong in the mix too. Hell, just write the Bilbo character out of the Hobbit while you're at it... It was a bit part anyway (he states sarcastically)!!! I think they should just tell the story the way it needs to be told and give the fans more credit. Really, who's gonna boycott the Hobbit ("PREQUEL") because Frodo, Sam, Merry, & Pippen weren't in it? That would be like boycotting the Star Wars prequels because Luke, Leia, Han Solo & Chewbacca weren't in it. The Hobbit is a timeless classic for a reason.
makingcircles writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 3:42:54 PM

There is no need to put these Hobbits in. I think Gandolf being Sir Ian McKellan (spelling?) is a good enough bridge to LOTR. Just make a badass Smaug and the world will be happy.
manichispanic writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 3:56:20 PM

sounds like a terrible idea
Cinestarr writes:
on January 21st, 2009 at 1:05:11 PM

Worst idea ever.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved