WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Roland Emerich Developing Isaac Asimov's "Foundation" Trilogy

Posted: January 17th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Roland Emerich Developing Isaac AsimovSubmit Comment
Columbia won an auction late Thursday for screen rights to "Foundation," Isaac Asimov's ground breaking science fiction trilogy. The film will be developed as a directing vehicle for Roland Emmerich (Independence Day, The Day After Tomorrow).

Originally published as a series of eight short stories in Astounding Magazine beginning in 1942, "Foundation" is a complex saga about humans who are scattered on planets throughout the galaxy, living under the rule of the Galactic Empire.

A psycho-historian who can scientifically read the future sees an imminent empire collapse, and sets to work preparing to save the knowledge of mankind.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on January 17th, 2009 at 12:48:46 AM

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!
minkowski writes:
on January 17th, 2009 at 1:15:49 AM

Thanks for editing that, Alex, without deleting the post. I went a little overboard. I simply can't believe the are giving Emmerich the project over. . .anyone else. Shocker. Now I await everyone else telling me how awesome he really is and how I just don't understand his films as the masterpieces they really are.
thomas deadison writes:
on January 17th, 2009 at 2:17:16 AM

I agree. This is tragic news. Love Asimov... but this man is quite a hack.
BlueMobius writes:
on January 17th, 2009 at 2:18:23 AM

I won't tell you he's a genius but I generally enjoy his movies for the popcorn fests they are. Now, Emerich doing Foundation? Nah, I don't see it. I just get this feeling that he's not sophisticated enough a director to pull it off. I'd be happier if he simply produced it and let a more visionary director take the lead.
ubergrease writes:
on January 17th, 2009 at 2:18:39 AM

nah, gotta agree with you here. this is too important a piece of work to trust Emmerich with.
bugmenot writes:
on January 17th, 2009 at 2:58:06 AM

For once, I agree with minkowski:

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!

WV-Films writes:
on January 17th, 2009 at 3:37:55 AM

"The Galactic Empire?"..... like Palpatine's Galactic Empire?
Schwasted writes:
on January 17th, 2009 at 11:00:15 AM

This sounds horrible.
meanmonkey22 writes:
on January 17th, 2009 at 2:02:03 PM

Oh....no.... :'-(
bugmenot writes:
on January 17th, 2009 at 5:14:21 PM

This is the worst news since Peter Berg got the rights to Dune!
Gunslinger writes:
on January 17th, 2009 at 6:53:45 PM

Great source material. At least someone is doing something with it. Not a lot of action, so I don't know how they're gonna make it Hollywood. I mean, aside from the space battles that get minimal description there's what, like one blaster fired in the whole trilogy? It would also be nice if the public were a little more aware about where Lucas got the the idea for calculating the coordinates for a jump to hyperspace and the name Han from.
MrSammich writes:
on January 17th, 2009 at 10:09:16 PM

I can see this movie in the $3.99 bin at my local carwash now that Emmerich has been attached.
bugmenot writes:
on January 17th, 2009 at 11:45:14 PM

What's next on the chopping block? Ringworld? Nah..they'll wait til Niven's also dead. I mean, honestly - they have f*cked over Asimov enough, haven't they? First Bicentennial Man and then I-Robot (which COULD have been decent, had they not called it I-Robot in the first place...) the man's spinning in his grave. Emerich, being the pompous ass he is, will surely drive some allegory about how much America sucks into this movie...
bacci40 writes:
on January 18th, 2009 at 1:14:22 AM

how can one adapt a book that one is not intelligent enough to even read? see, here is the problem...there isnt anywhere in foundation where emerich can shove in tons of american flags and sappy dialogue i do believe that all the full retards run the hollywood studios of course, this project was originally attached to the dude who wrote the script for i, robot...so this is a teeny step up
minkowski writes:
on January 18th, 2009 at 1:44:56 AM

A few numbers and letter for everyone: 10,000BC. 'nough said.
Gunslinger writes:
on January 18th, 2009 at 4:55:42 PM

Gee, I didn't know Asimov wrote 10,000 B.C. (And isn't that 2 letters there?)
minkowski writes:
on January 19th, 2009 at 12:06:54 AM

I didn't know I ever claimed Asimov wrote 10,000BC. Quote just exactly where I said anything like that. I'm waiting. And yes, an 's' got dropped. In fact, Emmerich wrote and directed 10,000BC, easily his worst film. Stargate is his best, and if you plot that on an xy graph, you will see a linear decline. All of his other films fit nicely on that line. Anyway, I just can't understand the rationale for giving him the rights to Asimov. Doesn't the Asimov estate have to dign off on this crap, or did they just auction off the rights to Columbia with naught a choice on who directs? This is a grand disservice to them and to the memory of Mr. Three Laws of Robotics. I wonder if any of them have seen Roland's films. I wouldn't trust Emmerich with a Haldeman story, much less anyone light years better.
Gunslinger writes:
on January 19th, 2009 at 12:40:57 AM

Calm down, Mink. A little defensive there. And did you say Haldeman? You mean as in "Robot Jox" Haldeman? What was the tagline for that? "Two men. Two Machines. Too Wild." Actually, I'm kidding. Haldeman is pretty brilliant in general. He was actually even kind enough to return my email a little while back when I had a few questions about something I'm working on. I was shocked. But my point here is that Foundation has been around since before Roswell, and no one's done anything with it. Seeing an interpretation of it done with a substantial budget, rather than Last Starfighter caliber CGI would somewhat interest me, even though, yes, aside from Stargate (which I don't think stands more than one viewing, and has aged poorly) and, maybe The Patriot, (and Independence Day if you're drunk) Emmerich has wasted a lot of celluloid. I'll wait for 2012 to pas any serious judgment, though...Also, Mink, you may want to look up what a sycophant is before you use the word or a variant thereof again. I don't think it means what you think it means.
Gunslinger writes:
on January 19th, 2009 at 1:06:05 AM

If anything, you've gotta say that Emmerich was at least smart enough to see something in Heath Ledger when he put him in The Patriot, even way back then.
minkowski writes:
on January 19th, 2009 at 5:46:52 PM

I never used the word sycophant within this thread, so I have not one clue what the f*ck you are aimlessly talking about. And Emmerich doesn't necessarily decide who gets hired. Haldeman is garbage, insisting on adding useless homoesexual scenes for no other reason than to get poltically correct, unless he's gay. Who knows, who cares, he sucks.
Gunslinger writes:
on January 19th, 2009 at 8:38:45 PM

You used sycophant in a previous post, dipsh*t. Short-term memory problems? And Haldeman has been married 35 years, teaches at MIT, has two degrees, fought in Nam, and has won the Hugo, the Nebula, the World Fantasy, and the Ditmar awards. And are you homophobic, or what? Sounds like you've got a bit of growing up to do.
minkowski writes:
on January 19th, 2009 at 10:01:20 PM

Then Haldeman is an idiot. No grown heterosexual man wants to read that sh*t in the middle of what is supposedly a science fiction story, not some humanistic avante-garde bullsh*t with homoerotic elements added so he looks socially cutting edge. As for sycophants, you should try the dictionary yourself. People like you, pretentious morons with the vocabulary of ten year olds, toss around homophobe as if it has some sort of meaning. It doesn't. Homophobe? lol. I fear something similar, what exactly? People like me? People of the same or different sexuality? The etymology of the word is a joke. It's like calling people that disagree with religion theophobes, but you never hear that sh*t. You realize, don't you, that your a tool of the social order, tossing out insults without thinking, without understanding what your saying. Instead of thinking for a moment, you chastise someone else for using sycophant supposedly improperly, without grasping the context. And I'm the dipsh*t? At least I know the term 'homophobe' is a word invented from poor and dubious etymology in order to stigmatise and marginalize critics of homosexuality. You do not. You're an idiot and I'm laughing. And here's the definition of sycophant: a servile person who, acting in his or her own self interest, attempts to win favor by flattering one or more influential persons. Bingo. Exactly as I intended to use. lol. Good god, for someone that tries to show up another person, you've got a hell of lot to learn. Now go back to slinging your gun or whatever it is you do when you aren't looking like a damned fool.
Gunslinger writes:
on January 19th, 2009 at 11:20:49 PM

Mink, you're adorable! Keep it up.
Gunslinger writes:
on January 19th, 2009 at 11:23:43 PM

Had to look it up, by the way, didn't you?
Gunslinger writes:
on January 19th, 2009 at 11:50:55 PM

And you said, "You're a f*cking idiot. I'm not even talking to you or any other poster and here you are, like some beer-bellied sycophant, trying to put me into some hole." That hardly sounds like someone trying "to win favor by flattering one or more influential persons," now does it? Sounds like a douche with a poor command of the English language.
minkowski writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 1:22:40 AM

Imbecile, I wasn't calling him a sycophant because he 'tried to put me into a hole', but because of his or her previous position and my opinion of his or her attitude. You're too goddamned stupid to understand what other people are saying outside explicit language. Get it? You're too dumb for conversations that don't involve body language and eye contact. Your a simp. And let's say I don't know what the word sycophant means. I have a large vocabulary, having read the dictionary for years, but I'll play your wonderful little game. So, you do understand that a 'command of language' doesn't involve knowing the definition of every word, but instead is the use of the structure of grammar to translate a thought into a coherent and self-consistent assemblage of words? That's the command of language you so maladroitly speak about with reckless abandon. And interestingly enough, you sound exactly like that other childishly idiotic poster bugmenot. But I guess the two of you aren't the same person. No, never. lol.
minkowski writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 1:26:28 AM

I meant 'you're', not 'your' lest bugmenot, err, gunslinger amuse him and his inferiority complex by suggesting I don't understand contractions. lol.
Gunslinger writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 1:28:03 AM

Oh, sorry. I guess I should just give back my English/Creative Writing degree, then. You're hilarious, Mink. Looking forward to more, though you really should know when to just shut the hell up.
minkowski writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 1:40:22 AM

English Creative Writing degree? LOL. You're kidding me, right? That's what you've got? Every untalented, pretentious 'open-minded' liberal arts kook gets a 'creative writing' degree to hang next to their bookshelf of crappy left-leaning literature, arrogantly thinking they have something to offer the world, when in reality, they simply DON'T. Creative Writing? Really??? I took a CW class in college. Know what the instructor told me? Get out son, you're too bright for this trash. You can actually do more than 'scribble feelings'. Now, please, stop making me burn good calories from my dropping jaw under the weight of your tiresome asinine remarks. Good lord.
minkowski writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 1:50:24 AM

Oh, and I'm relieved by your admission. You're just some sad person with a sh*tty useless degree. My concern lay in the possibility that your nick is a mask for someone important with a real degree. Or, even better, the ghost of Samuel Beckett. With your revelation, I'm much relieved. lol.
Gunslinger writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 2:13:11 AM

I'm sorry. It's just hard to take anyone seriously who uses "lol" anymore. I mean seriously? Are you really laughing out loud at your own jokes, or do you feel your jokes are so inadequate that you need to point out when you've made one? It's like asking a girl, "Is it in?" And, by the way, have you ever even kissed a girl? Or do you just sit at home and watch "300" every night, full of conflicted emotions and self-loathing? Judging by your Haldeman comments, I am left to wonder...
Gunslinger writes:
on January 20th, 2009 at 2:18:19 AM

...and judging by your punctuation and grammar, I doubt that your teacher told you to get out because you were too good. Probably just didn't want you to burden any other educators with your vapid tripe. Actually, I'm surprised you even went to college. I thought you were probably in high school.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved