WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Masterminds" Comedy, with Zach Galifianakis and Kristen Wiig
Mar 31st, 2015
Disney to Make Live-Action "Mulan" Movie
Mar 31st, 2015
Trailer: Dwayne Johnson Stars in Disney's Action-Packed "Bambi" Film
Mar 30th, 2015
First Footage From "The Walking Dead" Spin-Off TV Series
Mar 30th, 2015
"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office
Mar 30th, 2015
"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History
Mar 30th, 2015
New Footage in "Jurassic World" TV Spot
Mar 30th, 2015
Photo: Hugh Jackman Hints at Final Appearance as Wolverine
Mar 29th, 2015
"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed
Mar 29th, 2015
20th Century Fox to Turn Popular "The Leviathan" Short Film into Feature Film
Mar 29th, 2015
"Spectre" James Bond Film Unveils Trailer
Mar 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Spin-Off TV Series Unveils Title
Mar 28th, 2015
"Transformers" Getting Lots More Sequels and Spin-Offs
Mar 28th, 2015
Antonio Banderas Says Shrek May Appear in "Puss in Boots 2"
Mar 28th, 2015
First Look at Ryan Reynolds in "Deadpool"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for JK Rowling's "The Casual Vacancy"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Absolution" Thriller, with Steven Seagal and Vinnie Jones
Mar 27th, 2015
Julia Louis-Dreyfus in Talks for American Remake of "Force Majeure"
Mar 27th, 2015
Trailer for Kit Harington's "Spooks: The Greater Good"
Mar 27th, 2015
First Look at Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Mar 26th, 2015
Trailer for Arnold Schwarzenegger's "Maggie" Zombie Film
Mar 26th, 2015
First Clear Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 26th, 2015
Idris Elba May Play Villain in "Star Trek 3"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Photos of Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson From "Zoolander 2"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Trailer for "Entourage" Movie
Mar 25th, 2015
Vin Diesel Predicts "Furious 7" Will Win Best Picture Oscar
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Slow West" Western Thriller
Mar 25th, 2015
Poster for "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Dustin Hoffman's "Boychoir" Film
Mar 25th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film
Mar 24th, 2015
"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon
Mar 24th, 2015
Vivica A. Fox Returns for "Independence Day 2"
Mar 24th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director Talks "I Am Legend" Prequel

Posted: January 16th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director Talks "I Am Legend" PrequelSubmit Comment
"I Am Legend" director Francis Lawrence told Sci Fi Wire that he, Will Smith and writer/producer Akiva Goldsman are currently waiting for the script to the proposed prequel.

"Yeah, if we figure out the story, I'm absolutely involved in the prequel," said Lawrence. "We've had conversations. The three of us, Will and Akiva and I, have sat down and talked, and there's a writer that's working on it right now. So we came up with the bones of a story, and now we're waiting to see a script."

The first film showed Robert Neville (Smith), the last human survivor of a virulent plague that has transformed the rest of humanity into ravening vampire-like creatures. The prequel will again explore the idea of what it means to be the last man on Earth.

"That was the real reason I wanted to do the movie in the first place, really, was the idea of 'What does that world look like, what does it do to you when you're by yourself?'" said Lawrence. "What does it do without people, without companionship and sound and the loss of your family, without anybody to talk to? I think that's really what people connected to, and so the tough thing is, how do we do that again and in a different way?"

Lawrence added that there's no time frame for development of the prequel. "It's really just honestly about trying to come up with something really good," he said. "I think that's the bottom line for all of us. It's not a rush. It's 'Let's just try and make it good and make it right and do what we want to do.'"

Click here to read our "I Am Legend" review.

Source: Sci Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 6 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
meanmonkey22 writes:
on January 16th, 2009 at 6:55:37 PM

I. Can't. Wait!
hbomb28 writes:
on January 16th, 2009 at 7:10:42 PM

LETS HOPE WILL SMITH WILL COME BACK
coldplayesence writes:
on January 16th, 2009 at 10:51:09 PM

Ahmm hbomb28 he was the first one coming back
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on January 17th, 2009 at 3:05:25 AM

wait did he say they're not going to rush this and waiting for a good story? this doesn't sound like the usual dumbasses in hollywood. well alright this may be good
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on January 17th, 2009 at 9:42:58 AM

I think its all about a good solid story that'll make sense leading up to it and from what they're saying it seems like they will have a good one. Getting Will Smith back will be the next thing, I could see him being iffy about it. Although he did return for MIB 2 and is talking about a sequel to Hanc*ck so we'll see. I'd be all for a prequel/sequel because the first one was good. Except for the sh*tty CGI.
Strider999 writes:
on January 17th, 2009 at 5:51:32 PM

i Cant Wait!!!

Mexico Pays "Spectre" $20 Million to Rewrite Script

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment

Disney's "Cinderella" Dominates at Box Office

Hugh Jackman Knows Who Would Win in a Fight, Batman or Wolverine

"The Dark Knight" Voted the Greatest Superhero Film of All Time

Stephen King Comments on Early Screening of Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film

Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

Chris Pratt Comments on Starring in "Indiana Jones 5"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved