WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Is There an End to "Terminator" Franchise?

Posted: January 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Is There an End to "Terminator" Franchise?Submit Comment
I have many issues with the "Terminator" franchise; one of them being that it seems to be never-ending. This is common in many time-travel films, since you can always change events by going back in time and people in the future/present must always battle the outcome.

Since we now have a new "Terminator" trilogy, maybe director McG and his crew have some ideas on how to end this whole thing. "Yes, we have," McG told Bloody-Disgusting. "The films will all button up at the end of three."

He added that he can't guarantee that all three films will be made or that he will return to helm, but the plan is currently to end the franchise at the end of this trilogy.

Click here to read more about "Terminator Salvation."

Source: Bloody-Disgusting


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Adamtheflash writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 4:45:58 PM

Why is your opinion needed here? It's a ridiculous claim anyway to say that there is no end to this story. It ends when the war with the machines is over in the future. Think of the first movies as prequels. They set up the main part of the story, John Connor's story, which we are about to see starting in this film. Where does WP get you writers and how do they allow you to keep asking stupid questions and ridiculous claims?
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 5:01:46 PM

Ugh. McCheese's vision constitutes the 'main story'? Dear god. And other 'franchises' seem to never end, and they don't use time travel, so I son't think Terminator continues simply because of the aspect of traveling through time. It's called greed, and a lack of imagination. Terminator will end when people stop watching. Fifty years from now, Terminator will have its eighth remake, spinoff or directly inpired film.
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 5:02:55 PM

Well, eighth remake and/or eightieth spinoff et cetera. Really wish they had left Terminator alone after T2.
meanmonkey22 writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 5:04:00 PM

I agree with Adamtheflash. Fully.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 5:45:55 PM

No they used the time travel device to go back in time with a nuke and destroyed the old time travel device before the terminators could use it.....WHewwwww! there see I did it the end.
bloodgear writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 5:56:33 PM

Oh, no question? Just a rant? I expected less of you WP. Much less! If you want an opinion, post a comment or write a blog. This isn't news. He's always been making HIS trilogy. A director doesn't leave it hanging on the last film. Someone will reboot it along the line. The Franchise never ends. Not should it.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 6:05:13 PM

Judgment Day Is Inevitable
alexgi writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 6:48:05 PM

Think about it. The machines knew that John Connor could lead the war against them, so they sent back a Terminator to kill his mother. If they feel they are still losing the war, they can go back to destroy whoever or whatever they want. And the humans can do the same. This is truly a never-ending story.
MrSammich writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 10:23:48 PM

In my opinion it already stopped at the second movie. The war with Skynet was stopped, the machines destroyed, and the T-1000 that was sent was a prototype that was sent as a last ditch effort to stop Conner, but even that was stopped. But as long as there is money to be made they are going to force more half assed stories, that do not really fit in, like they did with the third film to keep loading our Summer with sequels.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2009 at 1:01:14 AM

Mr Sammich, are you my long-lost brother?
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2009 at 1:08:20 AM

Is there an end to the franchise, Alex, or an end to the story as it roughly conforms to Camerons original vision? The films are progressing in fictional chronological time. Either the third film will end with the destruction or Skynet or it will not. So, if not, does that imply the Terminator franchise is forever mired in the futire, on the battlefield with endless HKs and terminators? Is that all we have to look forward to, or maybe even worse just reboots and remakes. The Terminator, remade, coming Summer 2018. Terminator 2, remade, coming Summer 2023. Terminator 3. . .and then spinoffs. All this sh*t made until people stop watching, Video games, toys, comics, tv series. Maybe a movie told from the Terminator's perspective, or a HK love story, or a film about the day Skynet went to the market.
alexgi writes:
on January 16th, 2009 at 2:53:26 AM

I, personally, would love to see Cameron's vision come to some sort of a conclusion. Then we'll get into spin-offs and remakes.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2009 at 3:37:20 AM

Alex, the point of T2 was that there was no hard conclusion. It was left to the reader. That's what many great authors do, they leave the ending ambiguous, so that you, the reader, can draw a conclusion. Because Cameron is a something of a cynic, he didn't want the finale of T2 to seem too terribly upbeat and final, even considering the alt ending. He HOPED humans would avoid the war with the machines, that the Connor's had given mankind enough time to prepare for sentient AI without a disastroous conflict. He took a cynical look at mankind's failings, and offered a slant of hope. T3 and T4 simply say that mankind can't think, that we can only fight. And f*ck. That the future isn't for us to decide, that we are little more than animals without much thought, and that we will always f*ck up and have to battle our own nightmares. I don't believe the writers of T3 and t4 were thinking of that when they penned the scripts, they just wanted to give the companies a story and to make a living. But again, Cameron gave us a conclusion to the war: Skynet LOST, mankind won. Through it all, through a war we caused, mankind fought down the dark tunnel and into the light. The t-1000 was the last. Skynet had lost. Mankind was on the verge of victory. The only way that T3 and T4 have any credibility is due to the ambiguities of time travel, basically in the kinks of a paradox caused by a phenomenon most scientists say is phyisically impossible. So, I really think Cameron's ending WAS the conclusion: war averted, but if not, we win and Skynet is destroyed. Story over, The End. Not for Hollywood. They milk any market. They're like gold prospectors heading for Sutter's Mill. They will mill into oblivion any line of gold ore, scarring the land and maiming anyone that gets in the way. And that is nothing but greed, a vice people once avoided. Now it's the American Way.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved