WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

JJ Abrams Never Approached Shatner for "Star Trek" Cameo

Posted: January 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
JJ Abrams Never Approached Shatner for "Star Trek" CameoSubmit Comment
Sci Fi Wire chatted with JJ Abrams about his upcoming "Star Trek" film and decided to once again bring up William Shatner and his claim that he was never approached for a cameo in the film. Shatner previously revealed that if he was approached about a small part, he would have rejected it, but he was never approached.

Abrams claims that Shatner misunderstood his comments when he made public that he did what he could to get Shatner a cameo. "I was quoted as saying we tried to get him in the movie," said Abrams. "What I meant was we were trying internally to find a way to take a dead character and resurrect him without it seeming lame. We couldn't figure out a way to do it. I think that when I said we tried to get him into the movie, he read it as if we were trying to call him. I would not have wasted his time with a bad idea."

For some reason, all this bickering seems staged. If they were able to get Charlton Heston into the 2001 remake of "Planet of the Apes," they can get Shatner into the upcoming "Star Trek" film. If they don't, I see that as an insult to the man and there is no way Abrams would do that.

Do you think Shatner will end up in Abrams' "Star Trek"?

Click here to read more about "Star Trek."

Source: Sci Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WV-Films writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 3:10:15 AM

Oh no. What will we do with out fragmented acting and a Rocket Man reprise?
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 5:44:16 AM

Shatner's speaking pattern's are undeservedly exaggerated. Shame we won't see him in ST, but he did die.
Pembrokehawk writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 8:20:22 AM

He should do the intro vocal and thats it.
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 8:55:39 AM

Doesn't this movie revolve around time travel? Sounds like crazy ass Shatner got c*ck blocked.
jake812 writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 12:03:36 PM

Shatner shouldnt have let them kill James Kirk in Start Trek Generations. It was a fool move, he shouldve known better.
johnthemon writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 12:10:41 PM

JJ Abrams needs is out of his head. Who cares if he's dead! This is your movie JJ, do what you want. Ignore that abominable movie Star Trek: Generations
meanmonkey22 writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 1:22:49 PM

OMG?! Whatever will we do without Shatner's sh*tty acting in this kick-ass-looking movie?!
swoooop writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 4:45:02 PM

Who knows, maybe this is a marketing stunt. Maybe Shatner has a cameo, and J.J and Shatner is having fun with us! THAT would have been sooo cool.
Adamtheflash writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 4:47:23 PM

how much are we going to beat this subject into the ground?
onkelchrispy writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 11:53:23 PM

JJ Abrams can eat Shatners sh*t.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on January 16th, 2009 at 12:09:47 AM

Shatner can "HELP NEGOTIATE" with the villians in the film.
mizzou78 writes:
on January 28th, 2009 at 8:41:39 PM

shatner can play kirks dad? he can play a priceline salesman ahahahha

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved