WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

McG Reveals His "Superman Returns" Version

Posted: January 14th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
McG Reveals His "Superman Returns" VersionSubmit Comment
When Warner Bros were making "Superman Returns," they were considering several directors before settling on Bryan Singer. First Brett Ratner revealed that his version would have taken "place on Krypton for about half of the movie. So it was much more otherworldly, and much darker, because there was a civil war on Krypton. You'd get more of the history."

Then comic book writer Mark Millar revealed what he would have done with the Superman property. "I want to start on Krypton, a thousand years ago, and end with Superman alone on Planet Earth, the last being left on the planet, as the yellow sun turns red and starts to supernova, and he loses his powers."

Now, LatinoReview found out that McG (Terminator Salvation) was also in talks to direct "Superman Returns." Here is what he had to say about his version: "I would've made it a much darker film. I like Bryan [Singer], I think he's a fantastic director and I like [Richard] Donner too, but I would have made it darker."

When asked if he would have had Lex Luthor be the main villain, McG replied: "Doomsday, I like Doomsday." So why wasn't McG chosen to bring Superman back to the big screen? "I actually got fired from that due to my fear of flying."

What do you think of McG's ideas?

Source: LatinoReview


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Adamtheflash writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 5:15:35 PM

I think that he wasn't the first guy to think of putting Doomsday in there. You act like he's some kind of visionary or something. I like the first two ideas, Ratner's and Millar's.
yoasche writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 5:19:42 PM

Si, i like millars the best. mcg better not f*ck up t4 but then again bale wouldnt be signed on for a trilogy if that was the case
Blank x2 writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 6:30:52 PM

Doomsday is always a good idea when discussing Superman villains.
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 7:42:52 PM

better than not mark millar
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 8:09:18 PM

Thats a shame, Doomsday would be a super asset to the next film. I hope they find someone who will make it what it should be and in that sense more emotional and darker. Superman really trying to make it through it all.
MrSammich writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 8:21:22 PM

As much as I would hate to say it, Ratner's idea was the best one. This McG guy was kind of cool after Cloverdale and such, but the more I hear about him recently the more I think he is one of thoes hype-style directors that just brings other talented people in and depends on them.
BondMcClane007 writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 8:32:41 PM

What is it with these guys and making superman a dark movie.. its not suppose to be dark.. not everything has a dark side... sesame street doesnt have a dark side.. The hard part about superman is making it a serious movie. Doesnt mean it has to be a dark and twisted movie.
onthejon writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 10:10:50 PM

Ideas and talent aside, I think it sucks that he was cut because of his fear of flying. I guess he should have 'manned' up.
jake812 writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 10:23:32 PM

I think they should move with the mark millar idea.
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 11:03:13 PM

2 early for Doomsday
2112 writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 11:04:01 PM

I love the idea of starting it on krypton so you get more of a history..
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 11:11:38 PM

Hmmm. I think a lot of people want Millar because they liked Wanted, a film I feel not only stretched believability but often traipsed blindly and heavybooted into the bland pastures of cliche. Wanted only excelled in the realm of violence and sexual imagery, thanks to many a guns ablazing and Jolie strutting like a strumpet. Can Millar do Superman? What's in his bibliography? He did Superman Red Son, which was ok, but hardly the best Supes comic ever published. I really think they need more creative imput than just Millar, especially considering how bad Superman is seen since Returns. Pay Jurgens to join. I don't want McG handling my Subway sandwich, much less Superman. Ratner's idea just plain sucks. Not many mainstream people will appreciate half the movie set on Krypton, especially for a film seen as a desperate attempt at rejuvenating, nay resuscitating, Superman. Imagine if Nolan had set half of Batman Begins within the walls of Wayne Manor. No one wants to see that sh*t. And I have no idea what Millar's talking about. He wants the film to start on Krypton but end with the earth's demise? Superman let humans go extinct? Mankind didn't stop the sun from dying? A grim ending for sure, and audiences LOVE happy endings. Also, the Sun, OUR Sun WILL NOT GO SUPERNOVA, so Millar is a little scientifically illiterate. It will turn into a red giant, swelling past the earths orbit, frying the planet. So Mark is confusing two possible ends in stellar evolution. Again, the Sun doesn't have enough mass to nova, supernova whatever. DC will want sequels, so perhaps Millar is referring the last film's final act. Dunno, but aside from the fact his vision is rather dim and thin, I think DC needs to take a different path. They need to hold a 'commission', get massive input from fans and writers, review past work and look at what makes Superman exceptional, heroic and desirable as a superhero. Don't just grab up the 'hot' guy right now because they're lazy and desperate.
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 11:12:59 PM

The movie is called Superman, not Krypton, for a reason. Starting it there, fine, but leaving it there for half a film is just unforgivable.
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 9:00:59 AM

Although I think Millar's idea sounds more exciting he's a hit or miss kind of writer who has shown to be an easy sellout to Hollywood in a negative way. So I dunno, sucks what happened to Singer on his take. Fandom got the best of him.
mattcl23 writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 3:03:17 PM

I thought Millar's sounded interesting. Watching Superman all alone and helpless as the sun dies out. Pretty cool alternative to Supermans end instead of Doomsday.
autiger10 writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 3:05:58 PM

minkowski@ good-point
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 5:50:11 PM

Doomsday should be the last villain superman ever fights.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved