WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Watchmen" Settlement is Coming

Posted: January 14th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Watchmen" Settlement is ComingSubmit Comment
A scheduled Tuesday court conference between Fox and Warner Bros attorneys has been canceled, fueling talk that a settlement in the contentious "Watchmen" case is imminent.

Fox sued Warners last February, saying that the studio infringed on its rights to make the comic book adaptation. In December, when federal judge Gary A. Feess ruled that Fox has distribution rights to the film, Warners faced the prospect of having the film's March 6th release blocked.

Settlement talks between the two sides became serious over the weekend and continued to heat up yesterday.

A settlement could cost Warners tens of millions of dollars. A case involving copyright ownership of Warners' "The Dukes of Hazzard," which Feess blocked from release in 2005, ended in a settlement worth a reported $17.5 million.

With "Watchmen," an adaptation of the Alan Moore graphic novel with a budget in the $130 million range, the financial stakes are higher. According to sources, Fox is asking for upfront fees as well as a percentage of the back-end.

Do you care if Fox profits from this as long as the film is not delayed?

Click here to read our exclusive "Watchmen" preview.

Source: The Hollywood Reporter


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
yoasche writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 5:26:33 PM

yes fox can suck a d*ck, the money-hungry bastards are f*ckin with my emotions and when you f*ckin wit my emotions then you f*ckin wit ya life. tell you said that!
swoooop writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 6:06:17 PM

What they potentially earns in this settlement, they will lose inn goodwill from their audience, witch will result inn an economical loss...I hope!
pleshy writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 6:42:32 PM

I'm really starting to hate Fox. It seems all they care about is money. Ruthlessly they stopped Prison Break. Shamelessly they are trying to steal Warner's money. I just hope they don't jeopardize Watchman. Fox is ruining everything! :(
WV-Films writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 6:49:30 PM

Can someone explain to me how FOX has any rights at all, seeing as WB owns DC?
UraharaShop writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 7:14:17 PM

Fox certainly does suck, but all any studio cares about is money, especially Warner Bros. Anyone remember when they delayed Harry Potter for a year in order to avoid Twilight competition? Though Fox is more shiesty, they're business men first and movie makers second. Not to say I'm not pissed at Fox, but can you really blame them when you think about it? If they have the legal grounds to back it up, then there's not much else one can do. They waited a while, yeah, but they needed to see if Watchmen was the cash cow that we all knew it would be to make it worth their trouble.
bacci40 writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 7:54:55 PM

fox gets paid to do nothing how can i get a gig like that?
pleshy writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 8:06:21 PM

Sure, everything's about money. I'm not that naive. However, it's called "the art of the moving picture" for a reason - it's an art. Companies should consider a bit of subtlety. Fox is just vulgar. I agree, it's perfectly natural to protect your interest but as you said they waited long enough to see whether the film's going to be a success. I understand that too but it's just a downright bastard move. Sure, I could even admit that Warner Bros. didn't do a research before greenlighting the project or maybe they knew that Fox owned something and were still stupid enough to proceed. Either way I'm still pissed at Fox. They're just so obvious, they don't care at all. Another example of something they ruined is Firefly. I'd also like to say that I'm not a fan of Watchman universe. I haven't even heard about it before the movie.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 8:19:47 PM

I DONT CARE WHO GETS THE DAMN MONEY I JUST WANNA SEE THIS MASTER WORK!! GREEDY f*ckS! JUST RELEASE IT!
takai writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 10:38:57 PM

i knew this was going to happen. watchmen will be released as planned and we'll all j*zz in our pants at the same time come midnight on march 6th. however, like swoooop said, they will gain money, but loose not only fan respect, but director respect. THAT my friends, is huge. after knowing this, as much as it pains me to say this, a part of me really wants wolverine to bail. i know i know, it hurts, but if that movie tanks, it's curtains for fox. then again, deadpool? gambit? oh the other side LONGS for this film to be good. in any case, i'm very relieved to know that watchmen won't be stopped or, more importantly, tampered with. thank you God!
keeeef writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 11:31:08 AM

this is gettin too silly now. f*ck the money, fox didnt care about the film when they were approached with it until WB got the ball moving. if fox have that much of a problem then WB should let fox make their own watchmen film and release both films at the same time and see how many ppl see which one, i reckon 90% of ppl would watch WB's release. i dont pirate film but if fox screw the watchmen up then i will be ripping xmen origins off for all its worth, i'd glady make a hundred dvds and give them away for free just so they dont get the seats filled in the cinemas. rant over.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved