WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jackie Chan is Mr. Miyagi in "Karate Kid" Remake

Posted: January 14th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jackie Chan is Mr. Miyagi in "Karate Kid" RemakeSubmit Comment
It was previously announced that Columbia Pictures is putting together a new version of the 1984 hit "The Karate Kid," which has been re-worked as a vehicle for Jaden Smith (The Pursuit of Happyness), the son of Will Smith.

Everything about this idea sounds terrible to me, but it gets much worse. Jaden later announced that the new movie will borrow elements from the original plot, but he would want to get rid of the famous crane kick. Instead, Jaden wants to use some moves that he has seen playing video games on his Xbox.

Now, Entertainment Weekly is reporting that the role of Mr. Miyagi, made famous by Pat Morita, will be going to Jackie Chan (Rush Hour). That's right, Jackie Chan will be mentoring a bullied 10-year-old in order to teach him to stand up for himself.

How incredibly fantastic does this sound?

Source: Entertainment Weekly


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Elvis Van Helsing writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 2:23:47 AM

Suddenly this might not be awful!
MrSammich writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 3:56:48 AM

Yes it will be. Jackie Chan is no longer the key ingredient for success. I think that this movie will be lame, like Chuck Norris Sidekicks lame. But at least I will always have the original, something to show the kids when it gets released on DVD, which will probably be very soon thanks to the remake.
Projekt SHIN writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 4:14:37 AM

first of alll.... why will smith son??? and why no crane kick?? ridiculous
UraharaShop writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 4:36:43 AM

Ugh, this is beginning to sound terrible. Let sleeping dogs friggin' lie sometimes Hollywood.
Jackburtonjnr writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 4:53:42 AM

Not to be pedantic or anything, but isn't Miyagi a Japanese name and doesn't Jackie Chan do Kung Fu? And isn't Kung Fu a little bit different from Karate? And wasn't Pat Morita a really amazing actor who ended up getting nominated for an oscar, not a martial artist? And doesn't "I want to use moves I've seen off my Xbox game" sound like a really retarded thing to say? And isn't everyone a little sick of sh*t remakes or even remakes in general?
snowberd writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 6:04:05 AM

Sweep the leg Jackie!
Frankichiro writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 7:32:35 AM

I'm all for it. Jackie Chan is still awesome, and the crane kick is just ridiculous, even though it's a cult thing. Switching from karate to kung-fu is also good, because karate is just lame in comparison. Sure, it would need a title change, but that would kind of satisfy all the hard core fans of the original movie, right? Pat Morita was indeed awesome, but if I had to choose a modern actor to fill his shoes, Jackie Chan would be nr 1-10 on my top 10 list. Will Smith's son? Why not, it's supposed to be about a lame ass kid anyway, right? What was so special about Ralph Macchio? Fighting moves from video games are pretty interesting these days by the way, and just as weird as useless crane kicks.
Projekt SHIN writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 7:54:59 AM

then don't call it a remake...... give him is own damn script with a different plot line....
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 8:51:51 AM

My stomach hurts... What's next talentless unoriginal cheap Hollywood?! Must you destroy everything that was good? Karate Kid is a product of its time, it can't ever be replicated or recaptured. If a master of cinema like Spielberg couldn't recapture Indy what makes you fools think this is a brilliant idea?
BlueMobius writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 9:30:25 AM

I...can't...wait...for...this...film! It's gonna be the best ever. OK, I'm gonna go take my meds.
Planetastudios writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 9:33:14 AM

remake is not cool. and sounds like hollywood is out of ideas again. Jackie chan is a good actor, but has no business with this remake. Chuck norris and sidekicks was pretty good film, though i havent seen it since i was 10, 11 years old.maybe even 8 or 9.
lokopr writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 9:43:26 AM

why dont they give those millions they're investing on the movie, to Obama or someone else to start fixing the economy...at least its gonna sound better than to make this movie...lame movie
horrorfan005 writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 10:14:21 AM

Sounds and smells like a big ole pile of BURNING sh*t!!!
ckw writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 12:26:06 PM

You have to be kidding....The Karate Kid is a classic from the 80's. A remake would be a major disappointment, so would a 10 year old in the lead roll. That movie is what it is because of Ralph Macchio and Pat Morita - there are no replacements possible!
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 12:39:45 PM

Frankichiro had it perfectly right, plus all the Karate Kids sucked ass anyway I don't know what movie you all watched but calm down nobody's making you watch it.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 12:55:16 PM

BACK OUT NOW JACKIE!! it's not too late! This is turning out like dragon ball every time you hear news it gets worse and worse. I guess jaden wants to pull off a dragon uppercut or Guile's blade kick. Well one thing for sure this kids gonna learn how to piss off movie fans!
meanmonkey22 writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 12:56:50 PM

This is a sad, sad, SAD day in cinematic history. :'[
zmt1 writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 1:22:47 PM

this is an awful idea...jackie isn't bad but they don't need another Karate kid
jake812 writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 1:35:04 PM

Someone should go medieval on Jackie Chan banning him for life from motion pictures.
Blank x2 writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 2:14:00 PM

This will definitely be funnier than the original, even if they never intend it to be that way.
coldplayesence writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 3:19:17 PM

Lol... this is a joke right?
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 3:59:06 PM

nice... i hope u ment the question
KaloVisor writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 4:35:54 PM

This Sounds Awful.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on January 14th, 2009 at 8:14:45 PM

We can all bitch about this and the fact of the re-make but in the end ya know we dont have to go see it so really it dosent matter. Its a stupid idea to re-make this but who knows how it could end up.
projektzborn writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 7:43:22 AM

jackie chan, i cant remeber what its called, only knows minor things about an array of martial arts. basically hes knows how to do stuff for movies. also as a Mr. Miyagi i cant really see him playing the role. its seems like this should be its own thing not a remake. making charecters younger changing everythign but still calling it a remake??
autiger10 writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 2:54:48 PM

not to sound racist, but why do people in hollywood want to make the leads in re-makes black when the original actor was white? its stupid.
mattcl23 writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 3:14:45 PM

Don't see anything wrong with the remake. Just get rid of Jaden Smith. Holy sh*t, your telling me you can get anyone better.
Kara writes:
on January 15th, 2009 at 8:12:31 PM

why are they even making a remake??? i like the first one - leave it alone - and find some new ideas... honestly.....

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved