WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Will the Joker Return for "Dark Knight" Sequel?

Posted: January 9th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Will the Joker Return for "Dark Knight" Sequel?Submit Comment
I have previously heard this interview with "The Dark Knight" producer Chuck Roven talking about a third Batman movie, but never really thought about what he might be trying to say. MTV News, on the other hand, are reading between the lines and have come up with an interesting assumption: The Joker might return in "The Dark Knight" sequel.

Roven was asked if he would have done anything different if he knew that Heath Ledger would not be able to reprise The Joker role in another installment. "We have to separate the actors from the role," said Roven. "On a personal level, Heath was a friend of mine. We had worked together before 'The Dark Knight,' but I still think that 'The Dark Knight' is its own thing, and we have to separate them."

It sounds like the filmmakers are looking to bring back The Joker, but realize that fans might have a difficult time accepting a new actor playing the character. So they are trying to convince us and themselves that The Joker and Heath Ledger should be thought of separately.

Would it upset you if another actor was cast as The Joker?

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 55 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WV-Films writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:10:53 PM

I don't think they'll do that. Maybe in some subsequent sequel, but not in the next movie.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:15:39 PM

agreed. maybe if they have some whacky look into the future and have an older joker or something stupid like that hahahah
WV-Films writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:20:56 PM

Then they can get Jack back. lol
jake812 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:32:29 PM

Jack Nicholson sucks dude. i respect your opinion, i just dont agree with it. :)
MovieFanAttic writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:33:32 PM

It could be popssible, it has been done isn other movies. The matrix trilogy, the Orical was played by two actresses, one in teh first two another in the last. The actress passed away, sadly, and was replaced. The solution to the movie? She was reprogrammed so she looks different. Nolan would be smart to bring back the joker in teh same way he did the scarecrow, but have him look differntly (apparent) and say that the joker went through some cosmetic changes. WHAT DO YOU THINK, WP MEMBERS!??!?!?!?
jake812 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:34:19 PM

now that george w bush is going to be out of a job perhaps they should cast him instead. hes no actor but he sure is a goddamn clown. come on bring'em on hahaha i know i have it coming. lol
jake812 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:35:31 PM

MovieFanAttic your suggestion just f*cking sucks dude. mine sucks as well. so what the heck.
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:37:23 PM

I think it's a given that Ledger's performance was very good and there would be a small chance that another actor could duplicate it. That having been said, I think they should absolutely recast the role just to keep the series going. It will obviouosly have to be someone worthy of the role, even though it would probably just pick up with the Joker in Arkham.
rocketman writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:44:53 PM

i would be cool with thatr as long the guy put in a good performance and made the roll his own and not just be a carbon copy of Ledgers take.Keep the scars,write him the same as you would've done him regardless.let the actor surprise us again.
Quatro writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:49:05 PM

the risk just is not worth it in my opinion. Because of how good Heath did, all of the fans/audience members are going to be extremely harsh on a new Joker. If they did decide to do it (I hope they dont, sadly cuz i love the joker) they better be damn sure that this new Joker is exactly like Heaths, or just as good...but I really dont know how its possible. I wouldnt take the risk if I was Chris.
Blank x2 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:58:27 PM

Jake812, you think Jack Nicholson sucks? People like you are the reason that Epic Movie and Disaster Movie and sh*t like that have people going to see them. I'll bet you still have your ticket stub from both of them, huh? People like Jake812 are the reasons we were condoms....to prevent this in the future.
NuclearWessels writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:59:30 PM

but Scarecrow wasn't recast though
Blank x2 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 5:14:37 PM

To be fair, we'll have to wait and see. I seem to remember EVERYBODY bein' a little upset when Heath Ledger was first cast as the Joker. That turned out to be okay, didn't it?
paramorefan76 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 5:15:56 PM

I agree w/ NuclearWessels, scarecrow was DEFINATLY the same actor! He both looked and sounded the same and I think we would've heard if he was recast. I also think it would be interesting to see someone else's take on the Joker, even though no one would be ablt to top Heath. Heck, maybe if they don't cast him as The Riddler, maybe they could get Johnny Depp for the role???? But thats just my opinion....
kramerw22 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 5:28:57 PM

I will NOT see the movie if they recast the Joker,and i will be VERY upset,whoever agrees ,lets protest!
bugmenot writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 6:23:48 PM

Cillian Murphy was the Scarecrow in both films. Plus I think you guys are reading too deep into this, chillax. To me, he's saying they try to take any actor with the possibility they can't reprise.

I know what it sounds like, but Iuno if they would be that foolish. 90% of what made this movie a juggernaut WAS Heath, so...

Also one of the reasons I don't think they'll do the Riddler is on-screen, he'd end up as a second-rate Joker, no matter who plays him.

The Skippy Spartan writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 6:29:44 PM

CHILL ALL U GUYS NEED TO CHILL!! Nolan hasn't even thought of writing a 2nd Batman Begins sequal, and all probability he is writing a new movie that aint Batman! I wouldn't care if they recast teh Joker to be honest, as long as wthe film it self is just as Good as TDK and BB or better. And they have Scarecrow back again for larger role!
griffinkane writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 6:42:53 PM

Heath Ledger set the bar for a new Joker. I think they could definitely get a new guy at least he would have something to imitate that's better than Cesar Romero or Jack Nicholson. ledger made the Joker into something real enough that you forgot it was him playing the role. You need to get an actor to play the Joker like he did, people shouldn't be looking forward to seeing the actor but the character the actor is playing. I don't mean to get preachy but that's what actors should do. Nowadays you see actors hired for face and not for their skills, I don't think Brad Pitt would have made a good Joker.
Mr.Vengeance writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 6:51:27 PM

Johnny Depp could pull it off
bugmenot writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 7:11:05 PM

That's not what it's about at all, griff. It's the actor who FILLS the role, true, but that's what people are looking for. That specific re-enactment of the role. It also helps with accepting the realism of the universe and continuity-wise. Plus, it's rare that your casting gets better. Of course, Nolan did score a nice upgrade with Maggie Gyllenhaal, but the character's dead now...

If we wanted to go in a direction and just accept that each movie is non-continuous, or different stylistically, like the James Bond and the old Batman series I'd agree with you. It's not like that however.

kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 7:55:13 PM

i dnt think they goinna do that but if they do, i choose no!
minkowski writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 8:39:04 PM

Dear God, people, Rover isn't saying that the Joker will return, he is saying that because an actor's character dies, you can't expect to never see that character again. I think he's simply saying that Ledger's death doesn't end the Joker for WB or even Nolan, and that's it. You people are reading way into what he said to hear something certain. And anyone who thinks Ledger's performance made most of the movie is a damned idiot. Joker wasn't in the movie but for how many minutes? How can anyone believe that Ledger made the movie when he had to share it with so many other fine actors and events? LOL. Bale, Freeman, Caine, Oldman, not to mention Gylenhall and Eckhart and and yet Ledger alone carried the movie with his monotonous role of humorless, charmless psycho?
boazfrankel writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 8:44:35 PM

I have only three words to say: Joseph - Gordon - Levitt!!!
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 8:53:52 PM

Ay Blank, stop using the same sh*t an dont even talk about condoms cuz you get no p*ssy. You more of a p*ssy then you get p*ssy.
horrorfan005 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 9:19:03 PM

You guys are FUNNY!
coldplayesence writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 10:08:50 PM

Yeah, we all talk like we have someway a desicion to take about the third film. We don't count, acept it. We just pay to see some movies.
coldplayesence writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 10:08:51 PM

Yeah, we all talk like we have someway a desicion to take about the third film. We don't count, acept it. We just pay to see some movies.
keeeef writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 10:53:10 PM

They're damned if they do and damned if they don't. Personally i think it would be a radical idea to try to keep heath's performance going with a new actor, i wouldn't want to fill those shoes. Lets just wait and see if see if chris wants to continue his series and then decide what can be done with it. I love how serious and meaningfull chris has created these films but i still prefer the comics they originate from and in that respect tdk was too real and has left chris with some hard roads to walk in terms of whether he can make believe whatever might be in the 3rd film. Whatever happens, i'd choose him over the past directors any day
Kal-El writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 10:56:24 PM

Sarah Palin as Catwoman, Jack Black as Bat-mite, and Joe the plumber as Mr. Freeze.
jake812 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 10:57:04 PM

ill say it again, JAck Nicholson sucks!! he plays the same character again and again. his joker was a cuckoos nest meets the shining thing, but with makeup. and no ive never see disaster movie nor epic movie nor non of those other pieces of crap. i happen to have a very select taste in movies mind you.
jake812 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 10:58:42 PM

and i still dont get why minkowski hates the joker performance so much. i agree with him when he says ledger didnt own the movie. granted. but his performance made jack nicholsons joker a piece of crap. what made the dark knight great was christopher nolan frigginly awesome talent. period.
jake812 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 10:59:55 PM

i dont mean jack nicholson sucks in like forever and everything. hes a three time academy award winner and the actor with the most nominations ever for a reason. i just mean his joker sucked.
Sinestro writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 11:59:27 PM

Not gonna happen.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 12:20:10 AM

f*ck NO! NO RE-CAST! Thats like throwing Heaths performance in vain. Lets just move on to another villian and leave the masterpiece that The Dark Knight is alone and continue to bask in its glory.
bossybullybull writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 1:31:56 AM

WHO COULD PLAY THA NEXT JOKER???? SOLUTION--------Joseph Gordon-Levitt
takai writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 2:18:06 AM

people are not THAT unique. i've seen impersonations on youtube that are very close to how heath played it. it was hard for him to make up the character, but how hard would it be for someone to just mimic him? not near as hard. they won't do it with someone that is anything short from a perfect mimic. so i say, do it up
jake812 writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 2:21:39 AM

How about Paul Bettany?
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 2:35:02 AM

never gonna happen
Nohands[NL] writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 4:49:18 AM

No Joker please. T-Bag from prison break as the Ridler.
Bystander85 writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 5:25:05 AM

Hahaha, There is a guy named T-Bag in a show about Prisons. Surely somebody was bound to notice that when they were casting the role. Hilarious!!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 10:54:52 AM

J-DEPP FOR RIDDLER! move on! no f*cking re-cast!
mattcl23 writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 1:12:05 PM

Maybe short glimpes of the Joker with Ledger playing? They probably have more footage not used in the movie. But a new Joker would piss me off.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 2:02:30 PM

Hmm... if they do, it should be Dominic West. He's got a similar look and demeanor. And yes, I know he was the villain from punisher 2 but who cares? After watching the Wire I think he's got the chops.
Blank x2 writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 2:33:54 PM

Milwaukee Marvel, I see you finally wrote a complete sentence. You finally buy a dictionary? And saying somebody doesn't get laid? What, are you 12? Graduate high school and then you can talk to me, okay pal?
bugmenot writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 3:08:36 PM

If you're going to target my comment for direct critique, read all of it next time, minkowski.
The hype of Ledgar is what made this movie a success. Undeniable. Everything from the oscar buzz labels since December '07 with the rough cuts and then after his tragic death amped up the film even more. Then, when it was discovered the movie indeed WAS good, the potential exploded into a billion dollars for WB. @everyone else:
Stop talking like the coming of Depp's Riddler is nigh. What could his character do that wouldn't bear any semblance whatsoever to Heath's Joker, and thus as a second-rate villain to mainstream audiences?
Sure, bitch all you like with "BUT IN THE COMICS...", but the comics aren't the films, if anything Nolan has taught you. So please use your head. I highly doubt the Riddler will be in a new film, and if he is, it would likely be in a severely altered performance than you're craving for.
KingAdash writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 3:10:49 PM

The Joker is more iconic than Heath Ledger could ever have been. Sorry to say that about Heath(Rest in Peace) but you can't completely take away THE most important Batman villain because the actor passed on. I know it will be tough because of what Heath did for the role, but he laid the stepping stones and all it needs is a good actor to come in and continue building on what he has put up. By the way, I LOVE the Joseph Gordon-Levitt idea the kid is a fantastic actor.
steamluv writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 4:18:27 PM

I can see them having the joker in a cameo from some big name actor that they KNOW can do it right. Like a 5 min dialogue between batman and the joker at arkham, but not as a whole character throughout the movie.
jake812 writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 5:37:54 PM

What about PAUL BETTANY?!!!!!!!
leezy84 writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 9:11:54 PM

PLZ NO JOHNNY DEPP IN THE NEXT FILM...DANIEL DAY LEWIS if any one to play the riddler if hes the next villain
HurricanePhill writes:
on January 11th, 2009 at 12:18:14 PM

The problem with re-casting the Joker role is you can't just sign an actor who can play the Joker role now. You have to cast an actor that can portray Heath Ledger's Joker. If they do this, I think a good choice would be Brad Pitt (sourcing; 12 Monkeys, Fight Club). I believe Brad could pull off a Ledger influenced Joker without spoiling the character, but I do agree that a Joker re-build should be out of the question.
Black_Jack writes:
on January 12th, 2009 at 9:06:28 AM

The irony is Harvey Dent is dead, while Aaron Eckhart is alive; and The Joker is alive, but Heath Ledger is dead.
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 12th, 2009 at 9:13:34 AM

If they do, that actor will have to behave in the same way. Explanation, I remember reading a story where Joker was actually M.I.A. and someone else was trying to reign in on the fun, so the true Joker returns. Sounds disrespectful in a way to Ledger's memory, but it is just a character, an important one to Batman's world at that. As long as the new actor acts the same has Heath, I could stomach it.
smokeymcpot8372 writes:
on January 12th, 2009 at 1:53:48 PM

Just shut the f*ck up with the dark knight sh*t. It wasn't that f*cking good!!! GET THE f*ck OVER IT!!!!
bertmoss17 writes:
on January 12th, 2009 at 3:17:12 PM

why wait till another sequel, if its going to be done, do it this time around and do it right, with the right make-up and good casting fans should be able to get past the issue of it being a Ledger-less Joker. Cast Adrian Brody, oscar winner, would have been great as the Joker the first time around, would have also been awesome as scarecrow....third time is a charm, plus he is just creepy enough to fill the character's shoes thought???
Mr Dad writes:
on January 13th, 2009 at 7:03:59 AM

If they want an idea for an actor to play the joker I have just seen the perfect actor Joseph Gordon-Levitt he looks very similar to the late great Heath Ledger check out the new KILLSHOT trailer and you will see what i mean

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved