WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sam Raimi Reveals "Spider-Man 4" Villain Choice

Posted: January 9th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sam Raimi Reveals "Spider-Man 4" Villain ChoiceSubmit Comment
During previous interviews, director Sam Raimi mentioned that he would love to make The Lizard the main villain in the upcoming "Spider-Man" movie. Now he is having second thoughts and would much rather prefer a different character to battle Spidey.

"I like it in the Marvel comics when Spider-Man fights Morbius," Raimi told Empire magazine. "He's really cool. A vampire! I like that combination of superhero plus supernatural."

Michael Morbius was a Nobel Prize-winning biochemist, who had attempted to cure himself of a rare blood disease with an experimental treatment involving vampire bats and electroshock therapy. It didn't go exactly to plan and he instead became afflicted with a far worse condition that mimicked the powers and blood-thirst of a vampire.

The Lizard and Morbius have much in common. Both are scientists and both tried to treat themselves using animals only to become villainous monsters. In the comics, Curtis Connors (The Lizard) tried to re-grow his amputated arm by uncovering the secrets of reptilian limb regeneration.

Would you prefer The Lizard or Morbius to appear in "Spider-Man 4"?

Click here to read more about "Spider-Man 4."

Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jjjjjoey writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:02:43 PM

I think Spiderman 3 was ruined by the supernatural villain Sand Man. If they bring Morbius in the next one, no doubt it will be just as bad, or worse. Just stick to the Lizard-its already been built up.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:13:37 PM

id prefer Carnage, but it would be best to have Doc Connors to atleast try the experiment in this one and lead up to The Lizard. or maybe have some more underground-esque villains in this have em fight shocker in the beginning or somesh*t im so sick of Sam Raimi though, hes so lucky to be where he is
BurmaShave writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:24:15 PM

Poor Dylan Baker. Please just give him the main villain slot finally.
minkowski writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:25:23 PM

The Lizard. Vampires are so overdone. Just get past the silliness of SM3, please. Oh, and Sandman wasn't supernatural. He was partice-lized or whatever, and has a his mind distributed over the swarm of sand grains. Very far-fetched but there was still something of a scientific explanation, like say the nano-swarm of Crichton's Prey, or Deus Ex Machina.
WV-Films writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:28:49 PM

I think they should set it up where they're shooting some movie in NYC and Marry Jane has a part in it. Then Mysterio could be the villain. And they can throw Lizard in there somewhere in the background.
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:34:32 PM

Do both.
MovieFanAttic writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:36:05 PM

ELECTRO
MovieFanAttic writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:38:17 PM

HE SHSOCKER
jake812 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:42:25 PM

i agree with BurmaShave. they should give Dylan Baker a chance.
rocketman writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:47:32 PM

Get Rami away from Spidey.the guys killing it.
N8R writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 5:42:25 PM

If it brings in a cameo by Blade... I'm with Morbius.
bugmenot writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 6:14:21 PM


I love how quickly people turn on directors who have one f*ckup. I mean, yes, SM3 was bad, but having re-edited my own cut of it once, the good parts are there, it just takes a lot to bring them out. Most of this is due to Raimi's last minute decision to include Venom, which might have worked for where they are now...

What Raimi needs to take away from the success of IM and TDK though is Spidey needs to grow up. This means, he actually manifests more incrementally than jumping into the skin of Pete Wentz. If they can do this, leaving MJ out of it or recasting her, they'll be back on top of the Marvel world.

kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 8:05:08 PM

doesnt bother me, i love them both, but to me it doesnt make a differece.
dwight writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 8:34:32 PM

All good ideas but I think they should cast the Rock as Kraven the Hunter.
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 8:58:30 PM

I AGREE WIT N8R. I WAS TALKIN ABOUT THAT sh*t ACOUPLE WEEKS AGO. THE sh*tTY THING IS THAT IT WOULD NEVER HAPPEN. sh*t, BLADE TRILOGY WAS BETTER THAN THE SPIDERMAN 3 FILMS
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 8:59:46 PM

An i dont mean for the 4th film, jus sayin for future films
kickit writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 10:00:41 PM

I like WV-films idea, realism has shown to be a successful avenue in the super hero genre, use Mysterio and work in the Lizard. I think though that whoever they chose, they should re-explore the venom.symbiote avenue. If you use Mysterio, you could make it so that, because of his constant illusions, Parker/Spiderman thinks he's seeing things, such as when he sees venom/Brock out of the corner of his eye, when in fact it really is Venom stalking him. make 5 all about fighting venom, separating Brock from the suit, 6 use carnage and lay the series to rest for a while.
manichispanic writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 10:10:04 PM

lizard main!
coldplayesence writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 10:12:25 PM

Even if they put Carnage, spidey 4 will suck. I'm pretty sure of it.
Kal-El writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 10:37:36 PM

Spidey can kick the Lizards ass on his lunch break and deal with Morbius at night.
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 12:04:09 AM

I'm pretty sure the reason why SM3 sucked had nothing to do with a 'last minute' inclusion of Venom, and more to do with Peter Parker's characterization, MJ's constant whining and crying and more villains than needed, even none of them were fleshed out very well. The nonsensical musical scene certainly didn't help. No, I'm pretty sure without Venom the movie would have tanked even more, and all the extra characters hurt the plot. It was like Revolutions and Reloaded where the main characters, the stars, were guests, playing cameo to their stage rights.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 12:25:48 AM

I'd much rather see THE LIZARD than Morbius but if they can make it work then sure, why not? Just dont make number 4 stupid like number 3. Not that number 3 was entirely terrible because it did have its good points but it also had its sh*tty points where I think we were all like WHHHATT??
jetdog writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 12:51:35 AM

everyone is on this "realism" thing.... what's so damn real about a man dressed up as a bat or a man with spider-like powers or a man that can fly! People people... just don't take "wonder" out of the movies... i can my brain... we all know we can't walk on walls.. why do we have to tell each other to use realism in an effing superhero movie!
Blueyedragon writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 2:17:41 AM

NO! NO! NO!.....Lizardman is the best choice!!...morbius?...Vampire?...WTF!!...I never even heard of that villan before!...It will be really retarded if they do that!...Vampire's are cheesy and overdone!....look at how lame twilight is!..I WILL NEVER WATCH IT. EVER. lIZARDMAN...OR CARNAGE WITH SYMBIOTIC PARASITES THAT TAKE OVER PEOPLE!
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 2:33:47 AM

morbius would need a blade cameo
Sinestro writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 6:05:46 AM

Get back to basics. Put Kraven in it! He's an actual tough son of a bitch who beat and buried Peter Parker. He doesn't have to look like a psycho on a f*cking safari. He can be a true menace.
kevo10183 writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 10:28:34 AM

It would be neat if they got snipes to be blade in it.
mattcl23 writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 1:06:49 PM

No, they should save Morbius for a Blade movie. Blade vs. Morbius would be great. I would go with the Lizard b/c he's been built up for three movies already.
bugmenot writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 2:58:08 PM

If you're going to target my comment for direct critique, read all of it next time, minkowski.
Raimi already stated that he was never a fan of the newer Spiderman villains and preferred sticking to the Silver Age ones, this despite the fact that he almost never stuck to their original characterizations.
If they had taken Venom out, they would have had more time to deal with the criticisms you lay down. Save him for the 4th. Would have been more epic. In fact, I remember reading a rumor back in '05 that they considered doing just that- with Carnage, too.
The first two Spidermans worked because they characterized the villain more, and this one could have devoted much more time to their reinvention of Sandman because hardly anyone could figure what he was doing there, or supposedly "teaching" Parker along the way.
Venom led to such an abyssmal handling of the church scene, the "let's team up" villain cliche, which Raimi seems to be gearing for again with the Sinister Six rumors, and of course the climactic final scenes, all of which forced a horribly contrived death on us of one of the film's better, though underappreciated actors.
If they saved the effects of his black suit til closer to the end, it would have been a more correct climax for the film overall, and could have spent time giving Rosemary Harris more than a cameo appearance, and also head up Mary Jane's rushed plot as well.
bugmenot writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 2:59:48 PM

And, @jetdog, see my forum post. You're acting like a goddamn fool.
jjjjjoey writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 3:14:11 PM

They need to just leave the series alone and re explore it in 20 years. A fourth film so soon is just a sad attempt to make up for the unsatisfying SM3. And Sand Man was supernatural.
CornLord writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 5:55:43 PM

Morbius would be kind of cool, but I agree that then they would have to have some kind of Blade story and I don't know if I agree with that. The Lizard would still be good, if I ever see it anyway.
i3u7n5 writes:
on January 11th, 2009 at 4:39:26 PM

They honestly need to leave the franchise as it sits and do a reboot in a few years. Rami utterly destroyed it with Spidey 3, a movie that was more or less as bad as Batman and Robin. I'd love to see the current franchise sent packing and have a Ultimate Spiderman type franchise take over in a few years.
flaggingmoose writes:
on January 12th, 2009 at 5:35:01 AM

I think that I would really like to see the Lizard with dylan baker in the role. Having said that, Morbius is also a very cool villain and if with sam raimi directing, the world and villains of spider-man are brought to life very well. I think he does a great job. By the way, "joey with 5 js" sandman is not a friggen supernatural villain! He is a genetic mutation! Science baby! Gah! Ultimate preference is CARNAGE. Rock as Kraven would be very cool - i agree with "dwight".

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved