WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Barack Obama in New "Spider-Man" Comic

Posted: January 9th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Barack Obama in New "Spider-Man" ComicSubmit Comment
Marvel Comics has announced that issue #583 of "The Amazing Spider-Man" will have two different covers. One of them will be a special Inauguration Day edition that shows Spider-Man with president-elect Barack Obama. The issue will appear in stores on January 14th.

It has been rumored that Obama is a fan of "Conan the Barbarian" and other Marvel comics. Marvel executives said it was natural to put the 44th president in a heroic context.

"When we heard that President-Elect Obama is a collector of Spider-Man comics, we knew that these two historic figures had to meet in our comics' Marvel Universe," says Marvel's Editor-in-Chief Joe Quesada. "Historic moments such as this one can be reflected in our comics because the Marvel Universe is set in the real world. A Spider-Man fan moving into the Oval Office is an event that must be commemorated in the pages of 'Amazing Spider-Man.'"

There's plenty of presidential history in the comics, such as the time that JFK appeared in the pages of Superman (the issue was written and drawn before Kennedy's 1963 assassination but actually hit stands after that dark day in Dallas) and Richard Nixon's 1972 cameos in "The Fantastic Four" and in "The Incredible Hulk."

"Amazing Spider-Man" Cover: (click to enlarge)


Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 1:09:32 AM

So when does the Messiah get his own reality TV show? Or a head on Mt. Rushmore? This guy, who can't staff the White House bathroom without dusting off a Clintonite, the guy that tossed his opponents off the ballot The Chicago Way, this fool that doesn't know sh*t about anything other than golfing in Hawaii and mumuring the word 'change' every ten seconds, gets more exposure than Tom Cruise, Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie combined, and he hasn't done a damned thing yet. lol. People are so gullible.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 1:51:00 AM

you make me hate this website
c-prime writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 1:51:05 AM

Geez, I can't believe it, but for the first time, I'm actually gonna have to agree with you, minkowski. I doubt they'd pull a stunt like this for anybody else. The guy's been lionized to such a vast degree, yet no one even knows if he's gonna be the phenomenal leader everybody makes him out to be. Probably not, but I guess we'll soon find out. You know, it's funny: George Bush (Sr. or W., take your pick) could say he was an avid collector of "Spiderman" or "X-Men" comics and whatnot, and they'd probably depict him on the cover rolling in a pile of hundred dollar bills (oil derricks in the background) or jerking off onto an American flag. What a silly, twisted world we live in.
c-prime writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 1:55:29 AM

And I don't wanna get any flack for the previous remark either. I'm not calling Obama an unqualified d*ck or illegal alien or any of that sh*t. I'm just saying we don't know what the future holds for his administration.
WV-Films writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 3:39:10 AM

I don't see what the big deal is. Reagan was in The Dark Knight Returns. Clinton was in Dark Claw #1. Bush was loosely represented as the president in Ultimate X-Men. Presidents in comics really is nothing new.
buttabean writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 7:52:05 AM

I think the problem is the media not him. The media is shoving everything down our throats to love him for the last 2 years. I'm getting so sick of it. I don't give a sh*t that theres photos of him with his shirt off wtf!!!
i3u7n5 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 8:43:44 AM

"I don't see what the big deal is. Reagan was in The Dark Knight Returns." There is a distinction to made; Regan was used as after he was well into his term and there was a presidential culture created by policy. The problem we're having with President-Elelct jesus Chri...err...Barak Obama is that he hasn't done *anything* other than win office yet people or media entities are literally falling over themselves patting him on the back and myth building. So put him in the comics, fine...but the COVER?? WHY? And Quesada needs to drop the obvious pandering and excuses; he's a spiderman fan my ass, "the marvel Universe is NOT set in the real world" Uh..no..it dips in and out of the real world issues (characters dealt w 9/11 for example) but that was more for the people who's lives were changed that day (everyone's?), to pay homage and respect. This is just more of the same old typical media bullsh*t.
jake812 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 10:58:34 AM

oh geez republicans writing on worstpreviews. George w bush couldnt even stand as a villain cuz villains never tend to be that stupid. Barack Obama is the friggin PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES. what the hell are you all people? *ssholes from d*ckville? i mean come on. Obama will clean up the f*cking mess left by the bush administration. u f*cking republicans.
WV-Films writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 11:09:35 AM

I dunno. I agree with you on the whole Quesada thing. It sounds like complete pandering. But I think tabloid pics and media hype aside, Barack Obama on the cover is sorta cool. It becomes a kind of time-stamp, like "I like Ike" pins. I mean Jan 20th will be a pretty historic event. I think if they put him on the cover after he was in office for a while, it would have been less relevant.
Black Silver writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 11:19:07 AM

God I read the comments on this site a lot and instead of just commenting, people seem to use it as a forum for their own personal beliefs and agenda. And as far as Obama not doing anything yet?-well that's just completely false. And with statements like that you only reveal your own ignorance. You people should wake up, get your facts straight, and stop using this site as a toilet for your own unthought out half-assed bullsh*t remarks. I agree with BlutoDaBoss21. You really do make me hate this website sometimes.
bugmenot writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 12:30:12 PM

I resisted the urge to talk sh*t about our messiah, earlier, but it's fools like jake812 that break my code of silence. I'll tell you, if you want to make generalizations like that, then then why not just say it's cause he's black now, too, you liberal f*cking bitch?
i3u7n5 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 12:48:46 PM

I'm not promoting any agenda, I'm simply commenting on one. For a matter or record, I'm all for Obama and I thnk he'll do a better job than the last clown but the fact of the matter is he (Obama) has been hyped to hell and back before ever doing *anything* presidential and if you don't think there is a carefully orchestrated media buzz then you're letting your personal bias cloud reality. you realize how many non-comic reading americans will buy a copy just as a keepsake? Quesada is no dummy...there's $$ to be made, always. And it's nice to see the "tolerant liberal" stance in full effect..name calling when someone disagrees or detracts from your belief complete with over zealous rhetoric like a cannon blast. Well done.
WV-Films writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:02:17 PM

uuuuuh, who r u talking too?
grossefidelityanything writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:14:14 PM

thanks for the movie/comic news. Am I the only one on this site that is putting aside their politics and just catching up on the latest news? Come on extreme sides lets just let it go, and move on to the crappy street fighter trailer. Take your politics to a political site.
i3u7n5 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 4:55:15 PM

We were talking about a comic book story which is making political assertions. No one made you read the discussion. You be better served by riting Quesada and asking 9or telling him in this case) to take his politics to a new magazine and off the cover of Spidey. :)
griffinkane writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 6:46:36 PM

Fuk Obama
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 9:47:01 PM

minkowski has got my respect. Liberals and the general POPLULATION are so gullible and blinded by the media. I tell you what, Judgement Day is coming folks. But the real reason Stan Lee is putting him in the comics is because he's a liberal. So I really don't think it has to do with Obama sucking ass or anything,(don't get me wrong, Obama is going to personally invite Osama over for dinner, and the two are going to skullf*ck the U.S.) I just think that he is promoting the liberal agenda, or maybe just inoccently putting him in as the next pres.
vineethchacko writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 4:36:55 AM

Its a business decision pure and simple. Money to be made. I am nowhere near the US but like everyone else I have my opinions. Obama better do something groundbreaking quickly. I was more impressed by Hillary's universal health care plan than his. There is too much hype - continents away the hype is hitting.
Mr.Purple writes:
on January 10th, 2009 at 12:24:31 PM

uuuuuh... i thought the comic was about SPIDERMAN, doesn't that mean HE should get the bigger cover picture? Last I checked Obama he was still more of a super than Obama... if you're even retarded enough to call Obama a hero anyway.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved