WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Watchmen" Fate to be Decided on January 20th

Posted: January 7th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Watchmen" Fate to be Decided on January 20thSubmit Comment
Lawyers for 20th Century Fox and Warner Bros have agreed to let a federal judge decide whether Warner Bros will be allowed to release "Watchmen" on March 6th, forgoing a jury trial that could have put the film's future into even longer limbo.

In court papers filed Monday with US District Judge Gary A. Feess, attorneys for Fox and Warner Bros jointly said they would let the judge decide on January 20th whether Fox could block the film's theatrical distribution, as Fox has been seeking all along as part of its copyright infringement lawsuit against Warner Bros.

In a preliminary ruling issued December 24th, Feess said Fox, and not Warner Bros, owned the right to distribute the film. In his December ruling, the judge urged the studios to negotiate a settlement, but no deal has been reached.

If Fox delays the film, will you avoid watching future Fox movies?

Click here to read our exclusive "Watchmen" preview.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 3:50:38 PM

yup foshow!
WV-Films writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 4:02:58 PM

Delaying doesn't bother me as much. It's re-editing that I'm worried about.
UraharaShop writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 4:05:06 PM

People say they will boycott Fox movies, but most will see Wolverine anyway. Empty threats. Screw Fox for waiting so long though, once they heard the movie might be good they pounced. I certainly don't like Fox right now, but Hollywood is a business, and Fox isn't the only company that knows this.
c-prime writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 4:06:54 PM

Hell yes. Besides, it's not like Fox has anything good lined up for release this year. Not a damn thing. I'd pan their upcoming films even if the fate of "Watchmen" weren't in limbo.
rocketman writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 4:42:40 PM

yes i will,i will happily wait for the 'super directors cut'black freighter n all version.infact i'm tempted to anyway so i can see the film as it was intended and not stripped down for the mainstream aiudiences.
MRW007 writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 4:45:46 PM

awww thats a damn shame. i guess all of the watchmen fanboys are gonna weep and boycott the fox films.
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 5:02:29 PM

FOX is done in my opinion. Wolverine is more of their watered down commercial pop culture trash.
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 5:08:00 PM

@MRW007, Awe another tool paddling along on his cool brown Hershey bar down the warm yellow stream of corporate mind-control spew. Get lost wanna be hipster. What's cool now, going against the people for corporate respect. Douche bag. You better have been born in the 80s or you're worse than I'm describing, if that's even possible.
MRW007 writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 5:23:28 PM

@ Johnny Neat...what the f*ck are u even talking about *sshole. and if u really wanted to know, i was born in the 80's.
Spanza2 writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 5:26:46 PM

Ya absolutly
froman writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 5:54:02 PM

of course i will, this movie is to me the most important movie of this year,beside star trek,and i will deffintley be pissed if they do not realese this soon to be classic movie.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 7:06:09 PM

What pricks, they ahve every right to sue, but there is only one reason tehy left it so late and makes them look liek pricks....my fear now is that FOX willg et the rights and dumb it down to a PG rating because, 'The American People won't get the plot of the film and won't understand it's messages' FOX will do this because they can, i just hope the Znyder when he releases the DVD the film is released ina ll of its glory!
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 8:21:37 PM

MRW007 has a point, sort of. I haven't heard much else but wailing and nashing of teeth since Fox sued for control. There isn't enough damned interest to boyocott FOX. A small flow of Watchmen fans won't do sh*t. You'd better have a secondary plan.
pugi27 writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 9:42:52 PM

did WB produce the film? if so, what happens if they lose the distribution lawsuit? and if they did produce/lose i think we may never see this film - at least not like that because i think FOX would have to shoot it's own WATCHMEN film
Muelofthefenz writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 10:51:57 PM

Talk about sour grapes.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 10:59:11 PM

f*ck all that sh*t! just release it! and nothing better be cut out!
takai writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 11:41:02 PM

minkowski - it's funny that you say watchmen fans won't do sh*t because of the fact that zack snyder is a huge watchmen fan. obviously. he's not going to just sit and let fox take or edit what he helmed. fox can't take it and edit it anyways, if warner loses the rights, it doesn't mean they hand over their work. they just can't distribute it. i hope for the best
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2009 at 12:14:17 AM

Snyder is bound by any number of constraints. he isn't just some free-floating agent. he's bound by contracts, obligations and at the very least his reputation. Fox is a HUGE company, so pissing them off might just narrow his project possibilities. get my drift? nevermind that Cameron, as an example, couldn't regain any control whatsoever over Piranhas II, Alex Proyas was powerless to stop I Robot from sinking and Arnonovsky couldn't halt the moneymen from putting The Fountain in a steel vice. So I doubt what Snyder can do. i doubt it very much. But I wasn't talking about Zack-o, I was talking about some grassroots/netroots movement to boycott Fox by a bunch of disgruntled fanboys over a movie most people either haven't heard of or possess, at best, luke warm interest. So let's drop all this boycotting bullsh*t. As I mentioned in another thread, if the Religious Right couldn't successfully boycott Disney, I doubt you can boycott FOX. Besides, Fox will damn themselves. They do NOT need you.
i-killedkenny writes:
on January 8th, 2009 at 12:36:04 AM

As I mentioned in another thread, if the Religious Right couldn't successfully boycott Disney, I doubt you can boycott FOX. ---------------------------------------------------- Thats because the religious right is full of morons. They probably couldn't figure out how to boycott food.
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2009 at 12:42:05 AM

Awwww, hilarious, and yet the RR has far too much power for a bunch of morons. Let me see, who would I fear more? A huge, and I mean HUGE, group of religious zealots that have successfully elected presidents, or a far, far smaller group of teenagers and young adults, some of whom cannot spell consistently the word 'movie' or understand the definition of circular thinking? And I'm not pointing out anyone in particular, but the dumbasses over at IMDb certainly come to mind.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on January 8th, 2009 at 1:13:48 AM

well if never comes out atleast i got a poster of it and trailer hahaha itll be worth more
SpaceGhost89 writes:
on January 8th, 2009 at 6:36:53 AM

i just think its a very low and cowardly thing to do that fox KNEW the film was being made and must have known that it was going to be huge, yet they waited until warner bros threw tons of money making it, and THEN made their move. such a low move. thats not even business, thats just sick. the boycott will never come into place, just like the planet terror/death proof boycott never worked in the uk. imdbfags were all like 'YEAH BOYCOTT', yet when both released, they all said they saw it and loved it. boycotts never work in films
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 8th, 2009 at 2:15:32 PM

@MRW007, Obviously you don't remember the adult 80s as you were an infant or sperm but you would have fit right in with the corporate blowhard mentality. Anyhow yeah, fans can and should make & take a stand against the executive number crunching unartistic morons who make the calls over at FOX, calls that have ruined any and all good ideas that slip out of there.
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 8th, 2009 at 2:21:31 PM

@minkowski, you made a solid point with the power of the RR. Hollywood would be better off, in my opinion, standing against close mindedness as a way of making entertainment. Hollywood would be best to stay on the manufacturing of all kinds of propaganda entertainment. Separation of prudes and entertainment like religion and state is the better way, no?
MK ULTRA writes:
on January 8th, 2009 at 3:10:02 PM

What’s sad is that minkowski makes a good point about studio ambition/greed and the failure of boycotts against films but just ends up sounding like the people he condescends by way through conceited ranting that no one seems to care for. ----- “or a far, far smaller group of teenagers and young adults, some of whom cannot spell consistently the word 'movie' or understand the definition of circular thinking?”---- please stop, by pointing this out Merriam Webster, you are only wasting our time and ultimately yours. People do not Copy/Pasta with Microsoft word every time they post a comment and this certainly shouldn’t be a bigger issue than Fox being the arrogant pricks they are. ----signed by: the people who cannot read or spell that well on the World Wide Web.
NeoArgus writes:
on January 8th, 2009 at 4:05:10 PM

If FOX delays Watchmen, There Will Be Blood
takai writes:
on January 8th, 2009 at 9:09:11 PM

you call watchman fans a small group. are you serious? watchmen is considered one of the best graphic novels of all time, one of the top 100 greatest novels of the 20th century, and the most revolutionary 'comic book' ever released. the watchmen fan base isn't a small group of underground fans, but the entire true comic fanbase. true zack may have contracts, but all of your examples given were both within the production company the original movie was made under. warner won't change what zack made, they back it all the way. and seriously? you're going to bring in religion to a comment thread on watchmen? stay on track. please don't resort to childish personal attacks towards someone you'll never meet.
takai writes:
on January 8th, 2009 at 9:10:06 PM

minus the unnecessary 'both' midway
Lordchristo writes:
on January 9th, 2009 at 12:01:18 AM

Yeah, Watchmen is awesome. Y'know what else was? Who the hell cares? Give it all the props you can, no one in the main stream really has any clue about it, other then they saw some 'interesting' trailers during effin' Batman. 16 people in the world know about Watchmen, and that's not enough to cause a strike. Eff Fox for being dillholes, but you can never stop that in a country born on capitalism. Which brings us back to the correct point about the RR boycotting Disney. Didn't work. Won't work. Ever. Because people are stupid and are hypocrites. If you need me to explain that to you, you're obviously in 3rd grade, so get off the internet.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved