WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Seven Remain in the Running for Visual Effects Oscar

Posted: January 7th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Seven Remain in the Running for Visual Effects OscarSubmit Comment
About a month ago The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced their fifteen choices for Achievement in Visual Effects for the upcoming Academy Awards. Since then, they narrowed the list down to seven and will eventually end up nominating only three films for Oscar consideration.

The 81st Academy Awards nominations will be announced on Thursday, January 22nd, 2009, at 5:30am PT in the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

Academy Awards will be presented on Sunday, February 22nd, 2009, at the Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center, and televised live by the ABC Television Network.

The films are listed below in alphabetical order:

* Australia

* The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

* The Dark Knight

* Hellboy II: The Golden Army

* Iron Man

* Journey to the Center of the Earth

* The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor

The movies that ended up being cut are: "The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian," "Cloverfield," "The Day the Earth Stood Still," "Hancock," "The Incredible Hulk," "Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull," "Quantum of Solace" and "The Spiderwick Chronicles."

Is "The Dark Knight" the favorite to win?

Source: The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sinestro writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 1:37:36 AM

They have to give it something.
jake812 writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 1:47:16 AM

i cant believe theyre considering the mummy. stupid looking obviously phony yetis ruined the pic for me. although i thought it sucked so far anyways.
jake812 writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 1:48:44 AM

whats the achievement of australia? making nicole kidman look like she can act? well the oscar must definitely go to them. tough thing to do eh
coldplayesence writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 2:53:24 AM

Hellboy II will take this one, 4 sure.
somebody writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 3:33:07 AM

Benjamin Button is a lock here.
minkowski writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 4:55:34 AM

BB or Ironman. Dark Knight's visuals are just too old school, Australia isn't anyone's fav for anything and is overall stylistically flat, JTTCOTE was just BAD all around. It looked like a next gen Tombraider game, and the DVD 3D sucked ass. HellBoy? Seen it already in the first film, pretty much. Not much innovation there. The Mummy? Not a chance. Now that I reconsider, perhaps TDK, but I don't see why, except as a bone.
MRW007 writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 7:09:34 AM

the dark kngiht barely had any cg except for two-face. thats about it.
Stormlovingfreak92 writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 7:36:35 AM

Okay, Prince Caspian gets the boot but Journey to the Center of the Earth and Mummy 3 make the cut? Who are the idiots running this thing???
MRW007 writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 8:18:22 AM

also....Quantum of Solace is better than The Dark Knight. i just wanted to through my opinion in there. Im sure all of you will talk sh*t to me about it on here. So ill enjoy reading it.
lokopr writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 10:00:39 AM

Australia or Benjamin Button because its the oscar's and they are not going to choose hellboy or ironman...considering it was them, i thought Indiana Jones was in the mix, the dark knight will give christopher nolan the best director award not best picture...that's my opinion =)
Ronsauce writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 11:50:09 AM

I still think Hellboy 2 should get it, but I certainly wouldn't be upset if Benjamin Button did. What the hell are Journey to the Center of the Earth and The Mummy still doing there? A lot of effects doesn't equal good effects.
Digital Desperado writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 12:13:27 PM

The thought that there is a possibility that the piece of sh*t "Mummy 3" receives an Oscar, any kind of Oscar, fills my mind with absolute terror. There is NO WAY a turd like that can be awarded with anything... It would be like awarding Hitler for his breaktroughs in demographic control...
flymikei writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 1:29:00 PM

hold on, did dark knight come out already?
GambleBDJ writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 2:05:26 PM

MRW007 no one is going to talk sh*t abt u or what u said becuz its just sooooo unbelievably stupid and wrong.. lol quantam is actually a very good movie but better thn the Dark Knight???? NAHHHHHHHH!! only slumdog Millionaire is better thn tht in 08.
MRW007 writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 2:16:14 PM

wow Gamble. im actually surprised u didnt say anything offensive to me.
Schwasted writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 9:23:46 PM

Best visual effects is not about computer generated images alone MRW007, but I was impressed with the visuals of Button and Hellboy. Those are also Art direction.
James.Speed writes:
on January 7th, 2009 at 10:58:44 PM

I think The Dark Knight, Australia, Iron Man and Benjamin Button will end up being the final nominations. Since this is one of the very few categories that comic book films get nominated in, I'd like to see Iron Man or Dark Knight win it. Australia had great special effects too.
minkowski writes:
on January 8th, 2009 at 12:48:01 AM

I say Ironman, because even many of the people close to the film complained that they could not in fact tell the difference between live action and rendered footage.
GambleBDJ writes:
on January 8th, 2009 at 5:29:23 AM

Well MRW007 i was in a good mood when i wrote tht so i decided not to be mean.! but now im kinda pissed so heres what i meant to say. Ur a f*cking idiot if u think quantam is better than The Dark Knight. I swear to god u must be clinically f*cking retarded or maybe u been rammed up the @$$ to many times by the CEO's at FOX if tht thought even crossed your mind. i feel sorry for your girlfriend because of how f*cking stupid her boyfriend is.. till next time f*ck you and have a nice day =)

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved