WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Eli Roth Upset Over "Hostel: Part II" DVD

Posted: January 3rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Eli Roth Upset Over "Hostel: Part II" DVDSubmit Comment
Director Eli Roth (Hostel) is currently working (as an actor) in Berlin on Quentin Tarantino's WWII film "Inglourious Basterds," but has decided to take a few minutes to let fans know that "Hostel: Part II" will be coming to Showtime and to expect a much better version than the one seen on DVD/Blu-ray. He also goes on to mention that if Sony ever re-releases the film, you may be able to swap your old DVD/Blu-ray for the new one. Here is what Roth had to say:

"Tonight on Showtime at 7:00 (PST, check local listings), at long last, is Hostel Part II. I have kept quiet about this, but I was heartbroken about the DVD transfer. Something happened somewhere down the technical chain of command that made the film look much darker and contrasty than the film was ever supposed to look. The skin tones are off, and the blood looks too black. It somehow got "double lutted" or something, it's the only way to explain it technically, and this happened while I was overseas, so it never got caught. It's not how it looked in cinemas, and it's been torturing me that this is the only version out there. It was just a technical error and Sony was very apologetic and and let me re-transfer the film so that you can see the background, with corrected skin color and most importantly, corrected blood color.

As of right now there's no plans to re-issue the DVD or Blu Ray, perhaps at some point in the future, but right now this is the best way to see the film. Sony Home Video did reassure me that if they do reissue the film that fans will be able to swap out their DVDs and Blu Rays for a new one. I was adamant about that, and they agreed fans should not have to buy the film twice. It was just human error in the manufacturing. But as I said, right now there are no plans for a new one. Hopefully that will change, and I will certainly keep you posted if it does.

Now, since I'm in Berlin I can't actually be there in the U.S. to watch it and make sure that the corrected version is the one that made it to cable,( although Sony Home Video assured me it was.) So if you guys see it please let me know if there's a difference between what runs on cable and the version you have on DVD.
"

Click here to read our "Hostel: Part II" review.

Source: MySpace


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 5 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on January 3rd, 2009 at 5:57:49 PM

The 1st one was garbage, an i aint even wana see the second film cuz i hear they choppin off d*cks an sh*t, i aint tryin 2 see all that sh*t
Sinestro writes:
on January 3rd, 2009 at 6:42:40 PM

It's a piece of sh*t regardless of the transfer. It's unfair that Uwe Boll catches more flack than this dude when they are both equally bad. Pretentious f*ck. His biggest accomplishment as a film maker is knowing Quentin Tarantino.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on January 4th, 2009 at 12:43:17 AM

Eli Roth created one of the most digsuting, f*cked up crazy horror films of all time. Uwe Boll is a waste of space and blood cells, atleast Roth makes films that look good in the end in a sense of reality.
minkowski writes:
on January 4th, 2009 at 5:57:16 AM

May Eli Roth suffer boththe fate of having to hate his own movies and the torment of many of the scenes he so often relishes filming. For a purveyor of snuff and torture porn, he really places himself on a high pedestal, as if his sh*tty films are of the same high pedigree as Shawshank or Gone with the Wind.
Johnny Neat writes:
on January 5th, 2009 at 1:54:15 PM

Wow, Roth is funny I give him that because I'm pissed he has any kind of directing career and allowed to waste someone's movie making trash.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved