WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Reporter Sticks to His "Eddie Murphy is The Riddler" Story

Posted: December 24th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Reporter Sticks to His "Eddie Murphy is The Riddler" StorySubmit Comment
Remember that ridiculous rumor by The Sun about how Eddie Murphy will play The Riddler and Shia LaBeouf will play Robin in the upcoming "The Dark Knight" sequel? Well, even though Murphy's representative has publicly announced that it's "not true," the reporter who brought the story forward is sticking to his claim.

The Sun's Gordon Smart told The Guardian that his story had come from a reliable source, the same one that told him back in 2005 that Daniel Craig would be the next James Bond.

"Everyone had a crack at us when we published that one," said Smart. "I was almost laughed out of conference that day, but it turned out to be spot on. I wish I had had a bet on it."

Off the record, Smart went on to reveal his source to The Guardian, which the paper says is so credible that the rumors might just turn out to be true.

So if everything is as Smart says it is, we can expect for a movie called "Gotham" (The Sun says that's the name of the third movie) to star Murphy, LaBeouf, Bale and Rachel Weisz (as Catwoman). And expect a big cliffhanger in which Wayne Towers is hit by a blast that takes down Batman.

Source: The Guardian


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on December 23rd, 2008 at 11:42:47 PM

Christan Bale said he wouldn't star in another batman if robin was in it I guess the money was too good if it's true. Was the Riddler ever black in the comics or anything?
MovieFanAttic writes:
on December 24th, 2008 at 12:38:55 AM

NOOOOO... THE NEXT BATMAN MOVIE SHOULD BE CALLED "THE CAPED CRUSADER"
MovieFanAttic writes:
on December 24th, 2008 at 12:40:02 AM

oh waffle man, in Daredevil, the kingpin is white in teh comics, but in the movie he was black. ya never know.
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on December 24th, 2008 at 12:41:14 AM

It's all BS, this guy is covering his ass at this point so he doesn't lose his job. Christopher Nolan probably isn't even debating who will play what yet. He's still deciding where to go with the story.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on December 24th, 2008 at 1:58:37 AM

Yeah MovieFanAttic I know about the kingpin he did that well they just need to pick the right black guy if there going the way of turn everything black now because of Obama. I sure as hell never want to see P diddy as the new James Bond they better pick Denzel Washington as there first choice!
minkowski writes:
on December 24th, 2008 at 3:38:59 AM

Wasn't justa few months ago Nolan said that he wasn'teven sure if we'd see a third film? And in those few months, he's penned a complete script and handed it off to some anonymous person to leak it onto the internet? Didn't Nolan say that third films are tricky and that he'd have to have a really good script before proceeding? Has there even been enough time for casting calls, much less casting?
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 24th, 2008 at 9:29:23 AM

Wow how lame...
Quatro writes:
on December 24th, 2008 at 11:37:36 AM

anyone who believes this is a f*cking idiot
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on December 24th, 2008 at 12:39:57 PM

AAACHOOOO!!!!! Oh excuse me, I am alergic to bullsh*t.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on December 24th, 2008 at 12:53:46 PM

they should get the old man in Dark Knight (on the boat, with the detonator) who wasnt afraid to blow up the other boat to play the Riddler. i dunno why i just thought he had that look, not to mention Riddler is more of a Panzy Villian no one takes him seriously or even cares about him. they would have to make the riddler like Jigsaw, with a crazy warehouse that batman has to escape from. not bad eh hahaa The Caped Crusader would be good but they should throw Arkham in there somewhere
Malky writes:
on December 24th, 2008 at 4:10:49 PM

It's pretty easy to see that this is horsesh*t based solely on the fact that the guy is toting LeBeouf as Robin. Nolan has already said there will be no Robin in any of his Batman flicks, and even if he added the character I doubt he would go the route of casting Shia. Nolan isn't Michael Bay, he doesn't seem to care terribly much about box office draw, he cares about talent and making the best film he can. Not to say that LeBeouf isn't talented, he's a fine young actor, but he's also a pop culture icon and I doubt that Nolan would be interested for that reason alone. It would take me completely out of the movie. Same with the previous rumor of Jolie for Catwoman. Keep "movie stars" out of these films, please. Freeman is an exception because, while he might be a big name, he has plenty of experience and brings class and gravitas to every role he plays. I also doubt the validity of Bale's claims that he would step out of Robin was introduced. No denying that he said it, but I doubt he really meant it. I'm sure he trusts the Nolan brothers and their ability to write terrific characters and a terrific script. As much as I dislike the idea of "star power" in the Nolan Batman films, I wouldn't mind seeing Murphy as The Riddler. He needs to turn his career around. I miss awesome Eddie Murphy roles. I doubt it's going to happen considering Nolan has already said he hasn't even started on the script and seems hesitant to come back any time soon. Weisz as Selina Kyle/Catwoman is a pretty good idea. Probably the only genuinely good casting rumor I've heard.
Malky writes:
on December 24th, 2008 at 4:12:43 PM

Really though, they should wait thirty years for Bale to age and do an adaptation of The Dark Knight Returns.
adamboy writes:
on December 24th, 2008 at 4:24:47 PM

i'm telling you if they do go with robin it has to be joseph gordan levitt. he's perfect for it and not shia lebeouf. oh and WAFFLEMAN it helps if Bond is somewhat european. i don't know about denzel. and no one would take diddy seriously. he probably wouldn't be able to handle shooting the movie....
m5dmb28 writes:
on December 24th, 2008 at 4:56:23 PM

quatro, you took the words right out of my mouth.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on December 25th, 2008 at 1:04:46 AM

okay, first off Christopher Nolan wouldnt jeopardize his career and his fan base and his film credit by doing any of these rumors. He even stated himself that there will be NO ROBIN! so thats out. Nextly, he hasnt even started the script yet and even if he has its not even complete yet. He's still tossing around ideas for a final solid story. When it comes to the Riddler it dosent matter if he's a black guy or a white guy or a spanish guy. Race dosent always have to be the determining factor in such cases, for lesser foes and such. Like mentioned above about the KingPin, white in the comic - black in the film. Eddie Murphey wont be the Riddler if the Riddler is even going to be the next villian. Its not to say that Eddie couldnt take the role and make it his own but as a huge fan who dosent believe in these rumors or just the thought in general, he would be terrible as the Riddler. I would rather see Phillip Seymour Hoffman as the Penguin than Murphey as the Riddler because atleast Hoffman is a good actor who dosent stick to stupid comedy roles. I still hope Nolan pursues Johnny Depp as the Riddler because whether you like him or not, or think he doesnt belong in this realm of films. You have to give it to the man for being one of the most talented actors to have ever lived. His ability to fall into a role and create that persona of life everytime is genuius! It would be the perfect back-to-back with Heath Ledger. Nolan would be doing himself a favor by casting him for that role. As for Rachel Weisz for Catwomen, yeah okay I think most people were okay to hear about that when it was mentioned. A hell of a lot better than Anjelina Jolie, so if thats gonna happen I say let it. Because with Rachel Dawes (Maggie Gyllenhal) dead, there needs to be a turning focal point for Bruce Wayne and who better than Catwomen. Lastly, I dont believe they would rumor a title of the next film let alone a "supposed ending" to it. Why would Christopher Nolan end his series on a cliffhanger if he's not gonna do a 4th film? Stupid Bullsh*t Rumors! I will say though I like the rumor/idea of calling it "Gotham" it sounds badass and non-cliche. I mean because we all have to face it, we're running outta Batman movie titles to pull outta the comics.
i3u7n5 writes:
on December 25th, 2008 at 9:54:25 PM

I'm sticking to my "Marrissa Miller is my girlfriend" story...believe it.
rengregory writes:
on December 26th, 2008 at 11:33:26 AM

I'm warming up to the idea of Murphy playing the Riddler. He swung between sullen and manic wonderfully in Dreamgirls, so I'm betting he has the chops to play an engaging supervillian. Just don't let him play it as Donkey. We've already seen Jim Carrey play Ace Ventura as the Riddler and it bombed horribly. My personal choice for the role is still Jim Parsons (The Big Band Theory), though. Moreso than the inclusion of Robin in the movie, I must say no to Shia LaBeouf. He's already been given the keys to the Transformers and Indiana Jones franchises, and I'd be concerned about fanboy backlash. Make it a smaller, possibly cameo, role and cast an unknown.
mattcl23 writes:
on December 26th, 2008 at 12:23:52 PM

I just can't picture Eddie Murphy as the riddler. I sure he got the talent to make the character, but just doesn't fit right. My ultimate pick for the riddler would be Daniel Day Lewis. He's an Oscar winner and everytime he's nominated for awards, he's always playing a villian. I even think he would have made an awesome Joker as well. Get the right cast together with Nolan on board and this movie will dominate.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved