WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

VHS Format is Officially Done

Posted: December 22nd, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
VHS Format is Officially DoneSubmit Comment
LA Times is reporting that the last big supplier of VHS tapes is ditching the format, ending the long fade-out of a product that ushered in the home theater.

The last major Hollywood movie to be released on VHS was "A History of Violence" in 2006. By that point major retailers such as Best Buy and Wal-Mart were already well on their way to evicting all the VHS tapes from their shelves for DVDs and Blu-ray discs.

Distribution Video Audio, ran by brothers Ryan and Brad Kugler, estimates that 2 million tapes are still sitting on shelves of clients' stores across the country, but they are the last of their kind. "I'm not sure a lot of people are going to miss VHS," said Ryan, "but it's been good to us." He added: "Anything left in warehouse we'll just give away or throw away."

And as Ryan realized with VHS tapes, he knows that DVDs won't last long either. "The DVD will be obsolete in three or four years, no doubt about it," he said. "Everything will be Blu-ray. The days of the DVD are numbered."

When was the last time you bought or rented a VHS tape?

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on December 22nd, 2008 at 1:25:49 PM

i think the last vhs i watched was a porno wit some hoe lol... good times
coldplayesence writes:
on December 22nd, 2008 at 1:36:04 PM

lol!
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on December 22nd, 2008 at 2:06:14 PM

i dont think dvds will be so easily dethroned... DVD was a vast improvement over VHS...Blu Ray looks better but i dont think the majority cares...until they come down in price they cant take over
Black_Jack writes:
on December 22nd, 2008 at 2:14:00 PM

hums taps
MovieFanAttic writes:
on December 22nd, 2008 at 2:27:10 PM

haha... I remember when DVDs were beginning. I still own like 20 movies on VHS, trying to replace thwm with DVD and now, 7 years later I gotta replace those with BluRay. Ridiculous. Next it will be Minidiscs, then FlashDryve, then Vinyl. lol the turnover rate for media is too short.
alexgi writes:
on December 22nd, 2008 at 2:29:10 PM

DVDs will last a bit longer since Blu-ray players play the DVD format.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on December 22nd, 2008 at 2:30:56 PM

Blu-ray f*cking sucks! its not that much better and its way more expensive! They will always have DVDS.
JoshuaB81285 writes:
on December 22nd, 2008 at 2:40:11 PM

Space_Ghost, have you watched a Blu-Ray movie on a true Hi-Def TV? If so, you would KNOW that Blu-Ray quality really is that much better than DVD. I've already made the jump myself.
Forrest75 writes:
on December 22nd, 2008 at 3:06:39 PM

Are they still making blank tapes? Sure, I have a DVR, but I love to save the first "awful" rounds of "American Idol" on VHS. They will never release the full auditions - too many music rights. Will I have to hoard some blank tapes soon? Nooooo!
bacci40 writes:
on December 22nd, 2008 at 3:58:33 PM

took 30 years...not bad... its weird...kids today dont know from records, have no clue that there was a thing called beta max, dont know about type writers or word processors the next generation wont know about dvds or vhs the world is moving very fast
SuluNakamura writes:
on December 22nd, 2008 at 7:35:56 PM

hopefully DVDs life will still stay strong for many more years. Yeah, blu-ray definitely looks better, but currently I don't have the cash nor care to switch over just yet.
vwkombi writes:
on December 22nd, 2008 at 8:20:01 PM

Blu-ray is crap. I pay $30 for a Blu-ray DVD i can get on regular DVD for $10, and for what? The picture isn't that much different. Yes i've watched on a HD screen with Blu-ray.
jake812 writes:
on December 22nd, 2008 at 8:39:37 PM

the last movie i rented on VHS was A beautiful mind. thats was back in the day. when i was still a virgin. hahaha. true story.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on December 22nd, 2008 at 9:36:00 PM

I still use VHS to tape tv shows i miss out on, they are awsome
whoever writes:
on December 22nd, 2008 at 10:47:34 PM

DVD and Blu Ray will be done when a larger amount of the population adopts digital downloads
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on December 23rd, 2008 at 12:16:41 AM

im with you skippy, one day you can show it to your kids hahah my pops isnt down with converting to DvD its pretty funny actually, VHS had a good run though, it was the king of the 80's n 90's.. RIP
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on December 23rd, 2008 at 1:10:06 AM

whoever is right. Digital downloads will be the next big thing. That and sd memory cards. I was completely shocked (I'm a Blockbuster employee) when the CEO of Blockbuster stated in our weekly message a few months back that he believes that in the next 4 years, SD cards will be the new movie rental/purchase device. As well as digital downloads. f*cking scary. I've gone through 4 formats in my 25 years on this planet. Actually more. When I was a kid my parents had some atracks, records, and beta movies, as well as going through vhs, cassette tapes, cds, dvds, bluray, hd dvd, its f*cking nutty. Technology is a bitch and its gonna kill us all!!!!!
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2008 at 6:28:10 AM

I don't believe many peole will give up the joy of owning a factory pressed disc or other media, covered with film artwork, in a durable case for a small, easily lost SD card based on flash RAM that can easily develop bit loss and total failure. How long will it take to download a HD bluray film on to that SD card? How many people have fiber optic, the bandwidth necessary to download a hi def film? So they can then spend hours with difficult software mastering their own flimsy burnt copy of the film? Burnt copies never last as long as pressed discs, and rarely have the cover art or the case. Here's the scenario. You spend some time downloading a blur ay film over fiber optic, assuming you have that kind of access. Maybe it streams, downloading to your card while it plays. Good enough. Maybe you're luck enough to own a one terabyte SD card. So that's maybe about 30 films or so, not counting ANY special features. That's a seperate download. Of course, there's card, equipment and bandwidth malfunction possibilities. So now you want to put your movies onto another media for safekeeping. Or you can just stream the movie whenever you want, but you never actually OWN a longlasting copy of the film, a situation that reminds of the hype over web applications. Compaines thought people wouldn't want a hard copy of the software they paid for, and instead would settle for per-use access via the internet. Never happened. So what if the user wants a back up onto optical media? He has to convert and burn or use some app that does it all but doesn't work right. The alternative, the option Occam would take, is to go to the store and buy a longlasting copy that you can control. Streaming media has little control, or if it does, the control comes at a much higher operating cost to the user. People want to control what they pay for, period.
tank22 writes:
on December 23rd, 2008 at 10:47:15 AM

the last time i bought one was like seven or eight years ago. And to bring up the topic of blue Ray the only real way you can tell the difference is on a 40inch HDTV screen or higher. For everyone else who doesnt own the big of a TV, regular DVDS are fine. I say just wait until they all are more mainstreamed where they go down to regular priced DVDs and what not.
JakeVermont writes:
on December 24th, 2008 at 5:15:33 AM

sh*t! Minkowski dude! For the first time u aint talkin sh*t dude! damn.... totally agree with u
seveltoto writes:
on November 14th, 2017 at 8:59:43 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved